We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, but a few tweaks needed...!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Lagos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Lagos to your Saves list
Vila Gale Lagos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada da Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Lagos
Plymouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but a few tweaks needed...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are spacious, clean and modern with good A/C and flat screen TV's. The bathrooms are also well appointed. Rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels.

The restaurant is the usual buffet type scrum unless you get there before 0830 in the morning and before 2000 at night. We stayed for 14 days on an All Inclusive basis and for the first 9 days we couldn't fault the food - good choice, hot, plentiful and tasty, however on the 10th day it seemed to fall off the edge of a cliff with nothing but stew based dishes, no tuna for salads, pasta etc. Also, they don't make the best use of the open grill, with no omelettes in the morning and no steaks, chops etc at night.

We ate lunch mostly at the pool bar which is fine with a basic sandwich and salad menu. However, beware if you are on AI as not everything is included - we didn't get a list when we checked in and just assumed that it was everything including drinks - this is not the case. The steak sandwich, club sandwich and hot dog are not included nor are most of the salads. Bloody Mary's, branded spirits etc are also not included. This did mean I got into a heated discussion with one of the bar staff which was quickly resolved by one of the managers who are excellent by the way and very visible.

Sun beds are plentiful as are umbrellas and there is no rush to book your bed as you can't! The pool guys will lift your towels if you try to reserve, this is great as this is one aspect of a holiday that I dread - the morning scrap with the Germans!

The weather is fab and the temperature just right with a good breeze - very strong most afternoons. Close to the beach too if that tickles your fancy.

Pool towels are provided by reception. There is free wifi access there too.

All in all it was a good hotel. I do believe that this was the first year they have gone AI, if they want to continue in this vein then everything needs to be in - as it is in the Caribbean. Staff are excellent, notable mentions are the twins Mariana and Patricia. Rui in the restaurant and Malfada at the pool bar. Also the two managers - they will do all they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. I wish more service industry staff in this country worked as hard as these guys and took the same amount of pride in their jobs!

Thank you. We will be back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    225
    60
    12
    4
See reviews for
203
230
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

It was our first visit to Portugal and the hotel and the area we chose couldn't have been better. The hotel was excellent in all aspects: Food, service, cleanliness and location. It was a very modern hotel with good taste in decor. Our room was very spacious, the bed comfortable and everything was in perfect working order in the bathroom. The pool was the best ever; stylish, large and refreshingly cool after baking in the sun. ALL the staff were very good, friendly and extremely efficient. The beach was 5 minutes walk away which we visited each evening after dinner, enjoying drinks at a couple of the beach bars nearby before heading back to the hotel. The town was about a 15 minute walk away. There is a lovely marina there and the shops were ok too. This is one hotel we would definitely go back to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Well here goes the review.

We stayed at Vila Gale for 3 nights (26th July to 30th July 2012)

The hotel looked modern and clean.
The main reception area was spacious but found the reception staff a little bit slow and took ages to sort out other customers. Think they needed to have more staff on reception at busier periods of time.
Our room was cleaned everyday and we were given fresh towels too which was great.
The room was a decent size with plenty of storage for our clothing. Plus a free safe in the room which was useful.

We went all-inclusive during our stay.
The breakfast was a buffet selection. Range of food for breakfast was good and tasted ok. The pancakes were very popular. Had to queue if you wanted any. Think they perhaps they didn't expect the pancakes to be such a hit.
We suggest going for breakfast between 7.30am to 8.30am...anytime after that you will be joining in a loooooong queue waiting to actually get seated.

Lunch times we chose to make the most of the pool bar and ate the snacks that they provided which we enjoyed. Recommend the toasties and baguettes, they were nice.
We took full advantage of the ice cream selection. Branded ice creams such as nestle. However, a family we spoke to mentioned that the bar staff kept changing what ice creams were part of all inclusive and which were not. We didn't have this problem, they just said to us all ice creams are included, take your pick.

The selection of drinks were good. There were a range of fizzy drinks and cocktails that my hubby and I enjoyed. We made sure we stocked up on the bottled water that was included too.

We were very impressed with the service of the bar staff. They were very welcoming and made sure that we were served quickly. During some of the lunch periods they were inundated with orders which meant they took ages to serve customers who just wanted a drink. Other than that the pool bar was fantastic.

Dinner time we were highly unimpressed with. We suggest going for dinner later rather than earlier to avoid the families and noise unless you are going as a family and prefer to eat earlier.
We found that the buffet selection was not good. There seemed to be a mish-mash of food that never seemed to make a proper meal. It was constantly busy and we found that we got pushed around by other holiday-goers. Quite rude some of them!

The waiters in the restaurant need to pay more attention to the diners. They were more interested in clearing tables and getting them set down. We waited 20mins before one of them realized that we had not been offered any drinks. Also my husband was not very impressed as at one point a waiter came over while he was finishing off a croissant and just took his plate away while still eating. Too keen to clean!

One advantage about dinner is that there are tables outside. We chose to eat outside after experiencing eating inside. It was lovely and quiet and we were able to talk to one another without raising our voices.

One thing we did not like was that the pool was very cold and we could not stay in there for long. It was nice to cool off after sunbathing but not pleasant. Perhaps being a few degrees warmer would be better.

In the mornings the pool attendants would walk around the poolside and remove any towels that had been left on the sun beds to reserve them. This was good to see.

The hotel was near to the beach. About a 10/20min walk. The beach was beautiful. We walked to the beach most days. The sea was clear and the beach clean.
We did notice that it was quite windy which did not help when taking a plunge into the pool or sea making us feel frozen! haha!

The supermarket was about a 20min walk from the hotel. We did not mind walking there as it gave us a chance to look round and explore. However, there is not a lot to do in Lagos. The area around the hotel seemed to be fairly derelict.
We also noticed that there were quite a few nasty smells around the area. Opening our balcony door every morning to be greeted by the smell of sewage was not nice at all! Yuck!

We found our bed uncomfortable and the lighting in our room dim. The corridors and stair wells were poorly lite too. Maybe the hotel have purposely done this to keep the electric bill down? Or to save energy?
Our shower in the bathroom often lost power and went from cold to boiling hot, so beware of this.
The walls seemed to be paper thin. I was in the bathroom doing my make up and heard the conversation of the people in the room next to us. So yeah...be careful about sound levels! ;)

My husband did not like the bathroom door. It was a sliding door like for a cupboard and did not really allow for you to have much privacy. (toilet sounds that you do not want the other to hear! haha!!!)

So overall, I dont think we would go back to this hotel.
We would say that this hotel is more for families not couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed at Vila Gale for 3 nights on a girls trip to Lagos. There were 3 of us in a room and they were able to accommodate us by putting a roll away bed in the room (for an additional cost, of course) and the bed was quite comfy.

Nice, modern, spacious rooms. It is true that there are weird model mannequins everywhere but we grew fond of them. The breakfast was pretty good given the amount of people that went through there every morning. We left full and happy although I wouldn't consider doing the all-inclusive meal plan. There are too many great restaurants in town. It is way more of a family hotel than we expected... and we are still not sure where the young adults that come on holiday in Lagos stay. The pool is nice (and the water aerobics they have in the morning is entertaining). The distance to the main beach (Meia Praia) can't be beat. Although that beach can be very windy and we found some of the smaller beaches on the other side of town much more enjoyable (Camilo beach is beautiful!)

Distance to town is both good and bad. It is almost a little too far to walk, but a little too close to cab. We compromised and walked in the daytime and cabbed it at night.

Something helpful to know beforehand is that they don't provide hair conditioner or lotion in the room. I don't consider myself high maintenance, but after 3 days at the beach in the sun, any normal woman needs post sun hydration/conditioning! We ended up buying some in town (or you can buy it at the hotel gift store for 4 times the price). Also, the in-room blow dryers are worthless. Again, not a deal breaker, but just something to consider if that is something you are expecting.

Overall, I felt our experience as a whole was pretty great. I would stay there again as well as recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Worth it to pay a little extra to get the sea view, non-ground floor (they open up right onto the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed here 23rd July to 2nd August with my partner and 6 year old boy. Amazingly clean and beautiful hotel with beautiful rooms, bathrooms public areas etc. People have mentioned about noise being heard due to thin walls, but we heard nothing our whole stay that was loud. Huge balcony on each room was wonderful too, great wardrobe space and a safe and fridge that you didnt have to mess about with paying for, which is a massive plus as I do think its annoying having to pay for these items in other hotels I have stayed at. Pool was fantastic with loungers available all the time, and they are good quality too. Amazing for the kids and areas for football, volleyball, a kids playground, golf, tennis etc also FREE diving lessons by the diving centre based in there too. The grounds are fantastic and you can go through a secure gate at the bottom and just walk across the road to a beautiful beach. We went all inclusive, mainly due to having a child (drinks/ice creams etc), but the drinks and food were fantastic here, something for everyone. The snack bar also does great snacks in way of sandwiches/toasties/soup etc in the day time. The staff were all very friendly and extremely welcoming and pleasant. The only little downfall perhaps would be the evening entertainment. We did do karaoke one night which was good fun, but to be honest we do like to take a walk down to the Marina or into town at night anyway as it only takes 15 minutes to walk to the Marina, then 5 minutes walking over the Marina Bridge into the town of Lagos. All in all cannot fault anything at all about this hotel and all its facilities. Will definitely be going back here if I go to Portugal in the future.

Room Tip: People have previously mentioned noise levels, but we were on the 3rd floor (top) and heard nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

just great hotel with great hotel modern as well clean tidy and modern and very good as well pool was exellent and very well thought olf resturant great and good food library good bar good staff friendly nice hotel easy parking

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very good place nier Lagos, the best beach,beautiful views. Polite, friendly staff; clean; great pool; close to town; good food, although not very different. Good working animation team, every evening the bar is a different program.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Lagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Lagos

Address: Estrada da Meia Praia, Lagos 8600-315, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lagos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#6 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Lagos 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the beach front, along the sandy Meia Praia beach. It is the new reference point on the Western Algarve Coast. The closest train station is about 1.5 km away and Faro Airport is about 85 km away from the hotel. Occupying an 85-thousand square metre area, the building faces the ocean and allows for an optimised view from the hotel's rooms. There are 168 guest rooms in total. The premises are air-conditioned and guests are welcomed in a lobby with 24-hour reception and 24-hour check-out services. Facilities at the beach hotel include lift access, a hotel safe, TV lounge, children's playground, children's club, bar and a restaurant. As far as business activities and conventions are concerned, the facilities have a large convention centre which is 1100 m² in size and wireless Internet access is available for a fee. Guests can take advantage of the hotel's room and laundry services (the latter for a fee) and leave their vehicles in the car park or garage (the latter incurs an additional fee). The hotel offers its guests spacious and comfortable rooms with LCD TV with national and international channels with access to a film menu providing entertainment and information. For guests' convenience, there is a lounge area with a table and work desk with a wireless Internet connection for laptops (for an additional cost), minibar, radio and electronic safety lock. The en suite bathroom has a shower, bath, hairdryer and toiletry kit. Individually regulated air conditioning and individually regulated heating are provided. Private balconies for enjoying views of the hotel's surrounding areas also come as standard. Guests can take a refreshing dip in the hotel's swimming pool where there is also a children's swimming area, poolside snack bar, and sun loungers and parasols available on the sun terrace. This hotel offers guests all the comforts of a real resort. Located in front of the beach, they can enjoy either the swimming pool or the beach. Guests can also unwind in our Spa, Satsanga, with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and it offers a spa where guests can pamper themselves with a massage or spa treatment (extra fees apply). There are also 3 tennis courts, pool/snooker, bowling and golf as well (all for extra fees). Moreover, the hotel organises an entertainment programme for children. Breakfast and dinner may be chosen from a wide breakfast buffet. Lunch and dinner can also be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Lagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Lagos Hotel Lagos
Vila Gale Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Lagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.