We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Giovanni

Don Giovanni
Rua 25 de Abril, 83, Lagos, Portugal
282 763 922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 294 Restaurants in Lagos
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Luz
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The food isn’t Italian or Portuguese but is good the staff are friendly and helpful I’m not sure about the state of the kitchen but don’t be put off just try it and enjoy or otherwise we will return later in the year

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Varese
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service, fake italian cuisine, it's just about design”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's nice from time to time to bounce on a well furnished location to have dinner in. Well, me and my girlfriend are italian but, trust me, we are not the kind of "non-tourist" that look for italian food outside the country. Traveling is also about tasting new food and discovering cultures through it. Anyhow that day when we found D Giovanni we were simply tired and starving. We popped in this restaurant without even noticing it was italian (or at least pretended to be). The attractive thing was mainly the good looking design. Well, it didn't take long by flipping the menu's pages to recognize it was all about fake italian cuisine. The name of dishes misspelled wanted to recall something from the relatively close country. No way. All average items. Everything, as usual, far overpriced including the local wines that we had in some other nicer places in Portugal for much less (even in the touristic Algarve and in Lagos itself). How about the service? Well, it seemed to bother the waiters just because we were there. No smiles no extra words, not even a glance while speaking. There was something else to see around. Everything but the customers. It came the food and nothing went better. A poor quality. Not only the name were misspelled but the dishes were wrong cooked as well. What a disaster.
If you'd like to throw away some quids get there... and, by the way, the owners got some other fake "original" cuisine restaurants in Lagos. Be aware of these food scam. There are many genuine Portuguese restaurant that will be happy to welcome and delight you with the best Algarve has to offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Popular spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very tasty food, well cooked and presented. We found service to be fine, think because with 2 children we tend to eat a bit earlier than the masses. Queue was out the door when we were leaving. Worth a visit, but go early!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Good food, good price, poor service
There were large queues waiting, no communication as to how long the wait would be ,,, when we were eventually seated, the service was gruff, but the food was good.
Would not go back. waited over half an hour to be seated. if we had have been told this we would have gone elsewhere and come back another time

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food for a small price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The food here was great, there was plenty of different foods to choose from on the menu and it was served relatively quick. We both really liked our meals and it was nice to break up eating Portuguese food with some Italian. It was one of my favorite restaurants of our week long stay in Lagos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Giovanni also viewed

 
Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.