We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location with a rooftop bar.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cloud 9 Hostel

Save Saved
You added Cloud 9 Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cloud 9 Hostel
Rua Soeiro da costa no 9, Lagos 8600-624 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 72 Specialty lodging in Lagos
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Central Location with a rooftop bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My 4 bed dorm room was 25€ and didn't include breakfast.
Up at their rooftop bar for around 12€ for dinner and all the sangria you can handle from 9-12.
This place can be a little bit noisier at night as its one of the closer hostels to the bars.

Given the restrictions on signage it is very hard to find this place so make sure you just look for #9 as the Cloud 9 name is painted on a wall at the end of their hallway.

I only stayed one night here as I bumped into some friends and decided to try another hostel, Lagos Escape Hostel, for my second night which was 5 Euro less and included a yummy breakfast. I preferred Escape hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Could not be happier with cloud 9! Great hostel, great staff, great facilities! We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was great, even had our own ensuit! We dealt mainly with Tiago who was amazing! He made sure every one of our needs were dealt with for little things like restaurant reservations to drawing maps and pointing out the best places to eat and play! The other staff there were just as friendly too! The hostel has a full stocked kitchen, common area and rooftop bar with an awesome view minutes walk from beach, restaurants and clubbing district! We would definitely come back to cloud 9 if stayed in Lagos again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hostel was hilarious. When we first got there we right away got to know that in Lagos everything is easy going. The location is great in the heart of town so you can easily walk to bars and restaurants. Not much more that beds in a room but it was clean. You have o make sure that when you do actually catch the daytime staff to ask any questions you might need because they sometimes are not there during the day. But not to worry because if you just ask around someone in the area knows where they are and will try and find them for you. There is no décor but the rooms were clean. To be honest you only spend your time in the hostel to sleep or clean up because there is much to do in Lagos. You can grab some sun on the beach or check out the grottos. And at night there is enough bars to keep you hopping from one place to another. So in all its cheap, clean and well located (a few steps from main strip for restaurants and bars). The only issue might be the noisy guests who talk outside the bar across from the hostel. Cool people just very noisy at night. And do try the food at café odeon…super cheap and good. Only thing is it’s super small so you either have to take it to go or cram in for a seat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Excellent, clean hostel. I stayed a week with friends in early September. The staff (esp Tiago, works during the day) were friendly and helpful, know all the places in town and even bought us a beer or two. The communal areas are good, it's really easy to meet other people and there's a roof top terrace with an excellent view and a BBQ. All round top hostel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011 via mobile

Cloud 9 was great!!

The staff were friendly and helpful! The atmosphere was really homely and the Portuguese chicken and sangria nights were fantastic!

I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and we were very pleased with the hostel. Very clean room. Good communal area with fridge etc. Staff were very friendly. Couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Some friend told me about this place and was amazing !!
great staff great activities and you end up meeting so many ppl great place to hang out!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cloud 9 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud 9 Hostel

Address: Rua Soeiro da costa no 9, Lagos 8600-624 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 72 Specialty lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Cloud 9 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloud 9 Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.