We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive, too many negative points.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porto de Mos, Lagos 8600-282, Portugal (Formerly Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive, too many negative points.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The view is 5 Stars! Absolutely amazing.

Unfortunately, the rest is poor.

- What is "Romantik" with twin beds made with twin bed linen and twin blankets? I'd expect a cosy king size rather than separate beds
-The bath towels are small and thin. the pool towels the worst quality.
- No Air Conditioning, can't keep the window open on ground floor (patio door), loud and inefficient floor fan.
- 4 nights and amenities never renewed despite request at front desk.
- Rustic feeling, a bit smelly.
- ground floor rooms have magnificent views, unfortunately there is a path in front so you can't keep the curtains open.
- Breakfast quality so so. The cold cuts where not great quality. If you like yogurt, you're ok.
- Constant pressure to eat dinner there. Menu presented every morning (the excuse is they want to make sure you have a table, but was never fully booked). Annoying.
- Tiny safe with a regular key. But who has the other key?
- No gym
- Pool smaller then it looks on the pictures, not very welcoming.

Would I go back? NO WAY. The price is outrageous for the quality of the place. No one is extraordinarily nice and helpful. It's very easy to find better places in lagos.

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel would be better as the renovated rooms have no air conditioning, which is out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivendaMiranda, General Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted to hear that your found our view as absolutely amazing as we do. We were however less happy to hear that your did not find the rest of your stay with us up to the same standard.

With regard to the bed/s, we do have special linen/mattresses to adapt our beds to large king-size or spacious twins depending on the wishes of our guests. If you had have advised reception we could have rectified this problem. However we have taken heed of your comments and will address this in staff training and the reservation process.

I am surprised about the towels as we have a large selection of good quality towels in all standard sizes, but we will bear this in mind. With our ecological approach to reduced waste and chemical management in our property, we always opt for best solution for our guests experience without impacting on standards.

With regard to the air conditioning, unfortunately at this stage not all our rooms enjoy this facility yet and we do understand your reluctance with a ground floor room to keep your patio door open. Having said that we are currently undertaking a programme to install air conditioning in all our rooms as soon as possible, as well as replacement of windows with an adapted system to enable those in garden rooms to keep them safely open when required. Our rooms do all have voile curtains for guest privacy should guest wish to keep their main curtains open.

We do have an eco policy on towel renewal, so they do have to be left on the floor if you require replacement. However your room should have been cleaned each day as a matter of course and consumables replenished. We will look into this oversight.

With regard to your comments on booking dinner. It is never our intention to pressure our guests to eat with us. Quite simply, as all our meals are cooked fresh to order, it enables our guests to be served in a timely fashion and avoids disappointment if favourite tables are reserved or choice preferences are no longer available on the evening. However, it is entirely possible to decide at the last minute if this is the wish of the guest, but choices in this case can be limited.

We do have a superb gym at our sister property Cascade Resort, fully equipped for leading professional athletes and sports people that regularly train there. This is just a few minutes away and available for the use of Vivenda Miranda guests. That you were not aware of this is a big oversight on our part and we will address this internally with staff training, in house TV and materials.

Most of our guests enjoy our pool and its environs. However, as with the gym, our guests are perfectly welcome at our sister property to make use of the very large pools and facilities there.

I hope that I have addressed most of your issues wish that they could have been addressed during your stay as we always endeavour to give our guests the best possible experience.

With best wishes

Urs Wild
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
78
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Exquisite setting with wonderful views to sea. Peaceful, comfortable, excellent food and attentive staff. Superb location overlooking Porto de Mos beach with a cliff top path down to the beach. The quiet and the comfort made it for us. Lovely gardens. Golf at Boavista was arranged though the hotel via email beforehand - very useful!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel has stunning views of the Atlantic from on top of a high cliff. By far, the best part of this hotel is the stunning view. We stayed in the Deluxe Suite and found it to be very modern, clean, and comfortable. It was obviously very recently renovated. I particularly liked the bathroom styling and color combinations. I don't think all rooms in this hotel are recently renovated so you might want to check on that to try and reserve a new one. I'm not sure though. The room featured a huge balcony with comfortable recliners, but the one problem was it was hard to escape the shadows and get sun at times if that is what you wanted. The sleep quality at this hotel is excellent, it's very quiet and the beds are large and comfortable. My biggest complaint would be how they constantly market their restaurant to you throughout your stay which I felt lacked class. From the moment you check-in, 'we reserved a table for you tonight if you like - please look at the menu', to just after you finished your last bite of breakfast 'would you like to look at the dinner menu tonight and make a reservation?' to even our last morning just before check out, 'Will you be joining us for dinner tonight?'. It started to get a bit ridiculous. We did eat at the restaurant the first night. The food is quite fancy with an excellent presentation and taste. The portions were a little small and I wasn't particularly full after a starter, main, and dessert. The price was high and bordering on being over-priced considering you are in the Algarve and not Paris. Overall, we quite enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone travelling through the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivendaMiranda, Gerente at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. It was a mistake to ask you about evening dining on your departure day, a small over sight on our part, please accept our apologies. We are sorry that you felt pressured to eat in the restaurant in the evenings. It has been our policy for many years to give all our guests the opportunity to select their evening meal earlier in the day. This ensures their priority of booking and the guarantee of freshly prepared and cooked cuisine. Naturally there is no obligation by the client to make such decisions earlier in the day should they choose not to do so. We strive to give our clients the best level of service and satisfaction throughout their stay with us.

Yours sincerely,
Urs Wild, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First impression was amazing. The view was to die for, the hotel was out of this world nothing was too much trouble for the staff they really made my husband and myself feel really welcome without being over the top. We enjoyed every meal we had in the hotel. The hotel and everything around it made for a really relaxing and enjoyable holiday. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Many thanks

Room Tip: Room 221 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, but had a superb meal. We had the "tasting menu" which comprised five courses, several of which we would not normally have chosen from an a la carte menu, but every morsel was just delicous. The restaurant was about half full inside, plus some diners outside too (the possibility of insects put my wife off), and the service and atmosphere were great.

If you want a special and romantic meal, this is the place. At least as good as Dos Artistas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is a gem! The location is spectacular as it overlooks the ocean and the sweeping cliffs along the waterline. The sunsets were to die for.

The hotel itself was a high-class establishment. The staff were top notch, the rooms were gorgeous and large, the facility was clean, parking was easy, internet was accessible, and the restaurant was delicious. Even the wait staff in the restaurant were charming and complete professionals. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning.

I highly recommend!

(Note: we flew into Lisbon and drove to this hotel, and it was an easy three-hour drive)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we got to Vivenda Miranda we thought we were on a honeymoon again (albeit 30 years later). It's the kind of place where everyone of all ages walks around holding hands. It's very small and intimate, very personalized, never feels crowded. We spent three delightful nights, enjoyed three very fine dinners, found the breakfast buffet very satisfying, and were generally very pleased with the friendly and helpful staff at all levels. Although only a five minute or so (5-7 euros) taxi ride from Lagos, you feel like you're totally away from the busy world. It's August, and the Algarve is jammed with surfers, beach goers, retireds, vacationers from all over Europe and some from the U.S., but Vivenda Miranda was an oasis. The broad view of the ocean is beautiful and grounds are as well. From the beginning we were impressed with the service, even when making reservations by e-mail and writing back and forth for help with such things as whether to rent a car, arranging a departure transfer to the airport in Faro, etc. In person, everyone was just as helpful. Our deluxe room (117) was large, immaculate and very comfortable having just been redecorated. But to be complete and completely honest, I have to conclude with a few negatives which -- although I don't think they will keep us from returning should we have the chance -- should require some attention from the hotel management (which apparently does read Trip Advisor and comments on the reviews). First, the lighting in parts of the room is terrible. You can't see the clothes in the closet and couldn't tell if you were putting on a black, brown or blue shirt, and opening the safe absolutely requires using a flashlight. Please, management, some simple track lighting would solve the problem. Then there's the matter of air conditioning, which in response to prior reviews, management insists is present throughout the resort. Well, it must be magic air conditioning which works without any vents in the ceiling, walls or floor, because I couldn't find any, and there certainly isn't any thermostat in the room. But in fact, in the Algarve, the weather is beautiful (appaently almost year 'round), so air conditioning shouldn't really be necessary since the wall of our room was all glass doors which could be opened -- but PLEASE why isn't there a ceiling fan??? an essential item in most tropical resorts. For the cost of a day or two's rental of the room, a ceiling fan could be installed and make the room very comfortable in most conditions. A few words are also in order about the shower: a large attractive tiled shower, but no shelf for personal toiletries and only a single dispenser of a (to me, sickly sweet) bath gel. And a grab bar would be a good idea given that it's a tile floor. And after the first day the maids took away the bath mat and never replaced it so we tracked wet feet across the wood floor. A last word about the toiletries: skimpy and poor for a high-class resort; one tiny piece of Motel 6 type soap and a couple of pedestrian shampoos and creams. Loosen up, guys, and put out a nice spread of toiletries more fitting to the top drawer resort this is supposed to be. (And please don't tell me I should have complained to housekeeping; that's not my job when I'm your guest.) So, dear reader, you can tell we really must have been impressed with this place to give them four stars with this list of negatives -- and you'll be right. If these issues don't deter you, please do go and enjoy this potentially world-class resort in a really beautiful part of the world. And if management makes a few tiny upgrades, it could truly merit five stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Address: Porto de Mos, Lagos 8600-282, Portugal (Formerly Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#10 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an idyllic cliff top location near Lagos in the Algarve, the small boutique hotel Vivenda Miranda is a truly, indulgent, grown-up, haven of luxury in every sense of the word. The beautiful Algarve setting and uninterrupted panoramic ocean views blend with the natural terraced Mediterranean gardens. The individually styled, chic rooms of the hotel are complemented by helpful, friendly staff, where nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.