We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB FOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Caravela

Restaurante Caravela
Rua 25 de Abril, 14, Lagos 8600-763, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 278 Restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood, International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“SUPERB FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

During 10 nights in Lagos we ate at Caravela 3 times. The seabass was delicious and the garlic bread with cheese as a starter was yummy. Great staff,and great location for people watching!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    6
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant 4 times whilst on holiday recently in Lagos, once for lunch and three times for dinner. Everything we tried was excellent and I just can't understand the negative reviews on here.

The restaurant is perfectly situated on the main street meaning that you can watch the world go by while you eat/drink. The prices are also very reasonable. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and we never felt rushed even though the restaurant was always busy.

We tried the piri piri chicken, ham on the bone, a couple of the pizzas, one of the crepes for desert (lemon and sugar) and the chocolate tart. All of which were amazing. I don't usually like chicken on the bone but I had it twice because it was so well cooked & tender.

I think the menu is very good and offers a wide variety of food even for the fussier eater like myself.

I can't find fault at all with this restaurant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stumbled across this place while looking for somewhere to eat, it was busier than others so we gave it a go.
We were sat outside as 2 round tables together for eight of us, the food n wine were very nice, we were surprised at the size of some dishes and it all tasted great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Lunch menu here is very good as is the evening menu. Very good waiting staff, service seems a little slow, but this may well be a tradition with this resturant, but it didnt spoil our meal. Outdoor heating available, not something you would normally need in Portugal, but when we were there it was quite chilly in the evening time.
Good food.
Good price.
Would I visit again? Yes I would.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Surprised by the negative comments. Both food and wine was delicious! Went here on our first night, and nothing could be faulted. Had fresh prawns/rice, will be back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Caravela also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Caravela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Caravela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.