We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited Space / Animals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Zoologico de Lagos

Parque Zoologico de Lagos
Quinta Figueiras - Sitio do Medronhal | Barão de São João, Lagos 8600, Portugal
(+351) 282 680 100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 74 things to do in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Limited Space / Animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Massively out of Lagos - need a car or taxi to get there. The bus service certainly in the winter is very limited.

Mostly birds, no big cats or larger animals but have done a lot in the small space they have. Must visit the Childrens Zoo - the goats are certainly a very friendly especially if you feed them! We saw a new born guinea pig and a pair of rabbits that were clearly in love but separated for obvious reasons!

The Christmas offer was 8 Euros for entrance but normal price is 14 Euros - definitely would have been disappiointed if I'd paid the higher amount!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    131
    29
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Small but nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The primate exhibits, especially the islands, were spectacular. I felt some of the aviaries might have been a bit bigger. It was a very pleasant afternoon out with plenty of places to sit quietly and watch the animals' antics - especially the Gibbons and Capuchins. The fact that they were behaving in perfectly natural ways suggested they were well fed, happy, and had plenty of space to allow them freedom of movement.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely small zoo.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was actually pleasantly surprised by this zoo, I thought it was going to be very small but it was bigger than I imagined. Don't go expecting Elephants and giraffes this is more about birds and small primates. It was a good afternoon out in pleasant surroundings. We ate in the snack bar which was surprisingly tasty and well cooked for burgers and hotdogs etc.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for children and parents”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Surprisingly nice and quite large, well kept and healthy animals, lovely petting zoo for the little ones

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo in Lagos with Lemurs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful time visiting the zoo. Animals have space to move and the exhibits are clean and inviting to visitors. The highlights are the lemurs, flying foxes, gibbons, and capuchin monkeys. I don't usually go to zoos because it's depressing to see animals crammed in small spaces, but that's not the case with zoo Lagos.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Zoologico de Lagos also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Parque Zoologico de Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parque Zoologico de Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.