We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pateo Velho Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Lagos Hotel to your Saves list
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Antonio Crisogono Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pateo Velho Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We ate in the Al a Carte Restaurant twice in the week we stayed at the Tivoli Hotel and both times were excellent! The waiter Diago was very attentive and excellent at helping us choose the best wines and food. He was friendly, enthusiastic and very professional. We were very impressed with him and his Restaurant. Diago came to chat with us in the Bar on our last night before we went home. The staff in the Bar were very friendly too! One of the girls was very helpful and made the nights we spent in the Bar very special, she was a lovely girl. The hotel was very good and the facilities were good. We would recommend Superbok Lager, shame we can't get it at home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    410
    194
    75
    37
See reviews for
117
530
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Sumptuous breakfasts, very clean and great value for money with free bus to the beach and even more important, free beach sunbeds for Tivoli guests. For us, individual access to some form of hotel film channel or better satellite provision would have made the stay perfect. In this day and age, BBC 1, BBC news 24 and a truck load of foreign channels on your room TV doesn't really cut it. Still a great hotel though!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have holidayed in the Algarve for the last four years, combining a sailing holiday with a few days of poolside chill. We chose the Tivoli for its lovely pool, friendly ambience and excellent central Lagos location.

The air conditioned rooms are clean, we'll maintained, although a bit dated. That said, the bed was comfortable.

The buffet style breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food. There is a health club, indoor heated pool and spa facilities. There is also a very nice restaurant serving excellent typical Portuguese fayre.

There is also a shuttle service to Dunas beach, located at meia Praia beach. This is promoted as part of the hotel. There are sunbirds, shades, a pool and restaurant facilities. However there is a charge of ten euros for the use of the beds for the day which is not advertised on the hotel literature. This was a downside for us as we were a party of four and it came as a surprise to us as hotel guests to be asked to pay for this facility. This charge should be clearly stated on the flyer at the hotel. So be warned, this was a blot on a almost perfect stay.

Room Tip: There are a range of rooms, if possible choose a low rise ground floor room with a bigger balcony. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Second time we have been to this hotel and will be using it again. We find it such a relaxing place. The hotel is lovely and clean at all times. Plenty of places to sit and relax in piece and quiet. There is always staff around to help you. Food in the hotel is really good. Good choice at Buffett. We have stayed bed and breakfast and half board and found that there was plenty of choice. Food at the pool side and at the hotels Duna beach very nice. The only downside to hotel is we wanted to eat at the Duna beach on the night but the last bus is quarter to seven. Which is fine going but not one to get you back which I think more people will go If they did. It was a shame though cos it's a lovely place to enjoy during the day so would have liked to do same at the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed in the Tivoli Lagos Hotel at the end of June having booked a package trip.


Transfer by coach

Took longer than I expected (just over 2 hrs) owing mainly to several other resort stops forcing us off the main roads.


Location

I think the location is one of the main benefits to the hotel. You are literally a 5 – 10 (depending on your pace) minute walk from the main bars and restaurant in the Town Centre. In terms of directions to the town, as you come out of the main hotel entrance there are 3 bars opposite. You want the road directly behind them. You could turn right straight away but that is the steep option, the road just behind these bars is the flat option so just turn left at hotel entrance and about 50 yards down turn hard right (almost back on yourself). You know you are on the right track when you hit the Repsol petrol station.


Superior Room

We upgraded to a superior room on the advice of others on this site. To be honest the room this was for me the most disappointing thing. I had contacted the hotel group directly (not the specific hotel – you contact head office) to request a high room with a view as I was told these were quieter. The message was acknowledged and I was told they would do what they could. Upon arrival we were put in to a nice enough room but it was on the ground floor next to a lift with no view to speak of. We asked to move in the morning mainly due to the lift noise and lack of view, the staff were accommodating enough but could only put us on the 2nd floor. Luckily this was far enough from the lift but did suffer from road noise in the night (I think there is a small road behind the block of superior rooms) which I only got used to towards the end of the holiday. Personally I would have moved again once a higher floor became available and the staff made this offer but my partner didn’t want the hassle of another room move.
The room itself was cleaned regularly and was of a good size but the décor was dated.


Facilities

I thought the free computes in the hotel were a good alternative to having to pay for wifi.
The main lobby area, bar and dining area were a lot smarter than the rooms. We stayed on a B & B basis and I did enjoy the breakfasts which had a good selection, hot and cold options including the usual eggs, bacon, beans, toast, fruit, serial, cakes etc
There aren’t many sunbeds around the hotel and they are taken quite early, though people did tend to leave them once they were finished rather than keeping them all day. We never made it to the private beach area the hotel has because when we wanted a bed we always made an effort to get one.


General

I have to say the staff were very friendly and would have moved us again had we requested it. It is just a shame we weren’t accommodated upon arrival as the lasting impression I have is settling for a room that didn’t meet my requirements.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My hubby and myself stayed here for six nights in July. We had a great holiday.

The hotel is excellent although we think some of the rooms are in need of a bit of TLC.

Our food - breakfast and dinner was very good and the staff were always happy to help in any way they could.

The location of the hotel is excellent and we had no problems in finding lots of nice places to drink and have a snack if we needed it.

The hotel is in a great location right in the centre of town so it is easy to reach any area you like.

We will most certainly return to this hotel In the future..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

For me this stay was not very pleasant, but that could happen to everybody. I got food poisoned by the hotel restaurant and was sick for 9 days. To be fair one bad shell in a dish can give this result so I am not blaming the Hotel. And I didn't have to pay for the stay and got two doctors to my room. So all in all, Good service.

So about the hotel:

Rooms: Very out dated. I have stayed in hostels with better rooms than this. And it has a bug problem. Loads of ants and some other bugs that I could not tell what was. Not a major problem but not very nice.

Facilities: Actually very good. Nice reception, and bar area (Very good bar staff), Ok gym and indoor pool. They also have Duna Beach that is a beach club that is owned by the hotel but is about 3 km away.

Pool area: A nice pool area with bar and ok food. The down side is the big problems with way to few sun beds and “reservers”. It says on the beds that it is not allowed to reserve sun beds. But we came out 10am one day and it was “full”. No people but towels on all the beds. My recommendation is to just pick the sun beds you want and take away the towels that are already there. And then take the argument when the “owners” comes. All in all a good pool.

Breakfast: A good breakfast buffet with good alternatives. But in a 4* hotel there should be more to drink than the cheapest juices available and also a fridge for the yogurts and the milk. Is there one thing I can’t stand its warmish milk products? And I know a lot of people agree with me.

Hotel BBQ Restaurant: Maybe one of the best restaurants in Lagos. Very nice and professional staff, a good menu and good food. And the outside terrace is also very nice. One of our best experiences in Lagos

So to sum up: I do not understand why they not downgrade to a 3-star hotel. Everything about it is 3-stars, even the price. So I cannot complain. But when you have 4-star in your head you think your getting more than you get.

Well worth a visit if you are considering other 3-star hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that is close to the Pool area. Our room was a good 5 minute walk to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#12 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a welcome 4 star hotel in the heart of Lagos. To help make your stay as relaxing as possible, Tivoli Lagos provides a permanent shuttle to the Beach Club: the beach facilities are fun for both adults and children. Located right on the beach at Meia Praia, the Praia Duna bar is the setting for parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a few metres from the entertainment at the marine life centre, and a few km from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this hotel is an excellent option for weekend visits as well as family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Lagos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.