We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Lagos Meia Praia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Yellow Lagos Meia Praia to your Saves list
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada da Meia Praia, Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Lagos
Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday to Lagos staying in the Yellow Hotel. The hotel is amazing and very clean, the staff are extremely helpful, especially the bar staff, receptionists and pool assistants. There are just two things that you may need to consider when booking this hotel;

1. the hotel is located at least a 30 minute walk to Lagos town, trains and buses are infrequent so be prepared to walk, however taxis can be booked at the reception and cost around 7euros one way. In addition there is only a small shop (on the side of someone's house) which does not stock a huge amount of products. The shop in the hotel is very small and does not contain a wide variety of anything other than wine, newspapers and magazines, sun-cream and a few souvenirs. The hotel shop is only open till 12pm and then for an hour between 6:30-7:30pm. Therefore there is a real lack of convenience stores in and around the hotel.

2. we stayed half board in the hotel, the breakfast was good with a wide variety of food. The evening meal however lacked any matching of foods, therefore making up a proper meal was hard. However the food served was a good quality. The Italian restaurant onsite can be booked for a swap from the buffet restaurant which is nice.

Overall the hotel and its staff are fantastic, the hotel is reasonably new, if there was amendment to a few things this hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    267
    102
    26
    13
See reviews for
37
614
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I do not normally write reviews but in this case, I feel I must as this beautiful hotel is definitely missing an opportunity to really be 5*:
First of all I want to say that the Thomson reps (Arleen and Martin) were excellent and very helpful throughout.
The hotel is new to Thomson for 2013. It is also a new hotel, just 3 years old.
1. The hotel decor, rooms and pool areas are excellent and cannot be faulted. However...
2. The food is the big let down - breakfast is ok but dinner (B&B and half board available) had lack of choice and poor replenishment when items ran out. The hotel also did not cater for special dietary needs - even vegetarians had difficulty in selecting an interesting meal! Lunches, if bought at the hotel were expensive with poor choice (al fresco and pool bar).
3. The hotel is located a few miles form the town of Lagos. There is a local bus service (100 metres walk) and train service (quarter mile walk) but the services are infrequent. Maybe the hotel (classified as 5*) should consider a courtesy bus for residents, as offered in many other 5* hotels.
4. The space within the hotel is not used well. There are several restaurant areas but most of them are not used and could offer specislist dining experiences - Portuguese/Morrocan/etc. There is one a la carte restaurnat but it is pricey and can only cater for a small number of diners at any time. The outside area by the lower pool could be used on some evenings for barbecues as it is a dead area after 5pm.
5. Overall we enjoyed our holiday, the reps were excellent, the trip we bought was excellent value, our room was lovely and we like Lagos (our 2nd time there). We enjoyed eating in the local restaurants (some evenings) and beach bars (lunch times). We met some lovely people during our stay of 11 nights. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly and the rooms and public areas were beautiful and well cleaned. However, we were overcharged for items on two occasions - in the pool bar and on our final bill (rectified by reception staff - so check your bills!)
6. I would use Thomson again and I would re-visit Lagos but not at this hotel as it currently stands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

An oasis of tranquility, attentive, competent and very friendly staff, fantastic views, located in an unspoiled part of Lagos, no hypermarkets, no "Red Lion authentic pub" nearby! The major attraction, for me, was the opportunity to enjoy a peaceful and stress free week in pampered style in beautiful surroundings. Food was excellent, wide range of choice at breakfast and dinner. Lunch of wonderful fish dishes, at one of the unique beach bars or a short trip into Lagos. The facilities were 5 star, rooms luxurious, bedding replaced daily, pool rooms with Cabanas particularly nice touch, always enough sun loungers and if not the staff would bring out more. Only issues, Browns the a la carte, was empty and lacked atmosphere, this strange habit of placing towels on sun loungers seems to have become a British national pass time!

Room Tip: front facing 5th floor rooms have spectacular views, 2nd floor pool rooms have cabana beds and you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Situated adjacent to a great wide beach , this hotel with its fantastic rooms most with sea , or pool views is a for relaxing holidays . The public areas bars , pool , gardens are very well kept & appointed .The food is good for the overall price the majority of clients have paid via Thomson , Drinks are always a little more expensive in Hotels they are not that bad .
In regards to the comments from postings about the position read the brochure its not that far to walk into Lagos , catch the council public transport or hire a taxi .
This a real value money hotel , mainly occupied by Thomson clients , with in mind when booking you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

In our opinion, this was an great modern hotel in a wonderful setting with lovely, if generally untrained, staff.
Overlooking the sea with interesting walks to the left (towards Alvor) & right (into Lagos town/marina), which suited us perfectly.
Beach bars, Buses & trains were nearby too.
We had a good holiday but would we recommend this hotel?
NO! Not until the owners sort out the dining experience.
Breakfast was acceptable, apart from the toaster, tea & coffee systems but dinner certainly was not.
Hamburgers as the only hot meat in a 5 star restaurant? I don't think so!
Thomsons didn't think so either & promptly offered compensation to their clients staying at the same time as ourselves.
We hope they get it right because we would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I had a great time at this fantastic hotel. The staff are great, very attentive. Extremely high standard of cleanliness. The food was lovely, great selection and choice. Lovely to be able to chill by the pool with pleanty of sunbeds. Indoor pool nice and warm. We booked through Thomson and had a great rep on site too. Definitely reccommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel was 5 star, the variety of food was only 3 star. Each day there was only one choice of potato and only a choice of two vegetables.
The rooms were beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. It was a pity about the choice of food.
The view from the bedroom was stunning. The cost of bottled water was very costly.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellow Lagos Meia Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Lagos Meia Praia

Address: Estrada da Meia Praia, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Yellow Lagos Meia Praia 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From 2013 "Adults Only" concept ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Yellow Lagos Meia Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellow Lagos Meia Praia Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Lagos Meia Praia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.