We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but tired decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maharaja Tasty Indian

Maharaja Tasty Indian
Rua Afonso de Almeida, No. 27, Lagos 8600-166, Portugal
282 768 083
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 294 Restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food but tired decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We visited this restaurant twice on our recent trip. The food on both occasions was extremely good and the portions very generous. The staff were also very attentive without being too intrusive. My only negative comment concerns the decor which is very nondescript and tired. Could definitely benefit from a makeover.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    32
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you are looking for a curry in Lagos, this place is not bad.
Complained about the onion bahjis, and they were replaced straight away.
Eating outside not good. Cramped tables on a slope.
Overall good value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We ate here twice: good food (and we do know our curry!), large portions - only need 1 rice between 2 people, decent wone & beer.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All round high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Food was delicious, meat was particularly high quality.Service was great, very helpful staff, despite the small indoor area they moved furniture to accommodate our large group and were especially helpful with the toddler.Free WiFi also very welcome for the geeks in our party.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Lamb Balti Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Over the last ten years we have frequently visited Portugal, our favourite resort being Lagos.
On each occasion we have visited Lagos we always eat at the Tasty Indian sometimes more than once.
Great service and great food and we have never had a bad meal.
By far the best Indian Food we have ever tasted and has a great choice of menus.
Staff are really friendly and make you feel very welcome.
My favourite meal being the Lamb balti but always spoilt for choice.
Looking forward to our next visit, hopefully next year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharaja Tasty Indian also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Maharaja Tasty Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maharaja Tasty Indian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.