We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Galeao

O Galeao
Rua da Laranjeira, 1, Lagos 8600 697, Portugal
00351 282 763 909
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 307 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Romford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We fell upon this restaurant on our first night in lagos and it set us off on a wonderful start! It has a traditional feel to it and you can tell it has been established for a long time. 5 of us were lucky to be seated with many people turned away after us. The food was great quality with everyone really happy with their meals and their recommended wine complimented food perfectly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    27
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is my favourite restaurant in Lagos, our 4th year visiting & we eat here at least 4 times on our holiday. We are always greeted by Tiago in his usual gentle manner, our kids love him and are always treated and looked after so well by him and his staff. I can't fault this restaurant, you could pick anything from the menu and it would be top class, never disappointed! Love their sole fillets, seafood gratin & king prawns, kids get 'proper' dinners with potatoes & veg and 'kid-size' portions are not a problem! Top desert has to be Crepes Cocacabana! Ambience is old-style but you know you're in a good restaurant. The 2 chefs work in total harmony and can be viewed from your table. The place is spotless and immaculate, including the bathrooms! It is always a real pleasure and highlight to visit this truly georgous Portugese restaurant.
Can't recommend it enough!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The service is very old fashioned and respectful.
The food this year when we went was very good, the steak I had was one of the best I have had anywhere.
we have been previous years and try many different restaurants in Lagos but I think this is in my top three.
It is also very reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

When in Lagos I have eaten in O Galeao on a number of occasions and its always been excellent.
A little off the main square area, it takes a little searching out, but its worth it.
The kitchen can be viewed from your table and its interesting to watch the chefs work in harmony with no rush or fuss.
The waiting staff are cheerful and pleasant.
The food is always of a high standard, I had Lamb, which was excellent and the Pepper steak was also very good.
For desert you have to try Pancake Copacabana !!!!.... a delight...
O Galeao is always a pleasure to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fab food, good service and great value. Would also recommend the bar next door with the horsehoe shaped bar - with same name but apparently not part of the same business.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Galeao also viewed

 

Been to O Galeao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Galeao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.