We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solar de Mos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Solar de Mos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solar de Mos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia, Lt. 1, Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Hot Autumn in Lagos
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Lagos
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is our 4th time back to this hotel. If you want peace and quite and excellent service with a smile at the best price then this is it. 10 to15 minute walk from the centre of Lagos then this is for you. rooms comfortable with all you need, Food, Tell Lina what you want before Midday and she will get it frash and it will be on your table when you want it ( Fantastic ) I can not speak to highly of this hotel. You Must try it.
Peter and Fran.
Widnes
Cheshire.

Room Tip: All Rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
My dears. Thank you very much for your stay at Solar de Mos. We enjoy your visit and we keep you in mind.
We wish you a fantastic time back to England.
Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    43
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
105
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, we stayed for 5 days, room is small but has all essentials you need very comfy and clean. We were met with all our accommodation needs, very friendly owner who gave us lots of information about places to visit.
The room we stated in had a small balcony of from the room, nice to sit and relax and take in the views. Hotel offers breakfast in morning and has an outdoor pool with sunbeds.

Good location as its 5 min drive to lagos town and a beautiful beach is located there too. Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and nice words. We hope to keep our standards or even increase them. We enjoy our work and this feedback it's very important to us.
Best regards.
Carlos Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterossa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 nights here and were well pleased with the decision. The hotel and environs were very clean, rooms well equipped, beds comfortable and the owners friendly and helpful. Room was serviced beautifully each day.
Yes, it is a 20 minute or so walk into Lagos town centre but there are buses and taxis if required. The walk home, depending upon which route you take, can have a couple of steeper sections but these are not long and the rest of the walk is a slow, steady, gentle incline. We found the walking no chore, in fact liked it because we fit some exercise into each day.
Breakfast should leave no one hungry. There is a range of breads, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cold meats, cheese, sweet biscuit type things, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and bacon or sausages (alternating days). Granted the sausages are not the best.
Good free Wifi is available throughout the hotel and this is a great big plus. We would heartily recommend and if fortunate enough to make a return trip to the Algarve would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and nice words. We hope to keep our standards or even increase them. We enjoy our work and this feedback it's very important to us.
Best regards.
Carlos Gloria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I picked this hotel because it was very close to the hospital where my husband was having surgery. It certainly deserves the great reviews on Tripadvisor. Very spacious comfortable rooms with lovely bathrooms. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the owners very friendly. Great choice of freshly cooked food in the evening and a very good breakfast.
We intend to return later in the year to explore this area of Portugal and look forward to enjoying the lovely swimming pool too.

Room Tip: A pool view room would be a nice choice. Room 108 is at the side but would be good in high season wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SolardeMos, Manager at Solar de Mos Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review.
We are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It's important to have this feedback, so we can keep our place comfortable to our dear guests.
With our best compliments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lagos is easily the most attractive town on the Algarve coast.
I have visited the area regularly for about thirty years and some of the major developments include.... dredging the estuary and creating a new marina; relaying the whole promenade in those small stone blocks so characteristic of Portugal; cleaning up the town generally; and ensuring new developments are controlled- so as not to spoil the skyline.
Despite having become a busy tourist resort, commercialism has largely been avoided, although the recent advent of sales boards along the promenade and marina (promoting boat trips) is perhaps a sign of things to come.
The town's three small beaches- Batata, Praia D'Ana, and Camilo- are close at hand, but all holidaymakers should visit the magnificent Meia Praia Beach which stretches for about nine miles from the far side of the inlet towards Portimao.
Lagos has always offered a multitude of quality restaurants, but prices have rocketed in recent years, and meals are no longer cheaper than in the UK. A meal for two, including wine (but excluding starter and dessert) will cost 35-45 Euros.
One downside of Lagos has always been the absence of top quality hotels- despite innumerable quality villas and apartments. The 4 star Golfinho Hotel has long since closed down and the former 4 star De Lagos Hotel (now Tivoli Lagos) is a shadow of its former self- having had no refurbishment at all since the Tivoli Group acquired it in the late eighties.
As a result, I decided to try the smaller Solar De Mos Hotel....

The hotel is actually a very large and immensely attractive privately owned villa- situated in the residencial Torraltinha district and just over a kilometer from the town centre.
There is quite a steep hill to climb when you make your way 'back home' but you can take a taxi for 3-4 Euros.
There are 15 bedrooms on two floors, and ground floor rooms have a small patio c/w two sunbeds and a small table and chairs. Upstairs, some rooms have a balcony, although only one or two overlook the pool. The villa is reasonably private and its perimeter wall is bedecked with attractive, mature evergreen plants- which are illuminated at night by good wall lighting.
Indoors, the decor is olde worlde and traditional with mahogany furniture; high-backed fireside chairs; many tasteful ornaments and pictures. Likewise the bedrooms are traditionally decorated with attractive bathrooms and good power showers. However, storage for your clothes tends to be a little limited with one built-in wardrobe and two bedside cabinets.
The lounge, bar, and restaurant are all contained in one large L-shaped room, but arranged in a delightful way- with views over the pool.

Personal Comments....

Breakfast Food.
The breakfast is essentially 'continental' and the only warm food on offer is scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, and frankfurters.
Fruit juices are limited to orange and apple, and the quality varied from decent to poor.
The bread consisted of traditional rolls (good), bread slices, and brioche (usually stale).
Cold fare consisted of two types of boiled ham (OK) and mainly mild, poor quality processed cheese; yoghurts; cold whole tomatoes.
The coffee machine served good, strong coffee, but the electric toaster was useless and, after taking about 5 minutes, dished up pieces of "rock."
Overall, I found the breakfast just about adequate, mainly because I filled up with rolls and scrambled eggs (always only lukewarm).
For those who want a good, hot English breakfast, then this is not enough.

Dinner.
I did not eat dinner here, having always dined out in Lagos.
Nonetheless, the prices were rather high and about 25-30% dearer than local restaurants.
Pork fillet was 14 Euros; Whitefish 11 Euros. All other meats and fish were more expensive.
Furthermore, most dishes had to be ordered 'in advance.'

Staff.
Lena, the co-owner, is very helpful and amenable- and will respond to her guests.
Her brother was away for most of our eight day stay, and I only saw one other member of staff- a woman who made up the rooms ( usually quickly during breakfast) and other duties.

Cleanliness.
The patio table was filthy when we arrived (including a used filfthy ashtray) and only cleaned the day before we left. The patio was never swept and the sunbed mattresses were covered in surface dirt and obviously not wiped ongoing. The sunbeds themselves had deep yellow fitted canvas coverings but these had become well soiled (likewise those around the pool) and should have been discarded or replaced.
I should add that we had six days torrential rain and only two decent days during our stay.
Therefore, we didn't feel like sunbathing anyway.
Nevertheless, that shouldn't preclude cleanliness being a matter of course.

Verdict.
Owing to the mediocre breakfast; poor outdoor cleanliness; and an overpriced dinner menu; I cannot give this hotel more than three stars.
I can understand visitors liking it , but everyone must judge it based on what you want from your accommodation. I put food and cleanliness high on the agenda, and this hotel was lacking in those areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

With my wife four months pregnant this is likely the last time we'll be venturing abroad for a while and we really landed on our feet with Solar de Mos. A ground floor room was perfect for us and was spotlessly clean with a comfy large bed, stacks of wardrobe space and a classy bathroom. It rained an awful lot so didn't use the balcony much, although so changeable was the raw Atlantic weather that week that a stormy morning squall could become a sunny late afternoon beach trip...reminded me of trips to the Gower as a kid! Service was warm and friendly with a genuine touch, and on our early departure (before brekkie) Lena had made us a packed lunch the night before and left it for us in a fridge in the lobby!

In truth we'd have paid more to stay here and it's worth saying that it's an absolute bargain as well. There's a wonderfully varied choice at breakfast that comprises cereals, continental ham/cheese stuff, fresh fruit, toast, cooked eggs/bacon/frankfurters & hot drinks including awesome hot chocolate. We ate in for their Monday night Piri Piri special which was delicious (and, again, an absolute steal for the price) consisting of three courses plus a kind of rissole type amouse bouche with a bottle of wine thrown in too...

Location wise it was in a beautifully quiet area (coming home late once I almost wondered if there was a curfew in force!) although I can't speak for high season months. Porta de Mos beach is walkable as is the dramatic headland of Ponta de Piedade. Car access is pretty good on Portugal's roads and getting to the wild west coast beaches is only a half-hour drive. In short Lagos is the perfect town, and this is the perfect hotel.

One final thing we noticed is that all TV channels, everywhere, always seem to show footballl all of the time...mind you, I wasn't complaining!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Tonight is our last night at Sollar de Mos hotel and we can understand why it is rated number one in Lagos, the bedrooms are 5 star with lots of space for your travelling gear. Proper modern bathrooms with lots of hot water.
We ate twice at the hotel and the meals were as good as any of the restaurants in town.
Lima, the owner is a lovely lady, helped by family members of staff who went out of their way to make you feel at home.
For late starters(which we are) breakfast is available until 10.30!
Being November it wasn't warm enough to use the lovely pool area which is set in a pleasant garden.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lagos.

Room Tip: They are all good but ask for one facing the pool area and take a travelling kettle with you if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solar de Mos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar de Mos Hotel

Address: Rua Santa Casa da Misericordia, Lt. 1, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#9 Family Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar de Mos Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, family run hotel, with a welcoming atmosphere and a personal service it is built on two floors with a lift. The 15 well appointed bedrooms all with terrace or balcony are equiped with private bathroom (with bathrobe), mini-bar, direct dial telephone, alarm clock, safe (rentable) cable TV and air conditioning, smoke and fire detectors, electric power at 220v. A free parking place direct at the hotel is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Solar de Mos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar De Mos Lagos
Hotel Solar De Mos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solar de Mos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.