We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Lagos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Pintor - Gourmet & Bistro

Casa do Pintor - Gourmet & Bistro
Largo Santa Maria da Graca, 15, Lagos 8600-518, Portugal
917334398
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 307 Restaurants in Lagos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $46
Cuisines: French, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open for Dinner Everyday.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Lovely place with good 'trilogie' options for you to try multiple flavours. We had the scallops (favourite), the cod (also amazing), and the salmon tartare (outstanding). Alex, the manager, was very helpful with his suggestions. Avoid the bread, not because it was bad, it wasn't, it's just that the rest of the food is so much better and you'd rather get full on the food and dessert.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    49
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Decided to try this French restaurant on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews. It's a tiny place near the old town walls and the fire station, but easily within walking distance of the main square, shops and cafés.
The waiter greeted us with a friendly welcome and was most helpful throughout the evening.
I had very good salmon tartare with fresh beetroot, avocado and dill and the smell of the fresh herb was wonderful. My husband was totally bowled over with his scallop starter. I tried some and it really was , without a doubt, the best scallop dish we've ever had- perfection on a plate! Mains were lamb and steak, both excellent. All dishes were beautifully presented.
We shared dessert- Death by Chocolate- the most wonderful chocolate soufflé with ice cream .
If I had the scallops and the dessert as my last meal on earth I would die very happy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a find! A must if you're in Lagos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

After reading the great reviews of this place, we made a reservation (highly recommended to avoid disappointment) and couldn't have wished for a nicer meal. The waiter was incredibly welcoming and knowledgable about the menu he created (as it is a family-run restuarant). The food was exquisite. Local wine was delicious. Service was professional and warm. To be fair, it's possibly a bit pricier than the other eateries available, but well worth the extra (which is still not that expensive)

A definite must if you're visiting Lagos - if we're ever back we will definitely be stopping here again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow wow wowzers.. French delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The best meal we've had for a long time. A little out of the way of the centre but knpy by 5 minutes. However I think that its location allows the restaurant to concentrate on perfection with only a few tables to offer.

Alex the owner was the best host and was extremely helpful with my families dairy and nut intolerances.

A pleasure to have experienced and id recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“excellence in a hidden corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed in Lagos in September 2013 and I found this quaint little restaurant after two nights. We had not booked but the owner said he would see what he could do and to our surprise he came back and told us he would fit us in. We chatted with him and he told us his name was Alex and he helped us choose from the menu. The food was French and it was divine especially the chocolate parfait for dessert .In fact it was so good we booked for a second night and it did not disappoint. It was a little expensive but the ambience the food and Alexs help and advice were second to none .I cant recommend it high enough. If you want a romantic and special night out then make your way here and see if I lie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa do Pintor - Gourmet & Bistro also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Casa do Pintor - Gourmet & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Pintor - Gourmet & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.