We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta da Nina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lagos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quinta da Nina
Save
You added Quinta da Nina to your Saves list
Rua Moinho Da Encarnacao 1, Lagos 8600-146, Portugal   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Lagos B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We enjoyed or stay with Hilde. We were in the Tower Room which is ideal with the terrace and the view over the garden and the sea. Breakfast was superb, only disappointment was that in March we were on our own

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located between Salema and Lagos, this B&B was exactly what we hoped it would be. We stayed in the Garden Room which was the perfect size for any couple traveling. It is run by friendly Hilde, who speaks fluent English, German & Portuguese (at least!) and offers guests access to her small but lovely pool and secret garden - which is 200 meters from the beaches of Burgau.

We ran into car trouble our second day into the trip and Hilde dismissed her afternoon errands to help us communicate with the local auto repair employees. She singlehandedly kept our trip from taking a turn for the worse. She loves The Beatles and we promise to bring our guitar next time!! Take our advise and stay here instead of the touristy/busy/overpriced city of Lagos (great to visit, but great to leave).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hilde is a fantastic, very helpful and caring host. The rooms are nice with everything you need and the 10 minutes walk to the cosy and cute little village Burgao is fantastic. In Burgao you´ll find a great beach and some nice restaurants. Good breakfast, a nice little pool, a little forest of your own and stunning views just around the corner. In short: everything you need for a relaxing vacation. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having read the previous reviews it is difficult to add much to the praise already lavished on Hilde's amazing B&B. Suffice to say it lived up to all the complimentary views expressed. Sitting at breakfast and looking out on the view of pool, pine woods and sea we felt a little like Richard Branson must feel on one of his private islands - nothing to interrupt such a perfect vista.
The positioning is also ideal, offering a short (10 minute) walk into Burgau with its splendid beach and good selection of restaurants. It is also a short (15 minute) drive from Lagos to the east and about half an hour to the west coast which has beautiful unspoilt scenery
Hilde was the perfect hostess, ably backed up by Alba, while Lucy the Great Dane is really entertaining if you like dogs but not around if you don't (a neat trick).
Thank you Hilde - we will return!

Room Tip: Tower room has lovely view of gardens and sea and enormous private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Scot
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

You may ask having read all the previous reviews whether this place can be that good. The simple answer is yes and then some. Rather than waste time and space by repeating previous eulogies, please allow me to focus on the following topics.

The biggest issue is finding the entrance - up a steep slope, turn right and right again - large green gate ahead of you marks the entrance or side gate up the track. If, on the main road into Burgau, you pass the Pig's Head, you have gone too far.

Secondly, we stayed in the Garden Room - magnificent accommodation. Hilde, the owner, showed us the Tower Room upstairs with its expansive terrace - even better!

Finally, Hilde has devised a most cunning plan to encourage guests to mingle. Breakfast is served on the terrace at a large table with six settings. The previous week, my wife and I had stayed in a highly-rated hotel further east along the coast. Breakfast was taken in a large room holding perhaps one hundred guests. I remarked that most people engaged with partners and no one else. Chez Hilde, breakfast is served at a communal table ensuring, nay encouraging, open discussion. We stayed for one week - during that time we broke fast in holiday small-talk with new-found friends from Philadelphia, St.Petersburg, Liepzig and Amsterdam. It was an excellent and enjoyable start to the day.

As for the other things you may wish to learn about, please read the previous reviews - they are all true. In fact, I believe the previous reviewer from Amsterdam was being slightly mean-spirited in offering only ten out of ten.

If you seek total relaxation in very pleasant and comfortable surroundings, this is the place for you. You have my word - at the end of your stay, you will wish you had booked longer!

Room Tip: Three rooms available. As above, Garden Room was excellent, Tower Room looked superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

When we arrived after a long journey we were immediately offered a cold beer. I knew it would be an amazing stay from that moment on. Hilde and Alba are the most friendly people you can imagine, nothing is too much trouble for them. The grounds are great, including hammocks, a pool and a terraced area. Amazing ocean views, beautiful walk along the cliffs into town. For a house in the countryside everything is very well kept and modern. I would recommend staying here wholeheartedly. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Quinta da Nina is a beautiful family home. The 3 rooms are part of the main house but situated far enough apart to allow sufficient privacy, especially the Tower Room. We stayed in the Tower Room which has an enormous terrace with spectacular views over the pool and ocean beyond. The villa is in a fabulous location situated on the cliff top and is a 10 minute walk from the fishing village of Burgau which has a good beach, a selection of restaurants (Ancora is a must) and a couple of bars. 10 - 15 minutes drive from Lagos. Hilde, the owner, is extremely welcoming and accommodating, going out of her way to make our stay as perfect as possible. The perfect hostess. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta da Nina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Nina

Address: Rua Moinho Da Encarnacao 1, Lagos 8600-146, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta da Nina is a family run B&B that lies on an elevated plateau bordering the sea. The grounds consist of lawns surrounding the pool area and terraces, as well as a pinewood forest. In the inner courtyard, with its almond trees and original farmhouse wall, you can enjoy a delicious daily breakfast. All these areas are very private – ensuring that your stay with us is peaceful and relaxing. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta da Nina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.