We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exelent customer service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta Do Mar Da Luz

Save Saved
You added Quinta Do Mar Da Luz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
Sitio Cama da Vaca, Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 54 hotels in Lagos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exelent customer service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 7 nights, arrived around 1am found reception was closed but we were delayed we found our key in an envelope outside the reception which was a little odd but non the less we found our room Our room was supposed to be a double (for a couple) but found two large single beds pushed together this wasn't a problem really just abit uncomfortable, went to reception around 10am the following morning to check in and get a safe key for the in room safe (both a electronic or key lock safe) no deposit required, we were taken for breakfast by one of the employees and told the price will be charged on check out. The Manager was a really friendly lady who drove us to Luz on several occasions as we did not have a car and would go out of her way to make us a comfortable as possible, from booking tables at Gusto a restaurant down the road to ringing the transfer company to confirm our pick up she gave us free water when ever we needed it and was very knowledgeable of the area. Rooms were cleaned everyday except Sunday. It was quiet and beautiful and a great Holiday and I look forward to returning maybe next time in season!

Room Tip: The 808, 806, 807 have a fantastic coastal sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
49
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found this little gem through a friend who invited us to their wedding which was taking place in a villa nearby. On arrival we were greeted with very friendly staff and once checked in we were provided with a Cheese and Ham Platter and a bottle of wine. The hotel is so peace full and relaxing after only staying 4days it felt like we had been there for a lot longer. Every morning there was a wonderful breakfast varying from cooked to continental there is something for everyone and it was so fresh every day. The Rooms were clean and beautifully decorated each one with their own theme I could not fault it at all. We hadn’t hired a car so relied on Taxis to get to the main town, they weren’t that dear to be honest (I was a little worried after reading on trip advisor about pricing of them) and we walked in to the local town Burgau which took 30mins along the coast which had breath taking sights. I would hire a car next time so we could venture further in to the Portuguese country side but for the 10day break we had we did not feel stuck in the same place at all.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to relax out of the busy towns and would like a romantic getaway we will be back definitely if not more than once a year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here off the back of trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The apartments are set out beautifully with quaint plant edged paths in between. Lady in charge is a real gem, Nothing was too much trouble and she spoke many languages very well. We didn't hire a car and were B&B only, so the only thing we found tricky was that the resort didn't have any restaurants 'next door'. Not too big an issue though as we were happy to have an earlier evening meal and enjoy the 30 min walk back along the coastal path from Burgau whilst it was still light, or get a taxi from Praia de Luz. Nicely decorated, clean rooms and a wonderful selection at breakfast. Highly recommended. Did a jeep safari and canoe trip, and a (long) one day trip to Lisbon (2 day is recommended). The tour companies are usually happy to pick up from the resort. Thoroughly enjoyable week in Portugal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Going in the hotel was a last minute decision, but I have no regrets at all.
This is a great romantic hotel with very friendly staff in a very quiet spot.
We had a very spacious and cosy double room with ocean view from the bed. Our balcony was right above the swimming pool.
The breakfast is at a terrace with ocean view as well. The whole complex is covered with beautiful trees and flowers.
The owner was extreme friendly and gave us lots of insider tips during our stay.
A great three star hotel with four star potential.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wetherby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

It really is stretching too far to call this four star. Reception opens at 9am & is a quaint little hut with bar attached. The exception is the 4* excellent breakfast hut with freshly baked choices. There are no other central buildings. The bedrooms/apartments are clean & secluded; spread around several acres of lovely gardens; BUT almost all (including ours) looked very tired & in need of refurbishment. Typically they featured old-fashioned air conditioning & old mozzie window screens with gaps! There is a separate small new area (furthest from the sea) to which we did not have access, a handful of newer apartments with modern sliding terrace doors/windows & 3 adequate pools spread around the site. The few reception staff could not be more friendly & if it were 2/3 star it would be acceptable - if still needing a refurb - but not 4 star!!
As long as you a) have a car or b) enjoy (infrequent) buses/a half hour walk - which we do - Burgau is great for a quiet village/beach atmosphere with plenty of choice for quiet food & drink. There is a "reluctant" courtesy bus (you feel they are doing you a big favour to use it!). You are encouraged to get a taxi back (around £5).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We paid 75 Eur for an apartment with two (!) identical bathrooms incl. bath tub, spacious bedroom, fully equipped kitchen and two TV's. The terrace was looking out to the pool. We found the apartment tidy and everything in perfect condition. Breakfast was plentiful and always replenished on time. You have got the choice between cakes and pastries (a whole table full), different breads, jams, fruits and vegetables, meat, cheese, yoghurts, hot and cold drinks, dried fruit and cereals. The staff were helpful and friendly. You can bring your computer to the reception or use theirs for a small fee. The reception area also has a little bar, books, games and plenty of seating inside and outside. You will also find useful travel advice that comes in chunky folders. The reception area is a nice place to hang out.

The only downside to this popular destination is that Quinta Do Mar puts emphasis is on catering for the German tourists. You will find signs in German everywhere, most travel advice is provided in German and be prepared to be chatted up by other travellers in German as they assume you speak their language.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We are totally satisfied with this hotel. It is not the cheapest but it's worth each cent.

We had booked the Suite Junior, which was in the new area of the hotel site. In front of the room was a very big terrace which was separated from our neighbors, so that we were able to enjoy this quiet in between palms. This new area of the hotel is also recommendable for its better construction than the old apartments, which seemed not to be very soundproof.

The atmosphere of this hotel site, which can be compared to paradise (because there is much more nature than concrete) was being transferred to its guests. All the guests/staff were so kind and friendly that each breakfast was a pleasure, like meeting good friends of family. When you eat outside, you can see the ocean above the palms, which offers you a fantastic view.

The rooms were very clean and in front of the reception you are able to log in the free Wi-Fi.

Its good to have a car, because the next beaches to swim are about 2 - 3 km away. With a car you are also able to see the indescribable beautiful coast of the Algarve.

We definitely will come back to this special place, ones!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quinta Do Mar Da Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Do Mar Da Luz

Address: Sitio Cama da Vaca, Lagos 8600, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lagos
#9 Spa Hotel in Lagos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Quinta Do Mar Da Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta Do Mar Da Luz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.