We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a once in a lifetime experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barlavento Balloons

Barlavento Balloons
Nossa Senhora dos Aflitos, EN 125 | Aerodrome of Lagos, Lagos, Portugal
+ 351 914 532 300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 40 activities in Lagos
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: By riding the winds of the barrocal valleys in the western Algarve or the warmer breezes of the rolling hills of the Baixo Alentejo , our colourful balloons will float over breathtaking views. With no ties, no destination and no time limitations Barlavento Balloons has the pleasure in sharing this serene experience. Whether a birthday, anniversary, important occasion or even a “must do” … we promise all our passengers a wonderful time!
Portimao
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a once in a lifetime experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

A great trip to enjoy the beauty of the Algarve in a very different way! What a great scenery... Flying with Helena is pure fun: she is passionate about balloon flying, enjoys challenges (landing on a golf course :-) ) and the 4 persons basket makes it a very personal experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable experience - breathtaking views - great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband and I took our two grandchildren on this unique trip. Helena and the team were charming. The balloon capacity was small - but this made it more fun. We set off just after dawn . It was wonderful seeing the Alvor estuary and the Lagos coastline. We sat down to have a late breakfast after landing. Something the children will never forget.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Riding the skies - totally memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Looking for something different for that special occasion - this is definitely it. Helena, our very competent pilot, was very adept at perceiving how involved or not we wanted to be in the whole ballooning experience. Assuring all passengers at all times, it was amazing how quickly we rose to 3000 feet, a rather intimidating thought. All in all a memorable experience.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you're in the Algarve, don't miss out on this !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Now we have done more than one balloon flight in our lifes, but this one stands out for it's charm, the beauty of the scenery and the whole setting. Our pilot was Helena, and she had so much enthousiasm that we felt like she was having a day out with friends!
We flew high and low and saw the beach, the mountains while people down on the ground waved at us...
Definitely a must-do when you are in Algarve.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algarve
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“an unforgettable day! Great memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

This is a wonderful way to enjoy the experience of taking a balloon flight and to see the Algarve all at the same time. Although it was my first trip I was not nervous as Helena Sá our Pilot is such a professional, competent and easy going lady who just oozes her love of hot air ballooning. The ground crew were also really friendly and equally keen to make sure we had a great time. The balloon is small (3 passengers) so you have the benefit of Helenas information about ballooning and about the Algarve all through the trip. You need to allow at least three hours so check with the staff in advance if you have time restrictions. Helena speaks English, oPrtuguese and German so it is very easy to call her if you have any queries. My only advice to anyone planning to do this trip while on holidays on the Algarve is to book as soon as you arrive as the flight is weather dependent and you really do not want to miss such a great experience.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barlavento Balloons also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Barlavento Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barlavento Balloons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barlavento Balloons to your Saves list