We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GCH caters for everyone!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Coast Hostel

Gold Coast Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gold Coast Hostel to your Saves list
Gold Coast Hostel
Rua Gil Vicente 48, Lagos 8600 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GCH caters for everyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After a party hostel, I fled to Arthur who gave me a bed immediately and greeted me very warmly in his hostel. This one is very comfortable and a place where you can get a goodnight's sleep or you can go into town within two minutes and party there. It's up to you. You can do both and enjoy Gold Coast Hostel.

The rooms are very clean, and so are the bathrooms. The staff is great (greetings to Martha) and always there to help you out if you need something. There are electronic safes, where you can put your belongings and you also need a card to enter your room. It takes you about 5minutes to reach the beach and the hostel is overall pretty central, situated in the old town of Lagos.

Overall I think, this hostel caters for everyone, for those who want to party and for those who want to relax. You also get to meet some nice people on the terrace! Thank you Arthur! Wish you the best!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Enjoyed staying at the Gold Coast hostel, incredibly friendly staff. Always willing to help you out or point you in he right direction. Good facilities, lovely terrace to enjoy the evenings on with drinks as meet others. Highly recommend just make sure you have instructions on how to get there prior to arriving in Lagos not easy to find!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

honest appraisal... here we go!
Location: int he centre city. Lucky I had a GPS software called TMN drive. From the train station, it´s a 15-20min walk.
Customer service: very helpful
Beds: comfortable but I require lights on each bed. Also no lockers. Only a small safe.
Cleanness: very clean
Bathroom: only 3 to choose from.
Extras: wifi was great and BF was simple, cereal and toast. Kithen was huge with 2 sinks and stoves
Noisy: somewhat quite
Break out area: big as well as outdoor terrace
Suggestions: lights in the rooms for each bed.

Room Tip: Old style buiding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Gold Coast Hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I was impressed that Arthur remembered my name the whole time! He was also very thorough in pointing out good places to see and eat on the map. It was fairly quiet so getting sleep wasn't an issue. My bed was comfortable but there were no lockers in the room. Each person had a small safe but I kept my bigger valuables locked in my luggage. The kitchen was good and well stocked with cooking items, though could get a little croweded at rush hour. The free breakfast was fine but nothing special. The bathrooms were clean with lots of hot water but I didnt like the fact that the main floor bathrooms had frosted glass doors - made me a little uncomfortable. The common room was good, with dvds and games and computers with free internet, and comfy chairs. The location was good, a few minutes walk to the main area of restaurants and tourist shops, and about 15 minutes walk the other way to the stunning beaches. There is a supermarket about 5 mins walk away. Overall I found it to be a nice stay and would definately return to this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We received such a warm welcome and excellent service at the Gold Coast. They gave great restaurant recommendations, free sangria and soup and organised our fishing charter. Not to mention the step by step instructions on how to get to our next destination.

They are pretty serious about keeping the Gold Coast a chilled out, friendly place and not a party hostel. We were happy with this, having just come from a party hostel in Lisbon and getting little sleep for four days. All this really meant was that you had to go out if you wanted to keep drinking and talking loudly after midnight. No big deal.

We had a twin room with a shared bathroom in the main building. Simple but comfortable. Definitely good value. Hope to be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great hostel. Lively but not a party hostel -- its the perfect balance. The owners also provide you will all the information/advice you need to get the most out of Lagos. I will definitely stay there again when I return to Lagos.

Everything was clean. Bathrooms were cleaned daily. They provide you with linens and a towel.

They provide a simple breakfast in the morning (though, I recommend checking out the many restaurants for a good, solid breakfast). You can also get some drinks for very cheap. Beach towels are available for 1 euro.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

An extremely clean and comfortable hostel which was excellent to meet other travelers. A great place to chill out, relax whether its sitting out on the terrace or watching a movie in the TV room. Spacious rooms with comfortable beds, clean toilets and bathrooms, and free safety locker as well. Lots of good places to eat within 10 minutes walk of the hostel, and a couple of supermarkets are close by too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Coast Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Hostel

Address: Rua Gil Vicente 48, Lagos 8600 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Lagos
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gold Coast Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Coast Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.