We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Lagos Hotel to your Saves list
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

my daughter got married on the Duna Beach, which is part of the Tivoli Hotel. Luciana from the Hotel who arranged the Hotel did a splendid job, and the staff at the Beach Club were excellent. The Food was out of this world.
I could not fault the Hotel, but with one exception when we had lunch by the pool, we tried to find somebody to pay but all the staff were busy and not around at the time. When we came to check out we were presented with a bill for the meal we had round the pool, which was fine except it was not for the food we had. We tried to explain it wasnt our bill but in the end paid it, it wasnt worth the hassle. But other than that incident we could not fault the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    411
    195
    76
    37
See reviews for
117
531
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Only big problem about this hotel is the size of the swimming pool compared to the size of the hotel. 350 rooms and only 85 sunbeds so unless you are up for 9.00am you can forget about lying by the pool, there was not a sunbed to be had at this time and the staff are helpless to do anything about it. They say that you cannot reserve a sunbed but there are no signs up to say this and no one tells the guests this. Free bus to the beach was a plus and the sunbeds there were free and we had no problem getting 5 beds everyday!! So if you hate the beach don't bother going here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed here for a week in August 2011. Overall the hotel was very nice although it is spread over several buildings and can take a little while to find your bearings. Our room was in Block E and was clean and tidy and came with the double bed we had requested. The room had a small blacony, air conditioning and a small fridge with enough room to keep small bottles of water and some snacks. We booked bed & breakfast and were very happy with the buffet breakfast which had a wide selection of choices. The pool area of the hotel is nice although as mentioned by previous reviewers is a little small for the size of the hotel which meant it was usually busy. The pool bar offered nice snacks but we did not try any of the other restaurants in the hotel as there was such a wide choice available in town. The beach club was also nice and the sun loungers on the beach free to use for hotel guests. The hotel provides free beach towels which can be changed every other day and a shuttle bus service to the beach club, although it isn't too far to walk.

The hotel is ideally situated in the centre of Lagos and is only a short walk away from the town centre and marina which both have plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from. Overall we had a excellent stay here and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Just back from a lovely week in this 4 star hotel. The location couldn't be better with restaurants, shops, beaches and the marina within easy walking distance. The only moment of doubt came when we arrived late at night and found our room a bit old and bare for a 4 star hotel also with twin beds instead of a double. Thankfully we didn't ask to change room as it really grew on us. It was overlooking the pool and had everything we wanted. The cleaning staff were fantastic. the hotel is understated, quiet and the breakfasts are perfect, both hot and cold buffet always plentiful, no running out of eggs just when you re about to help yourself. Well done to the staff, always efficient, helpful and courteous.
The bus to the beach was great especially on the first day when we hadn't got our bearings and were tired.We walked back, a lovely long walk along the beach and into the marina. We crossed by a footbridge but later discovered a small ferry for walkers. The beach at the top of the prom was great for sailing equipment etc and lunch there overlooking the sea in the surf club was excellent value. Eating out in lagos was a real pleasure with really good quality fresh food at great prices. A good dinner for 2 with a bottle of decent wine was about 50euro.
We were really glad we had our sat nav as I think it would have been hard to find the hotel without it.

Room Tip: The hotel is made up of different building, some older than others. We found out later that they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed at the Tivoli for 3 nights for the bank holiday weekend, and what a fabulous weekend we had. Firstly - for what we paid we were very impressed. We upgraded to the superior room which was well worth it. It was big, comfy bed, large bathroom and balcony looking over the port. Yes I agree the decor is a little dated - but it is Portuguese style. If you want a ultra modern interior, then you will need to go 5 star, no doubt about it. The staff were so helpful and friendly. We only ate around the pool once and it was fab food and not over priced. The breakfast was good - I have no idea why people did not like it. Good variety of hot and cold.Happy hour at the bar was fun also, with live entertainment every night and great cocktails! The bus to their private beach was a nice touch, and you get free sunshades, which you need!! The only thing I did not like was the barking dog that lives in a small house next to the hotel, it woke us up all nights!!!!! Overall, our stay in Lagos was great and the Tivoli hotel is what made it so special. Thank you :)

Room Tip: Upgrade to superior room with balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed there for 5 days and the staff was always ok. The hotel is pet friendly, although I paid €40 for his stay, a bit too expensive. The hotel is very large and is kind of like a maze, which can be fun - or not. Hotel needs serious improvements... quite noisy and looks old from the inside.
Food was ok, the private bus for the Luna beach club also needs a substitute.

Overall, I found it not worthy the cost I payed for the stay.

No bad experiences, but we might not be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks in August 2011 and we would definately stay at this hotel again. Our room was huge and had its own courtyard garden (room 47) Breakfast was very nice and was lots to choose from. The pool area was lovely too but probably a little small for the size of the hotel, but lots go to the beach and use the free beds there. There is no childrens entertainment at the hotel but our 7 year old was fine with that and there were a few children she played with during our stay. We stayed B&B because there are loads of lovely restaurants in the town a short walk away to eat. In the marina there are lots of trips to choose from and we went on the dolphin safari with Bom Dia and was fabulous. Was worried when I had read previous reviews about the hotel being dirty and smelly which is totally untrue. Lovely hotel and staff ......Great Holiday :)

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Lagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Lagos Hotel

Address: Rua Antonio Crisogono Dos Santos, Lagos 8600-678, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#12 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Lagos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its privileged location in the very centre of Lagos, this 4 star hotel in the Algarve is a real reflection of local culture, from the decoration by Maria Jose Salavisa to the white and blue walkways which connect the rooms, patios, restaurants and bar. To make sure that you enjoy your stay even more, the Tivoli Lagos provides a free shuttle to the Duna Beach Club offering fun and entertainment for both adults and children. On the long white beach at Meia Praia, the Duna Bar provides the backdrop for numerous parties, banquets and even beach weddings. Just a short walk from lots of entertainment options in the centre and the marina and just a few kilometres from the best golf courses in the Algarve, this friendly and welcoming beach resort in the Algarve is an excellent option for meetings and events, as well as for great getaway weekends and family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Lagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Lagos
Lagos Tivoli Hotel
Hotel Tivoli Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Lagos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.