We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Habit Forming.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Lagos Hotel to your Saves list
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Glasgow
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Habit Forming.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

OK we went back again and again it was just as good as the last time.
Still dated rooms but clean, staff friendly and helpful, good food. Although we ate out every night by choice because there are so many good places to eat.
We did experience a bit of sleep deprivation due to some louts on our floor who were rumoured to be Russian but they were allegedly asked to leave by the management and we never saw them again so the normal sleep pattern was resumed.
The beach club is just the same as it has been for years _ _ _ but he old wicker chairs were replaced near the end of our stay.
Will we return for another stay?
You bet we will!!
Just one we gripe however, our last day coincided with the Wimbledon Men's Final and an English couple planted themselves in front of the TV in reception to watch the French Open Golf!! Despite several requests from different people they refused to switch to the tennis and sat there all afternoon. (So much for democracy no wonder Scots want independence!!)
While at least twenty hotel guests went to the local pub and a good few went back to their rooms to watch history in the making. Well done Andy you made Britain proud.
If you want to watch historic sport then ask reception the day before and they will place a notice on the board advising what is going to be shown.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    411
    195
    76
    37
See reviews for
118
531
42
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over and weekend and although in a great location they could have done better. Rooms were clean but very dated (10-20 years old), however they were kept clean but layout is a bit weird as they gave friends a twin when they asked for a double. Breakfast was ok, and gym is probably in a serious need of an upgrade. One final note is that in a town where every restraunt/pub offers free wifi its seems strange that an upmarket hotel charges 9 euros for 24 hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is our second time at the Tivoli Lagos (last time 2007).
The hotel remains of an excellent standard in terms of cleanliness, staff attitude and helpfulness (especially Domitalia, Reception). It suits us particularly - we love the location of the hotel with its easy access to the town, marina, railway station etc plus the wonderful beach club facility with its frequent transport
If you like Chinese food, try Dynasty - but go up the stairs and ask for a sea view table first..
I don't think anyone could fault the breakfast - OK it's completely self service, but the range and quality of what's on offer is excellent - constantly replenished and fresh. Also, open from 7.30 to 10.30 - a plus when you're on holiday!
Duna Beach Club - we visited frequently. The Sun beds on the beach are new this year, are plentiful and well spaced out. We did have one day on the pool beds (10 Euros each) and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was extremely hot when we were there, so the sea breeze was extremely welcome.
The Beach Club itself has been totally refurbished and is extremely comfortable. Although lunch may look a little expensive, in comparison to the quality and the price of neighbouring beach bars it is extremely good value, with excellent service and ambience (eg fresh filleted sea bass 14 Euros). During July and August the Beach Club is open for evening dining with entertainment.
We did manage to go to the neighbouring region on the West Coast (Alentejo) where we had the most amazing sea food meal at Azena Do Mar- fish brought in that morning from the beach below!
Train service is good and cheap, but the best timetable is the "merged" one available on the Internet - the published timetables at the station are for individual lines.
River trip from Portimao to Silves is worth considering if you like views and wild life and it gives you a couple of hours to explore Silves itself - well worth it.
And now, my one gripe - availability of sun beds at the hotel pool. Over the years I have tried to understand the psyche of reserving sun beds and have failed. I watched some mornings between 7.00 and 8.30 am - oh, the agony of those people's decision - which beds do I want? How many? Where shall I move them? By 9 .00am there was not one bed left without a towel or book on it when we were there. It does not appear to be policed in anyway. Personally we preferred to go to the luxury of the Beach Club, but there were a couple of occasions when we would have liked just an hour or so by the pool after returning from a day out - not possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a 10 night break and I thought the hotel was great. Excellent location, spotlessly clean with great bar, dining room and public areas. We were on a golf break and the hotel was perfectly located for the courses we played. It was my first visit to Lagos and again I thought the town was great with a nice marina and a huge selection of bars and restaurants. I'd have no hesitation in returning to Lagos or the hotel. A fantastic holiday and I'll be back soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday at the Tivoli hotel in Lagos. On booking this trip, we were very excited and had heard good things about our holiday. However, the reviews and photos (both on TripAdvisor and the website) don't do this place justice. After having exploring the many relaxing rooms, the indoor pool and spa, the gym and luxurious gardens, we were very impressed and pleased with our choice of hotel. There are so many hidden gems within this hotel, many of which would have been overlooked by ourselves had we not gotten too hot in the glorious sun and decided to explore! Looking around this hotel really is a must...
The staff were very friendly and courteous and the hotel was very clean. Drinks (both poolside and bar) are a tad expensive, but I guess you should expect this in such a beautiful hotel! We went with another couple and found that there were lots of places to see and eat with a great choice of activities. The hotel has its own part of the beach with free to use sunloungers, though there is a charge to use the loungers at the Duna beach pool.

We would definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stay in this hotel due to the location its a few minutes walk to the centre of Lagos & the marina.Yes the hotel is quite old & quirky but if you stay in a newer hotel you will not be in a central position.Rooms, choose a club room they are very spacious & have a fridge.Breakfast is plentiful with lots of choices.Pool isn't huge but is a nice place to use also has indoor pool.Free regular bus to the beach club takes 10 minutes.,stunning beach with free beds & umbrellas you can use the beds @ the beach pool but there is a charge.Staff are very helpful Not a hotel to go to if you have walking difficulties.Restaurants are plentiful with lots of choices,from cheap & cheerful to fine dining.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have just returned from a blissful trip in Lagos! We have now stayed in this hotel seven times out of our nine trips to Lagos.Why do we keep returning? Quite simply this hotel has a lot to offer. Good food, clean, fantastic staff, excellent service, perfect location, not to mention the beautiful beach club! Previous reviewers have mentioned about the sprawling layout. We find it quirky and there are some lovely gardens to explore. I would rather a low level sprawling layout than a towering block building.I would agree that some rooms are a little tired but I also think the value for money price tag reflects that. Domitilia on reception is very helpful, Antonio makes the best Gin & Tonic and Philipe makes the perfect classic champagne cocktail. Many of the staff have been around for years, a good sign in an industry where staff turnover is exceptionally high.During our stay my husband celebrated his birthday and the hotel very kindly delivered a complimentary bottle of bubbly to the room. A really nice touch! We look forward to returning next year. Thank you.

Room Tip: A high floor room in the main building has great views across the beach, pool, and marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#12 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Lagos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.