We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant in Lagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pateo Velho

Pateo Velho
Rua Antonio Crisogono dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 294 Restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the Tivoli Hotel. A gem of a restaurant that deserves to be a listing in it's on right and not lost within the Tivoli Hotel, Lagos. It serves wonderful food, barbecue a speciality. Very romantic setting - can eat inside or out. Extremely good value.
Hilversum
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

As a guest in the Tivoli hotel two weeks ago, we have dined 4 times in one week in this excellent and cosy restaurant. The Portugese waiter was very service minded and has given to us very good recommendations each time. The prices were very reasonable and the quality was very high. So don't hesitate to go for dinner when you stay in the hotel

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing and unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very unusual outdoor and indoor seating. Food fabulous. Great service. Sadly, this lovely restaurant is not advertised and not so not many visitors. The hotel would do well to promote it more. Pathway leading to tables could do with some tables- very bare! Would def. go back!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hotel management need to promote this gem more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

To the manager of Tivoli, Lagos.......fantastic chargrilled food...this place is better than some in the top 20 restaurants on trip advisor and they are excellent so why is the trip advisor rating not being used to promote this fantastic place even to non Tivoli guests? I wish we had known earlier , we would have frequented this place more than once

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What an absolute gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The only bad thing I have to say about this place is that we only tried it on our last night so couldn't go again!
Everything about the meal was perfect the setting the service the food and the atmosphere.
We chose to eat outside as it looked more romantic with the white stone tables and beches and candles.
The head waiter took time to explain the menu and helped us with the choice of wine which would compliment the meal chosen.
We opted for a safe prawn cocktail as a starter but the mains were exceptional as we opted for a mixed grill (beef, chicken, pork and lamb) all cooked on the BBQ in the middle of the outdoor section. We weren't keen on the french fries offered as we thought it would cheapen the meal but that was no problem as they brought us small jacket potatoes which were delicious.
As it was the last night I wanted a dessert and the crepes seemed to fit the bill my wife wasn't so keen but they split the crepes between us and my wife was glad they did. I also asked for a Portugease brandy and my wife opted for a local almond liquor - I was surprised when we got the bill as they were complmentary.
Finally the best surprise of the night was the bill which was less than 55 Euros which was the best "value" we had all week considering the quality of the food and drink on offer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The restaurant is really nice, you can seat inside or outside. Food was good, perhaps not the best food I have had in Portugal, but it is worth a visit. Service was excellent, staff was extremely kind and professional.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pateo Velho also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Pateo Velho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pateo Velho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.