We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good apartotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A very good apartotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We enjoyed our week here. Very good location, excellent rooms, well equipped and clean. Didn't eat in the restaurant, so can't comment on that. Facilities all good, nice pool, can use the gym next door for the more active.

Would stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    146
    32
    7
    5
See reviews for
93
129
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I went to this hotel during low season, at the end of March. Upon arrival the staff was extremely nice and gave us a voucher for two free Port Wines in the hotel bar. The hotel was relatively empty, very clean and quiet. Very nice for a romantic getaway. For just 50 EUROS A NIGHT we had a studio apartment, quite large with a small kitchenette, eating area, living area and of course bed and bathroom. We also had good sized balcony looking over the big swimming pool. This low price also included access to the gym connected to the hotel, which had two indoor pools, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, full gym, spa and also access to classes. In our 3 day stay I went to the gym 3 times (you are allowed one entry per day) and did yoga, pilates, and body pump. We didn´t eat at all in the hotel, drove down to the city center for that, however you could walk it if you wanted-perhaps a 20-25 minute walk. I also loved the yves rocher bathroom shower gel and shampoo they give you. My only complaint was that the free wifi in the lobby wasn´t working correctly during one day of our three day stay. Other than that, absolutely perfect and the price was amazingly low.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed at the AquaLuz Suite Hotel with friends during the off-season in March. At that time, the hotel was relatively empty and the two-bedroom apartment my two friends and I had booked was upgraded to two separate apartments in the same corridor at no extra costs. The suites were large, comfortable and and very clean. The bathrooms were also large. The kitchen area was slightly disappointing - two electric ring burners are difficult to cook on, and there was no kettle. But these are small points, given the comfort and quality of the rooms otherwise. The hotel bar is comfortable and well-furnished, with reasonably-priced drinks for a hotel bar. All of the reception and bar personnel were exceptionally helpful and courteous, with an excellent standard of English. I would recommend this hotel for visitors to Lagos outside the tourist season.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagerbro, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

All in all I have to say that I'm very much satisfied with my stay at the Aqualuz. I went down there for Christmas 2012 with my father and had requested a twin room beforehand and this was also the one we got.

The personell at the reception was cordial and very helpful at all times, all knew English very well and of of them even spoke German extraordinarily well. No matter what sort of query we had, they were always helpful and eager to answer to solve the problem/question.

The room as such was actually an entire apartment. They closed down large parts of the hotel because of the low-season, so it might be that there was a hidden upgrade for us, but there was absolutely nothing to complain about. Spotlessly clean and large with a comfortable sofa, a table, four chairs, tv, seperate sleeping room, kitchen, nice and clean bathroom, etc. The apartment also had a balcony facing the inner courtyard (as all rooms do, as far as I know), and since the hotel was quite empty, there was no noise at all.

I could imagine though that it might be a bit noisier during the high season, and if you try to circumvent mass tourism as I do, you might not feel equally "at home" as I did during my stay.
The hotel is very close to the inner city, only 15 minutes to walk to the further end of it. I recall some people complaining about the distance, but I don't see a problem in this at all. Quite contrary, its much closer to the small, beautiful beaches than most other more "city-near" hotels are.

The restaurant food was excellent as well, the menus always change per weekday, but since we only stayed for 7 days, there was no repitition to be seen (except for staters and desserts, but since they were delicious it was an okay burden).
We were also granted free access to the spa once a day and got a voucher for some port in the hotel bar, which we used on the last day.

The only minus for the hotel that keeps it from being 5-stars is the WiFi connection. The free WiFi in the lobby didn't work on certain pages (might be since I'm using a Mac and not Windows), and the internet in the room we were charged for. We paid almost 25€ to have the connection for a week, which is way too much for 2012. The receptionist said that the management most probably was about to change this soon, but until then its going to be 4-stars (unfortunately).

Everyone in the hotel just made our state abolutely splendid and I'm looking forward to returning to this beautiful place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited as a family holiday for 2 weeks. The service provided was excellent and consistent throughout the stay.
The apartment is provided with all the essential utensils, microwave and fridge which immensely helped us to cook and enjoy the local produce especially sea food and fresh herbs & spices.
The balcony was great overlooking the swimming pool.
We certainly enjoyed swimming with our baby almost every day in the swimming pool.
The only which could have been better is the wireless Internet service. It would make the stay perfect if they could offer complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel especially for those who stay more than 10days.
The free onsite car parking is excellent especially in Lagos as it is best explored if you rented a car.

Room Tip: Look out for great bargain deals through lowcost holidays website Room overlooking swimming pool at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October. Unfortunately it was a bit too cold to enjoy the pool, and we found the hotel was so big that it lost all charm. Also disappointed that the "free" wifi in the lounge didn't work. A bit of a walk into town, next time would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in this hotel recently for a week and have already booked to return. Lagos is a lovely old walled town and this hotel is just outside the old town walls. Location wise, it could not be better. As mentioned in a previous review, when you come out of the hotel and turn right, you go down some steps, through a short walkway tunnel and this brings you to the Spar shop, with the entrance to the old town around the corner, not even a five minute walk!! The hotel itself has fabulous facilties including two outdoor pools, a health centre which houses indoor pool, gym beauty salon etc etc. You get a voucher for each day to use the health club if you wish. On arrival we were met by Sonia on reception who is very welcoming and explains all you need to know, we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment with a pool view. The apartment is very spacious, clean with plenty of utensils if you wish to cook!! Rooms are cleaned every day by very friendly ladies. We had one night of very heavy rain, with another receptionist giving us her own umbrella to use for the evening. The bar staff are very friendly, with the bar itself being very cosy, with big leather chairs and sofas. Food and drink are very reasonably priced. We didn't have breakfast as part of our package, but we did have breakfast on our last morning, it was €8.00 for a hot buffet and you could eat as much as you wanted. Very nice, and again, the staff were lovely and friendly, explaining how everyting works. The only negative is the poool bar, while the staff are lovely, it is a bit pricey compared to other prices in the hotel. There is also a rooftop solarium which is a complete sun trap - gorgeous. Would definitely recommend this hotel for all type of holiday makers

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AquaLuz Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Also Known As:
Aqualuz Hotel
Aqualuz Hotel Lagos
Aqualuz Suite Lagos
Hotel Aqualuz Suite
Address: Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 67 Specialty lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AquaLuz Suite Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your AquaLuz Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AquaLuz Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added AquaLuz Suite Hotel to your Saves list