We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arribale

Arribale
Rua de Barroca 40, Lagos 8600-688, Portugal
00351 918 55 66 18
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 307 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $34
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Derbyshire, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The most amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I emailed to book a table for my birthday as there were 12 of us and would suggest you book as it is TINY with only a few tables.

We were seated outside. It was comfortable with a view over the sea. The welcome was fantastic, true hosting. Fab service and nice selection of food. Everyone loved their choices. Fresh fish, meat, veggie options.

Chef came to chat and explained that his wife makes the desserts. They were also delicious as was the coffee and port and every little thing. My only suggestion would be for them to leave the squirty cream off. I know everyone in Lagos uses it but with puds that good they don't need it!

We'd go back there tomorrow if we could!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    46
    13
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Do not miss - book in advance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at Arribale, it is tucked away from the main streets, which gave it an intimate feel, even when you are sitting outside. We received a warm welcome when we arrived from the owner and his sons and an excellent level of service throughout the evening. The sparkling wine was very nice and reasonably priced and we shared the tapas to start. My husband thought the selection of items didn´t fully complement each other, but all individual elements were local and fresh. It was a good taster of different items with the seafood elements being particularly good. We then had piri-piri chicken with rice and golden bream with potatoes. Both meals were cooked really well on the coals at the entrance to the restaurant. The chocolate brownie desert was deliciously gooey. Overall a warm welcome and tasty food with reasonable prices. We felt this was one of the two best overall dining experiences we had in our week in Lagos.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lagos at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A fantastic family and friend run restaurant, very small but full of character of the original Lagos and the best food we had whilst stopping in Lagos, we opted for the prawn starter, lovely big fresh prawns and a piri piri dip, then the mixed grill for 2 with a change of spare ribs to meat balls, which was no problem when asked and the chocolate brownie to finish.
We then moved outside to have a few drinks alfresco to allow another couple a chance to enjoy the Arribale experience, although the owner said it was our table and we could stay all night, After the owners/workers finished we stopped with the other guests until 1am and it was still going strong when we left
We only visited it on our second from last night or we would have visited it more, best to reserve a table to avoid disappointment, although we luckily managed to get a table the last one

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“CHARMING AND GOOD FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The place is tiny, but filled with character. My husband and i ate outside along the walkway----very nice atmosphere. It is a quiet walkway, with some local color! Our meals were delicious. I had porc, and my husband had fish. It really is a very pleasant place. RESERVE a table since the place is very small. The outdoor seating is quite nice! Dress is very casual, but men should wear a shirt.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We took the trouble to find this tiny restaurant, which is hidden away from the main area, as a result of the previous reviews. It was well worth the search, we returned for a second visit ! The menu is limited, reflecting the catch of the day but the food is beautifully cooked. From the very warm welcome and throughout the evening you are made to feel that your enjoyment is their purpose. Seating is limited and booking advised but the atmosphere is lovely, a real gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arribale also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Arribale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arribale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.