We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a few niggles.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Lagos Hotel to your Saves list
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Antonio Crisogono Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel but a few niggles.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just spent a week at the Tivoli Lagos and was pleasantly surprised after reading some bad reviews. We arrived early afternoon and were shown to our "sun in the afternoon" room, There was not sun on the balcony & it was minute. Most of the balconies were one large balcony cut in half, we complained at reception and after another bad room we were finally shown to a large balconied room with full sun. The only problem was that it was the farthest away and was reached by 3 lifts plus some stairs but was worth it for the room.The downside was that the guy who took our cases "Jose" was a surly miserable person and kept banging our cases into walls which really annoyed me.....Sort him out please as he gives a bad impression of the staff..... He walks about as if he's the general manager. The reception staff were fine and the bar staff were really friendly. This first niggle might seem as though we didn't like the hotel but that's not the case just a hiccup at first. The hotel is spotlessly clean in the bedrooms and all the public rooms so seems a pity the towels are not changed more frequently .Only one change per week.The hotel is very attractive. We loved the breakfast room as the food is to one side under some arches instead of the usual large buffets in the middle of the room with everybody bumping into one another. It's very spacious with a lovely outside sitting area & the selection of food is good. We were on Bed & breakfast so did not eat in at night. he bar area is lovely with entertainment at night and people us it so there is a nice atmosphere. Happy hour 6-730.The pool area is very attractive and no problems with reserved sun beds. We also used the shuttle bus to the beach. A lovely beach area with free beds & umbrellas. Opposite the entrance to the hotel in the O Antica pub very busy with hotel guests & a good atmosphere. Lagos town is a 5 minute stroll & is very attractive with many bars, restaurants & shops. Musicians play in the square. The local bus station is outside the hotel & to the left. We went to Burgau & Praia da Luz.
Wi fi is 9 euros a day which I think is a bit steep but there are 2 free lap tops near the bar.
All in all we enjoyed the hotel & it's facilities. The only thing it needs is painting on the outside as it spoils the look of a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 906 with sun & large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    410
    194
    75
    37
See reviews for
117
530
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is fairly large, but it seems to have derived from a collection of buildings, so there are corridors and nooks and crannies everywhere. The place is wonderfully kept inside, the staff are great and the food good. The liitle restaurant on the lobby floor, has outside seating is excellent, if you don't fancy the 10 minutes walk into town, where there are many restaurants. The hotel is located in a quiet backstreet, and the only noise is from the good quality enternainment on the lobby floor. However, the building is so solid and well built that the noise from the entermainment does not travel through the hotel. The outdoor pool is a good size with a good amount of loungers and seats, but the views from the hotel are limited. Many rooms look at other buildings, some have views of the pool, or gardens. I had a room next to one of the lifts, but didn't have a problem from any noise

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the pool, or as high as possible to see over some of the rooftops
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recently had a golf holiday based at the hotel. We were 6 friends two of which (including me) had single rooms. These were obviously more expensive per person but were in a rather poor location and were small for the price we paid. The public spaces at the hotel are good and the breakfast perfectly adequate. Staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel entertainment was varied and good. I think that we were in the older part of the hotel and the bathroom was rather inadequate. The shower was so small it was not a good idea to drop the soap!!. i wouls say that the hotel is not 4 star overall but a good 3 star. Our friends had better rooms but of course were sharing. I would advise checking the rooms before paying such a large suplement for a single room.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the new part of the hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Well located, clean through out and pleasant enough staff. This spacious hotel although quirky in layout, somewhat dated bedrooms and with an exterior in desperate need of a lick of paint. Is a pleasant and right enough place to stay for an enjoyable holiday. The restaurant is immaculate and the food both at breakfast and in the evening of a good quality and variety. A high percentage of guests opt for bed and breakfast only which means the restaurant in the evenings is somewhat quiet and lacking in atmosphere. Although this is not a criticism just an observation. There are all the facilities you would expect at a 4 star hotel. Including an health club, outdoor swimming pool with adequate sun beds, heated indoor pool and a jacuzzi. There is a regular courtesy bus provided by the hotel to the Duna Beach at Meia Praia where there is a further swimming pool, restaurant, bar and sun beds for guests use on the beach. Lagos is a busy place with a nice marina, lots of bars, restaurants and street entertainers. The bus station is a two minute walk away from the hotel for those who wish to visit Alvor, and other coastal resorts. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Difficult to say but probably those on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Group of guys on a week's golf trip in April 13. Large hotel reasonably in the centre of town with easy walking access to shops restaurants markets and marina! Finding your room is a bit of a problem at first. there is about 5 different towers. However once you get it its ok.
we had a B&B arrangement. Breakfast for us golfers was excellent. we usually ate out in the evenings. There is a quite a number of restaurants locally with many of them very reasonably priced and with good food. Most of us eat out in the evenings with some eating in the hotel the odd night with no complaints. Rooms were big enough and clean. Generally the hotel could do with a touch of paint here and there but not a major issue. very happy to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I arrived in lagos on the 7th may 2013, after traveling from albufiera by bus and was relieved to find the hotel within wlaking distance from the marina/bus terminal and main square of lagos.

The hotel is huge with over 300 rooms, as soon as i arrived i received a warm welcome and was shown to my room by one of the staff, who also pointed out and advised me of the local attractions.

There is a health centre within the hotel wich i took advantage of, there is an indoor and outdoor pool, a gym, suans, steam room and massges available. The hotel also has its only private beach wich is free for hotel guests - there is a free pick up and drop of service to the beach to.


My room was very spacious and clean with a very comfortable bed and a nice view of the sea. there is wifi available at a charge of 9 euros per day

Breakfast was included in my rate and it enjoyed the breakfast buffet as the selection was huge.

Lagos itself is a beautifull place and full of lovely beaches and history. There is lots to do in lagos and beautifull scenery, Ponte di pipedade is a must an i was able to walk there from my hotel.

I also took a day trip to sagres wich was 5 euro by bus, this was also amazing and i would reccomend it to see the old fort and the lighthouse at the end wich the locals refer to as the end of theworld as it literraly is the edge of europe.

Really enjoyed my time here and loved my stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Just returned today, from an enjoyable 2 week break at the Tivoli Lagos. The hotel is well placed for transport around the area, being a couple of hundred yards from the bus station. (Use the buses folks, they are very good, and quite cheap). The hotel is looking a little tired now, parts are 50 years old, but that should not prevent you from trying this place. The food (buffet style) is well cooked and plentiful, albeit a little on the cool side at times. The one thing that did cause issues was the trek to some of the rooms ( ours was 3 flights of stairs down, after a lift journey UP one floor, and a walk around a couple of corridors in an area unserved by any other methods.
Whinge over! TRY IT!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#12 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a welcome 4 star hotel in the heart of Lagos. To help make your stay as relaxing as possible, Tivoli Lagos provides a permanent shuttle to the Beach Club: the beach facilities are fun for both adults and children. Located right on the beach at Meia Praia, the Praia Duna bar is the setting for parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a few metres from the entertainment at the marine life centre, and a few km from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this hotel is an excellent option for weekend visits as well as family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Lagos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.