We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half-term break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda to your Saves list
Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porto de Mos, Lagos 8600-282, Portugal (Formerly Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Half-term break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First impression was amazing. The view was to die for, the hotel was out of this world nothing was too much trouble for the staff they really made my husband and myself feel really welcome without being over the top. We enjoyed every meal we had in the hotel. The hotel and everything around it made for a really relaxing and enjoyable holiday. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Many thanks

Room Tip: Room 221 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    36
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, but had a superb meal. We had the "tasting menu" which comprised five courses, several of which we would not normally have chosen from an a la carte menu, but every morsel was just delicous. The restaurant was about half full inside, plus some diners outside too (the possibility of insects put my wife off), and the service and atmosphere were great.

If you want a special and romantic meal, this is the place. At least as good as Dos Artistas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is a gem! The location is spectacular as it overlooks the ocean and the sweeping cliffs along the waterline. The sunsets were to die for.

The hotel itself was a high-class establishment. The staff were top notch, the rooms were gorgeous and large, the facility was clean, parking was easy, internet was accessible, and the restaurant was delicious. Even the wait staff in the restaurant were charming and complete professionals. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning.

I highly recommend!

(Note: we flew into Lisbon and drove to this hotel, and it was an easy three-hour drive)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

As soon as we got to Vivenda Miranda we thought we were on a honeymoon again (albeit 30 years later). It's the kind of place where everyone of all ages walks around holding hands. It's very small and intimate, very personalized, never feels crowded. We spent three delightful nights, enjoyed three very fine dinners, found the breakfast buffet very satisfying, and were generally very pleased with the friendly and helpful staff at all levels. Although only a five minute or so (5-7 euros) taxi ride from Lagos, you feel like you're totally away from the busy world. It's August, and the Algarve is jammed with surfers, beach goers, retireds, vacationers from all over Europe and some from the U.S., but Vivenda Miranda was an oasis. The broad view of the ocean is beautiful and grounds are as well. From the beginning we were impressed with the service, even when making reservations by e-mail and writing back and forth for help with such things as whether to rent a car, arranging a departure transfer to the airport in Faro, etc. In person, everyone was just as helpful. Our deluxe room (117) was large, immaculate and very comfortable having just been redecorated. But to be complete and completely honest, I have to conclude with a few negatives which -- although I don't think they will keep us from returning should we have the chance -- should require some attention from the hotel management (which apparently does read Trip Advisor and comments on the reviews). First, the lighting in parts of the room is terrible. You can't see the clothes in the closet and couldn't tell if you were putting on a black, brown or blue shirt, and opening the safe absolutely requires using a flashlight. Please, management, some simple track lighting would solve the problem. Then there's the matter of air conditioning, which in response to prior reviews, management insists is present throughout the resort. Well, it must be magic air conditioning which works without any vents in the ceiling, walls or floor, because I couldn't find any, and there certainly isn't any thermostat in the room. But in fact, in the Algarve, the weather is beautiful (appaently almost year 'round), so air conditioning shouldn't really be necessary since the wall of our room was all glass doors which could be opened -- but PLEASE why isn't there a ceiling fan??? an essential item in most tropical resorts. For the cost of a day or two's rental of the room, a ceiling fan could be installed and make the room very comfortable in most conditions. A few words are also in order about the shower: a large attractive tiled shower, but no shelf for personal toiletries and only a single dispenser of a (to me, sickly sweet) bath gel. And a grab bar would be a good idea given that it's a tile floor. And after the first day the maids took away the bath mat and never replaced it so we tracked wet feet across the wood floor. A last word about the toiletries: skimpy and poor for a high-class resort; one tiny piece of Motel 6 type soap and a couple of pedestrian shampoos and creams. Loosen up, guys, and put out a nice spread of toiletries more fitting to the top drawer resort this is supposed to be. (And please don't tell me I should have complained to housekeeping; that's not my job when I'm your guest.) So, dear reader, you can tell we really must have been impressed with this place to give them four stars with this list of negatives -- and you'll be right. If these issues don't deter you, please do go and enjoy this potentially world-class resort in a really beautiful part of the world. And if management makes a few tiny upgrades, it could truly merit five stars.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We popped along to this stunning hotel for an afternoon cocktail. We were sat out in the beautifully landscaped gardens with incredible views of the beach and clear blue of the Atlantic. It was a wonderfully peaceful place (and would be perfect for a wedding!). There was a good selection of cocktails, which were well made and delicious. Wonderful afternoon with good attentive service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Sitting on a cliff with gorgeous views we found this hotel very relaxing. Our room in the new building was spacious with tons of closet space, large bathroom, and a nice terrace to relax after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast was included and provided a large variety of choices. This included eggs to your order. The young woman at the reception desk was welcoming and helpful with any concerns. A five min walk to a beach and a 5 min cab drive to town. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for some R&R.

Room Tip: New building rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Didn't stay but went for lunch on Sunday 12th Feb 2012.
Only ones there! (6 of us) Waiter got pre- lunch drinks order wrong. Then he missed a starter for one of our friends. He was adamant she hadn't ordered it which we all know she had! She asked him for a 'soup' dish instead. He offered her consomme which she declined! We then waited over an hour for the 6 mains which were minimal and either overcooked or undercooked.
Altogether very,very disappointing as we had expected so much from this venue following all the hype.
My main of monkfish would hardly have fed a baby and at €27 was hardly cheap. We spend a lot of time in Portugal and have eaten in all levels of restaurants but this has to be one of the most over-rated ever! When my husband paid the bill they said his credit card wouldn't work so he tried another which supposedly didn't work either! They wanted cash only! We used the same card in another restaurant half an hour later for coffee etc and it worked perfectly.

Don't know what's going on there but it isn't good.

Carnegie. Luz, Portugal.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivendaMiranda, Restaurant Manager at Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Coc1948
We were very disappointed to read your comments on TripAdvisor relating to your lunch on Sunday 12th February 2012 at the Mirandus Restaurant in the Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda.

I must sincerely apologise that our food and service did not meet your expectations on this afternoon, but must confess to be surprised, especially on discovering who your waiter was, as to date we have received nothing but praise and compliments on the quality of his attention and service.

With regard to the pre-dinner drink, he did make a genuine mistake by preparing a Gin & Tonic instead of the Campari requested, on discovering this error, he apologised on the spot and offered to replace it immediately with the correct drink. You declined his offer.

Unfortunately, I believe the missing starter was as a result of a language problem, as in Portugal, although many waiters speak good English, it is not always 100% perfect! His order sheet shows that he had taken each order one by one and written this down. The lady that missed ordering her starter, had mentioned the Vol au Vent in discussion but when her time came to order, she only ordered the main course. A genuine misunderstanding we believe.

It is a shame she declined the Consommé, as it is delicious.

We can only apologise for the wait for your main course, as you mentioned you were the only guests at this time. Our kitchen had just re-opened for the afternoon and as all of our ingredients are prepared fresh and from scratch, and in respect and appreciation of your booking, we offered you the choice of ordering from the lunch menu or the larger dinner menu.

Unfortunately, I can’t validate your comments on over- or under-cooked food. All was prepared and cooked according to temperatures as ordered. We were completely unaware of any problem or dissatisfaction with the food, as at the time, nothing was mentioned to our staff and everything was eaten, so of course we assumed everything was fine and you were happy. Had you mentioned something at the time, we would of course taken action to ensure your satisfaction.

We are a fine dining restaurant, and our portion size is of a high standard, it cannot however be compared with the size and quality portions offered in local Portuguese restaurants.

I would ask when you mention the circumstances of the payment problem, that you appreciate the truth of the situation. Yes it is true that your card did not work due to a connection problem, but with three employees behind the front desk I can reliably state that we never blamed your card or asked for cash. In these circumstances, we simply use the old fashioned swipe machine as we do if a power outage occurs.

Sadly, we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and for this I apologise. However, you will see that we have many, many other comments stating the absolute reverse and regularly more than surpass the expectations of guests who would never declare us “a total waste of money!” I would respectfully suggest that we have plenty of proof to the contrary.

Yours sincerely,
Markus Sterzenbach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda

Address: Porto de Mos, Lagos 8600-282, Portugal (Formerly Romantik Hotel Vivenda Miranda)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#10 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda is a hidden gem, situated in an idyllic location, nestled into the cliff top above the beautiful Porto de Mos beach with just 25 individually styled rooms and suites. Enjoying stunning panoramic ocean views that blend with the lush, natural Mediterranean gardens it was originally the 17th century home of a noble family before the loving and individual restoration of its current owner. With discrete and excellent service and attention to every detail, this small luxury hotel boasts a superb fine dining restaurant catering to all dietary requirements including vegetarian, vegan and RAW, as well as an intimate Neal's Yard Remedies ethical and organic spa. Here you will find the perfect escape! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Vivenda Miranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.