We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bobby Dazzler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marina Rio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marina Rio to your Saves list
Hotel Marina Rio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. dos Descobrimentos | Apdo. 388, Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Bobby Dazzler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I are in room #106 with a view over the Marina. The hotel is in an excellent location - only a few minutes stroll into the old town with an abundance of bars and restaurants (see my other reviews for feedback). The staff here are invariably pleasant and helpful. The housekeeping staff are excellent and keep the room in tip-top condition. We upgraded from a room at the back of the hotel to a balcony view of the Marina (+11 Euros per night. Well worth it). The continental style breakfast is nice and is a good start to a day of relaxing walks, grotto trips, rib boat rides, dolphin tours etc. Drinks are very keenly priced, a huge glass of red & a decent glass of port came to 7 Euros! As others have mentioned it can get a little chilly later in the day with a bracing wind hitting you as you sit outside so bring a light jacket or jumper.

In summary, would we come back to Lagos? YES
Would we return to the Marina Rio? YES
Do we recommend this hotel? ABSOLUTELY!

10/10 Good work

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    100
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
201
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back from a wonderful 2 week stay at the Marina Rio. What can you say about a hotel that caters for all of a holiday makers needs, kettle with tea and coffee, hairdryer, free internet access, small roof top pool with lounger area, I could on. It is a little gem. All of the staff are pleasant and extremely helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are a good size and are attended to daily, with fresh linen and towels. Our room was on the 1st floor, overlooking the marina, with a view well worth paying the small extra cost for. There is some street noise but this is entirely compensated for by the view from the balcony. The breakfast supplied each morning gave an adequate selection of food for all tastes and was endlessly replenished by the hard working staff. The Marina Rio is ideally situated, only a couple of minutes walk from the old town with it's shops and restaurants and slightly further afield, Lagos' wonderful beaches. The hotel even go as so far as to have a mini bus to take residents to a couple of the more popular beaches and to pick up again after a day in the sun, we preferred our cliff top walks each morning, but the option was there. Although we had beautiful hot days(30+), some on the evening were a bit chilly, with a north wind being pulled in later in the day. Take a light coat or jumper. This didn't stop us enjoying our evening experiences of dining and street entertainment. If you are thinking of taking a holiday In Lagos, this is the place to stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel has an ideal, central location with views at the front over the marina, well worth the up-grade for the views and balcony providing shade in the afternoons. The staff on arrival and throughout our stay were helpful, informative and genuinely friendly. Having stayed in many good hotels, the Marina Rio was, without doubt, the cleanest - it sparkled ! Breakfast was plentiful and varied, with the provision of an early breakfast (pre-booked the night before) when required was of the same high standard. The sun terrace never fully occupied, provided extremely comfortable loungers and plenty of shade to cool down when required, a real bonus in a centrally located hotel. Attractive and cool public areas, a library and free internet access added to a very enjoyable stay. Many thanks.

Room Tip: A marina facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks our room 301 was on the top corner facing the marina and the sea to have a fridge was excellent. There was an excellent choice of breakfasts each day there was a different hot choice as well as the pastries/speciality breads, chesses, smoked salmon and cold meats 6 different choices of juice, tea /coffe and plenty of fresh fruit. The hotel was spotless everywhere. The pool area and the sunbathing terrace were brilliant plenty of sunbeds and umbrellars. All the staff were extremely friendly and courtious they are like part of the family. The town was just a 10min walk with very inexpensive restaurants.We used the coach and train, station several times as we didn't want to hirer a car this holiday. I can't praise this hotel enough. Will definately go back there one day. A brilliant restful holiday should be 4 stars for its quality of serivce. Thank you Marina Rio

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a week here at the beginning of July. We had been recommended by our neighbours and they were so right. It is a lovely clean hotel, the staff are excellent and the position of the hotel couldn't be better. It is worth asking for a marina view, we sat out in the evening watching the boats in the pretty marina. It is right next to the bus station and just a short walk to the train station. The beaches are a little further away but easy enough to get to.
The small pool area on the roof is an ideal spot to end the day with some sunbathing. The breakfast was plentiful and served in a pleasant restaurant area.
The air conditioning was very welcome and efficient.
A very good small hotel.

Room Tip: Always chose a Marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and found it a great place, we found a lot of other hotels were booked out or very expensive
Our room was large and had a balcony.
One thing to note is the bus station is right behind the hotel where you can catch buses to faro or further etc
Reception was very welcoming and advised things to do and see
Bit of a hike to the beaches but we had a car - you can park in the alley behind the hotel for free also
There's some great restaurants just 10 mins down the road and can find lots of street tourist stalls for outings just across the road
We had a great stay and they have a pool rooftop if your too lazy to go anywhere but you really should its an amazing place

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I arrived early morning to a lovely warm welcome and was allowed to have my room, the hotel was spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and efficient, if possible go the extra and ask for a marina view the higher the better and you can see the beach and sea. Would recommend without a doubt and shall return.

Room Tip: Marina view rooms, higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marina Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina Rio

Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos | Apdo. 388, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marina Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marina Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Marina Rio Lagos
Albergaria Marina Rio Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marina Rio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.