We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very friendly staff, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tivoli Lagos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Antonio Crisogono Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 54 hotels in Lagos
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location, very friendly staff, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Tivoli in early October. I had recently returned from a tour of Afghanistan and wanted a holiday where we could relax and do absolutely nothing, but also be able to change our mind and go exploring should we wish to. Firstly, Lagos is a great place to base yourself if you are in a similar frame of mind. We spent four of the days doing just that, nothing, and then went exploring and on boat trips etc towards the end of the week. I digress.

Onto the hotel, tucked away off one of the side streets leading out to the main road that runs along the beautiful marina, the reception gives a different impression to the rest of the hotel. This is not a negative point. The hotel is glass fronted with a large swooping staircase which could have you fooled into thinking you've arrived at a big inner-city hotel. The rooms themselves are not quite as metropolitan, but are what you would expect from a fairly priced (for what we paid anyway) hotel in a Portuguese town. Our room was some distance from reception, and given the sprawling nature of the hotel, there aren't many that are close! The room was quite small but suited our needs and the bathroom although again small, was quite chic, all mirrors and marble. The view was non-existent given that it looked out onto the back street below with a balcony that you couldn't fit a cat on, let alone swing it. Obviously, not all views will be like this! This was our second room, having been allocated a twin room initially (albeit with a lovely sea-view) - the hotel had no problem relocating us, and as the hotel wasn't anywhere near full, I'm sure they would have relocated us again, should we have requested.

The minibar, as with all hotels was extortionately expensive especially given that shops and minimarkets are literally minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel charges for use of the safe, which I think is a cheek but I suppose the choice is yours. The hotel also charges for use of the gym, which although tiny is relatively well equipped. Having just come from doing not much else but gym work during my spare time in the last four months it didn't bother me. If you like to hit the gym on holiday though, the 5 euro charge per visit may grind your gears (I think they do week passes at a reduced rate).

We spent each evening starting off in the hotel bar, which had a happy hour that lasted for three. During this time most drinks are half price, which makes them more than good value. After that, you can expect to pay usual hotel prices (upwards of 4 / 5 Euro for a pint of lager, 6 upwards for a spirit and mixer). The staff in the bar and across the hotel were very friendly throughout our stay. Beach towels are available from reception for free (with a returnable deposit) and they will change them for you every two days. There is a also a regular free shuttle to Tivoli's 'section' of beach. Beware, whilst the sunbeds on the beaches are free for hotel users, should you wish to lie on the wicker loungers around the pool that looks out onto the beach, someone will appear and charge you 5 euro each. We only did that once.
The beach itself is beautiful, and we spent at least some part of each day we were there, on it. If you stay at the Tivoli when it is busy (perhaps during summer) then you will most likely want to go to the beach each day as the pool and its surrounds look like they would struggle to accommodate the guests a hotel with so many rooms can provide. That said, the pool is well-tended as are the grounds surrounding it.

As we like to experience the local area, and we don't like to be tied down to the hotel we went with bed and breakfast. The breakfast is well recommended; plentiful and freshly cooked. You can choose between cereals, croissants, breads and pastries, and hot breakfasts. If you're expecting a full English, think again. For some reason smoked cocktail sausages are the sausages available and the bacon isn't the best. If you don't mind that too much then you'll definitely find something each morning to suit your taste.

As we dined out each evening I'll provide separate reviews on here for those but my main recommendation for somewhere on the hotel doorstep is O Artista. The staff are fantastic, the menu varied, the food wonderful and the price very fair indeed.

Overall, if we return to Lagos we will probably stay in a different hotel but that is mainly because variety is the spice of life. I would say however, that if you are looking for a hotel that is close to all amenities, (the bustling town centre is 2 mins walk away) provides comfort and value for money in equal measure, together with friendly staff and a lovely breakfast then you won't be disappointed with the Tivoli.

Room Tip: There are lots and lots of rooms so don't be afraid to ask the hotel can you move if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    304
    140
    61
    22
See reviews for
83
389
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We when to the Tivoli Lagos in the beginning of November for a break before the real dark days of winter
I thought the hotel was still very nice the breakfast was still good.
I know that they had done had done away with the tea and coffee making in the room but had substituted with a machine in lobby bar but even that had gone.
I know times are hard but the Tivoli cannot live on its previous reputation for ever, the rooms where looking a bit dated and could do with a bit spending on them.
The mini bar in the room was far to expensive.
Bars prices not to bad if you went in the happy hour.
All in all a pleasant stay but I do not think I shall be going again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

A group of 20 friends on a golfing trip on 15-11-11 stayed at the Tivoli Lagos, having stayed at other Tivoli hotels this one is below them in the pecking order. The staff struggled as we arrived to sort our rooms out even though we foward them people sharing or single rooms, only one staff on duty did not help, mind you low season and very few others there did not warrent loads of staff. Location great , bar area excellent , breakfast were adequate for the price we paid, the room were dated and needs upgrading bed linin were from the sixties.Overall the hotel was ok but supply and demand come to mind as it may need some tlc on it but you will need more customers. As a group we would not rush back but i suspect it is probaly the best in the area. ps The rooms are not easy to find even if you are sober !!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I have been staying at the Tivoli Hotel for 10 years give or take.

I have just returned from another week there ( Nov 2011) and it will probably be my last.

The only thing the Tivoli Lagos has going for it is the location, but they seem to think they can dine out on that forever.

This hotel now struggles to maintain a 3* rating, the decor is very tired, the limited bar facilities are very expensive and to cap it all, the in room tea/coffee making facilities have been withdrawn.

Most of the facilities close at the end of October, inculding the beach club and one of the resturants.

For an economy that is in trouble, they seem to take it for granted that we will keep coming back, they are just not making any effort at all to encourage to come back.

We have stayed at the Tivoli Marina in Villamoura and the contrast is stark, the Marina is a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a suite, most of the rooms feel damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Just returned after a week at the Tivoli, myself and my partner (early 40's) on half term break (without the children!). I was a little worried having read some of the reviews which referred to the place as dated and in need of refurbishment. Perhaps they were staying in a different part of the hotel to us as our room (twin club room) was beautiful with a high vaulted authentic brick ceiling, tv (which had poor picture at times but good film and news channels and BBC1) and a dressing room and beautiful double bathroom with marble floors and walls, super strong shower, deep bath, toilet and bidet. Lots of fluffy towels which were all changed daily and a bath robe each. Hairdryer (albeit quite low voltage) and razor points in the bathroom and lots of electricity points for plugs. Lovely terrace with table and chairs but our room was shadowed by taller buildings of the hotel which was a shame as it made the room quite dark at times but didnt take away our enjoyment! Mini bar useful for keeping own drinks/food in but beware of the prices when u wake up hungry or thirsty, they are way OTT so be warned, by your own!
Location was fab and the town is really really lovely, really chilled out and relaxed and loads of lovely little restaurants with a variety of delicious food, much better than what was offered at 'The Strip' in Albufiera (nightmare place). We found a great restaurant on the front called Adega da Marina which is a large restaurant with lovely friendly staff, excellent seafood, particularly the garlic prawns which we paid 6.50 Euros for a large platter of really fresh, succulent, large prawns in crushed whole garlic butter, mopped up with delicious portuguese bread...mmmmmm i can taste them now! We went back a few times and tried a few different dishes and apart from the calamari (which was not like the spanish style delicately battered) we loved all their food and the prices were fab. Generally two courses with wine costs around 30 euros per couple which I think isnt too bad for delicious food.
Other restaurants in the town up toward the bar area were also really lovely and usually around 30 euros again and 95% of the food was lovely. The town is gorgeous, with lots of cobbled windy streets, we took a sunday walk around the town and visited the Golden Church which is absolutely gorgeous and well worth a visit. Lots and lots of shops although were not really interested in shopping so just window shopped to be honest.
Took a bus into Portimao which cost 4.20 euros each, each way which was a lovely place also with more lovely shops, restaurants and lovely front which looks right over the river onto Ferragudo. Sat and fed the birds and fish and just chilled for a few hours. Had a gorgeous Italian lunch on the front, right in front of the old wooden Ship, which was very tasty and recommended with a gorgeous ice cream dessert between us which was loads. This was though the most expensive meal we had during the holiday so I suspect Portimao restaurants are slightly dearer than Lagos.
Loads of great bars in Lagos, we found our own little havens which included Eddies bar with 2 mad barmen who drink as much as the customers and we had darts competitions while doing Jaegermeister shots amongst others! Stones bar was also good and there was another bar with lots of fairy lights at each table (cant remember what it was called) but they had really good live music. Spent a really good nights in Wolf's Lair bar which is run by a really lovely man called Joseph and the staff were super cool and very welcoming. Again, joined in the drinks with us and played great tunes, needless to say we had a memorable night and returned a couple of times, apparently theyre thinking of expanding onto two floors like the bar next door so I think this would be a fab idea as Bon Vivante next door had very miserable unfriendly staff and the prices were really high compared to the little bars who offer fab happy hours with bofof shots and cocktails.
All in all hotel was fab, place was fab, food was fab, weather ok but not great at the end of October so taking a chance but had a lovely time, really chilled and will definitely go back to town and hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We had a problem with the room, which was sorted out by reception and hotels.com without issue (eventually). The room we were given was very good, cleaned daily and although in need of updating - it was very comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent, the bar, pool area and reception/entrance is very welcoming and modern. There are other areas of the hotel which are desperate for a upgrade - but the economy as it is, its not going to happen anytime soon.

Location as others have said is excellent - close to many restaurants, shops, bars, sights and the maze of cobbled streets (great fun exploring).

Duna beach club is easy to get to, free frequent coach, but does stop for 2hrs at lunchtime - be careful you don't get caught out as the menu at the club is a bit expensive.

The indoor pool is useful when the weather is poor (remember your sense of humour when your asked to wear the blue swimming hat).

We have always enjoyed Lagos and would return to the Tivoli again however, as our children get older we may have to consider other options as it is not geared up to entertain them.

Room Tip: The hotel is a maze, lots of staitrs etc. If you have children in buggies or are a disabled travell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We enjoyed our first visit to Portugal and to the Tivoli, on reccommendation. 3 of us spent 10 days there and really enjoyedthe break. The hotel was excellent, although the bathroom could do with refurbishing but there was plenty of hot water and everything worked well. The beds were comfortable and having a small balcony was lovely. The only downside was that they charged 24m euros to use the room safe, which I thought extortionate. (I had expected it to be free as in most other hotels.)
The breakfasts were very good, but there was a shortage of staff some mornings so that things ran out before being replenished. The fruit and other foods were fresh and the bread was wonderful.
We loved the resort and ate out at different restaurants most nights, returning to two very good ones. The small beach near the fort was excellent for swimming and there were facilities for changing too. We had a wonderful trip to see the dolphins and "Dizzy Dolphins" are to be reccommended.
The pool at the hotel was lovely (indoor too), slightly chilly to get in, but wonderful once one got going. Plenty of sun beds and towels provided by the hotel, changable every 2 days.
The cleanliness was very good and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
We will certainly go back.

Room Tip: A balcony is nice, overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Lagos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#11 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a welcome 4 star hotel in the heart of Lagos. To help make your stay as relaxing as possible, Tivoli Lagos provides a permanent shuttle to the Beach Club: the beach facilities are fun for both adults and children. Located right on the beach at Meia Praia, the Praia Duna bar is the setting for parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a few metres from the entertainment at the marine life centre, and a few km from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this hotel is an excellent option for weekend visits as well as family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Lagos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.