We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Caravela

Restaurante Caravela
Rua 25 de Abril, 14, Lagos 8600-763, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 315 Restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Portuguese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“SUPERB FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

During 10 nights in Lagos we ate at Caravela 3 times. The seabass was delicious and the garlic bread with cheese as a starter was yummy. Great staff,and great location for people watching!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    11
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant 4 times whilst on holiday recently in Lagos, once for lunch and three times for dinner. Everything we tried was excellent and I just can't understand the negative reviews on here.

The restaurant is perfectly situated on the main street meaning that you can watch the world go by while you eat/drink. The prices are also very reasonable. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and we never felt rushed even though the restaurant was always busy.

We tried the piri piri chicken, ham on the bone, a couple of the pizzas, one of the crepes for desert (lemon and sugar) and the chocolate tart. All of which were amazing. I don't usually like chicken on the bone but I had it twice because it was so well cooked & tender.

I think the menu is very good and offers a wide variety of food even for the fussier eater like myself.

I can't find fault at all with this restaurant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eccleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stumbled across this place while looking for somewhere to eat, it was busier than others so we gave it a go.
We were sat outside as 2 round tables together for eight of us, the food n wine were very nice, we were surprised at the size of some dishes and it all tasted great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Surprised by the negative comments. Both food and wine was delicious! Went here on our first night, and nothing could be faulted. Had fresh prawns/rice, will be back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“good food - but!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant twice initially because it always appeared busier than every where else, but then having tried it found the food was generally good. On the first visit we enjoyed all course's apart from the cover which was the poorest cover we have ever had in Lagos. However the starters , mains & deserts were very good. We didn't have the best service on this visit but the restaurant both inside and out was heaving with only two staff waiting on. A week later we tried it again and again the food was great but the service dreadful, absolutely no personal touch, in fact the staff don't communicate at all with their customers! Note on this occasion there was at least 5 staff and not as busy. Would we go back - NO, there are better restaurants with better service and food. If a restaurant serves good food but not so good service we believe we should give it a second chance, this restaurant got the benefit of our doubt and it didn't deserve it! From our observations we thought the person who appeared to own or manage the restaurant actually intimated his staff and did very little to help his staff other than mutter comments & directions to them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Caravela also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Caravela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Caravela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.