We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanclaire Hotel Critic's review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added AquaLuz Suite Hotel to your Saves list
AquaLuz Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Sanclaire Hotel Critic's review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited as a family holiday for 2 weeks. The service provided was excellent and consistent throughout the stay.
The apartment is provided with all the essential utensils, microwave and fridge which immensely helped us to cook and enjoy the local produce especially sea food and fresh herbs & spices.
The balcony was great overlooking the swimming pool.
We certainly enjoyed swimming with our baby almost every day in the swimming pool.
The only which could have been better is the wireless Internet service. It would make the stay perfect if they could offer complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel especially for those who stay more than 10days.
The free onsite car parking is excellent especially in Lagos as it is best explored if you rented a car.

Room Tip: Look out for great bargain deals through lowcost holidays website Room overlooking swimming pool at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    172
    42
    8
    6
See reviews for
118
157
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October. Unfortunately it was a bit too cold to enjoy the pool, and we found the hotel was so big that it lost all charm. Also disappointed that the "free" wifi in the lounge didn't work. A bit of a walk into town, next time would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed in this hotel recently for a week and have already booked to return. Lagos is a lovely old walled town and this hotel is just outside the old town walls. Location wise, it could not be better. As mentioned in a previous review, when you come out of the hotel and turn right, you go down some steps, through a short walkway tunnel and this brings you to the Spar shop, with the entrance to the old town around the corner, not even a five minute walk!! The hotel itself has fabulous facilties including two outdoor pools, a health centre which houses indoor pool, gym beauty salon etc etc. You get a voucher for each day to use the health club if you wish. On arrival we were met by Sonia on reception who is very welcoming and explains all you need to know, we were upgraded to a one bedroom apartment with a pool view. The apartment is very spacious, clean with plenty of utensils if you wish to cook!! Rooms are cleaned every day by very friendly ladies. We had one night of very heavy rain, with another receptionist giving us her own umbrella to use for the evening. The bar staff are very friendly, with the bar itself being very cosy, with big leather chairs and sofas. Food and drink are very reasonably priced. We didn't have breakfast as part of our package, but we did have breakfast on our last morning, it was €8.00 for a hot buffet and you could eat as much as you wanted. Very nice, and again, the staff were lovely and friendly, explaining how everyting works. The only negative is the poool bar, while the staff are lovely, it is a bit pricey compared to other prices in the hotel. There is also a rooftop solarium which is a complete sun trap - gorgeous. Would definitely recommend this hotel for all type of holiday makers

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We travelled to Lagos during Oct half term (2 adults and 2 teenage boys). We throughly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely return to the hotel, although i imagine in highl season the hotel takes on a whole new life. It was VERY quiet when we went, with hardly any other guests. This was good, as it was quiet and one day we had the pool all to ourselves. The pool was not heated, but our boys still managed to have fun (i was not prepared to put my whole body in!).

The room was excellent; our boys were not looking forward to sharing a bed, so they were pleased when the sofa bed actually pulled out into 2 separate beds. I'm not sure this would be suitable for adults though. The bathroom was excellently equipped with a fantasic power shower (better than mine at home!). The kitchen was clean and basic, enough for making simple snacks, there was no kettle but when asked at reception one was brought up the next day. There is no cooker/grill in the kitchen, but who goes on holiday to cook! A local supermarket just a couple of mins walk away privided us with fresh bread, crossiants etc for breakfast.

We did sample the food at both the restaurant and snack bar; we were'nt disappointed. Yeah, the food is a little more pricey than in the town, but one evening the rain prevented us from walking the 10 mins into town. We had a lovely meal and the 3 course offer they provide is good value for money (16.50 euros). They also provided pizza, toasties etc in the bar. The drinks were expensive though and i imagine in high season when children are thristy it could become expensive. We were paying 4.40 euro for a pint of local and 2.8 euros for a can of pop. The breakfast is excellent, we only paid 20 euros for 4 of us (he did us a cheap deal) and we had everything you could possibly imagine. In high season i think they provide a buffet breakfast for 8 euros each - well worth it!. The waiter was lovely, very helpful, in fact al the staff were.

As we went in low season there were no bars/restaurants open by the hotel, this did not cause us a problem, as we preferred to go into town. There is a short cut under a sub way and takes about 10 mins, its worth the walk, the town is lovely and has plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from. The prices are also very reasonable, we were generally paying apporx 55 euros for a meal for 4, with drinks. You could walk to the marina and have a meal there, takes appox 25 mins walk, but we found a very reasonable chinese restaurant that was excellent. We got a taxi back for only 4 euros.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, our room was cleaned daily. We didnt find a simple part of the hotel that was dirty. They even cleaned the pool daily, even though nobody had used it.

There is a lovely beach nearby, approx 5/10 mins walk and it was peaceful when we went. Dont bother with the slave museum, it is a small room with a few pieces of pots and a skeleton, although it was very cheap.

Overall, we would love to return to the hotel, but like i say i imagine in summer the hotel is a lot busier than when we went. A good 4 star hotel, i think this hotel is best suited to adults with older children, rather than youngesters, as there are not as many things to enterain them. My boys used to arcades a few time and the internet room; the wi-fi is very hit and miss, but if you need it try the bar area to have a chance.

The only moan i have is the indoor pool, you have to get a ticket from reception; when it went it was busy with locals and we were told we had to wear a swimming cap (my boys weren't impressed), however, they didnt have any and we were exected to pay 7 euros for one! As you can guess we didnt bother, there is a gym and sauna but we didnt try them.

A great hotel, look forward to going back - booked with lowcostholidays and only paid £300 for the week for self catering and a pool view room.

Room Tip: If you dont like seagull, ask for a ground floor! We went visited daily and they landed on our balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just back from a week in Lagos/Aqualuz...and like most on here only positive things to say about the hotel. First thing...we can't blame the Aqualuz for the weather...but perhaps late in October is always a bit dodgy. Anyway...the hotel.

We booked a one bedroom apartment with pool view (as suggested by everyone)...and that's exactly what we got. Apartment was ultra-clean, well equipped and spacious. In fact, the whole place was ultra-clean, maid service every day...new sheets/towels...and cleaned properly. The balcony was generous and beds comfortable. All-in-all not one bad thing to say about the place. The only problem we encountered was the TV remote didn't work...and within 5 minutes of reporting it they had the maintenance guy up to sort it. There was no kettle...but we always bring our own anyway. From other comments...I understand if we asked for one it would have been supplied anyway.

Facilities at the hotel are really good. On the days it rained...there is a proper gym...very well equipped...and two indoor pools + sauna/steam room. Free for residents...and very welcome. Staff were always friendly, professional and courteous.

Location was good...only 10/15 minutes walk into town. Appeared slightly dark walk at first...but always felt very safe even if quiet. The walk back is more of an issue...as there is a steep hilly section on the way back. Older people might find this awkward...and I wouldn't fancy pushing a buggy up the hill. We didn't use taxis at all...but perhaps an option coming home for some. Supermarket nearby...plus a bigger InterMarche only 15/20 minutes walk out the road. Bring a small haversack in your luggage...makes getting shopping home much easier !.

Like most here...we were very pleased with Aqualuz.

Lagos a pretty and busy town. Fish really good everywhere and loads of places to eat, sit and watch. Best we found were Mullens and really any local (for fish).

Room Tip: Other than avoiding the views over the flats at the back...no other pitfalls to report.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived fairly late and found we'd been given an upgrade from a studio to a one-bed room: I had requested a high floor facing the pool and it was exactly that. The staff here are universally friendly and helpful, the complex is very well maintained and looks nice, and the rooms are fairly modern and well equipped. The cleaners came every day and though on a couple of occasions we declined (they were a little early for us) they were friendly and helpful too and offered fresh towels anyway.

The hotel is located some way above the 'old town' so the approaches to the rooms in our block (68 -84) afforded great views over the town and the bay. It has plenty of free parking for guests literally over the road from the main entrance, and there are a couple of bars and a small supermarket about 100m away. The closest beach is a couple of minutes away by car, (but I'm not entirely sure I'd like to walk there), and there are one or two more within 10 mins drive. So all in all the hotel is well placed.

There are a couple of negatives to be aware of, but to put them into context they would not stop me from returning here. A previous reviewer has described the pool as a tad cool, well he must be a hardy soul, 'cos I thought it little short of Arctic! The elevated position of the complex means that almost everywhere else is downhill, including importantly, the old town. Our penchant is for dining out and little gentle cavorting later: so for two drunken old sots getting lost in the wee small hours, that walk home was murderous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tularosa, NM
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice roomy apartment. Good service and friendly staff. The swimming pool is fantastic! It is a little isolated from the town center but there are a few restaurants nearby. Breakfast is good but ask for coffee from the bar instead of the machine in the breakfast area. English spoken. A bank at 200 meters and a small supermercado also about 200 meters away also. It is showing its age a little but generally well kept up and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AquaLuz Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AquaLuz Suite Hotel

Address: Rua Sacadura Cabral 8, Lagos 8600-619, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AquaLuz Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your AquaLuz Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqualuz Hotel Lagos
Aqualuz Suite Lagos
Hotel Aqualuz Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AquaLuz Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.