We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Valmar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Valmar to your Saves list
Villa Valmar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estrada Monte Carapeto Lot 11 | Meia Praia Lagos, Lagos, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Lagos
dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at Valmar Villas 7 nights. It is a bit far from the centre of Lagos around 3kms but there is a bus stop 3 min from the hotel and onboard ticket costs around 1.5 euro (if you have Ovida card which costs 3euro for the card single ticket costs only around 70cents). You can still use a taxi - which costs usually 3.25-3.90 (if you have any luggage it will cost around 6).
Beach is around 5 min walk down the hill. Great beach as it is wide and not very busy.
Rooms are very big, with big bathroom. Beds quite comfortable. Most of the rooms have beautiful ocean view. Majority of the TV channels are in German. Room was cleaned very often but sometimes in strange hours - like 5pm! Nobody changed the towels and sheets for 5 days! Air conditioning worked well. Pool was nice, clean with a nice view.
Most of the staff were very nice, smiled and willing to help. Breakfast very nice with plenty to choose.
Very quiet during the day and the night which was very relaxing.
I can recommend this hotel for a really nice holidays. Good value!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    30
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
5
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed for five days, the rooms are big but our room smelled of damp and the AC didnt really work properly and if we left the door open the whole complex is looking at you! The breakfast was limited got very bored of it in the end, the hotel is about 20 min walk from lagos town. The beach is down big steps not suitable for buggies or wheelchairs, you really need a car which we got the following day. Overall it was fine but I would not return.

Room Tip: Higher floors looked better we had a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

found a place to stay an relax ,after stayin at 4* plus places this is by far really good . nice and clean, good breakfast , pool clean ,staff were really friendly{except the lady on reception}. the area , beaches the WEATHER was fantastic would def go back to this area again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Had an excellent stay at Valmar villas. The property is really spacious and lovely. The rooms are huge. Also clean and well cared for. It's close to great beaches (walking distance to one), and only a short drive to town. The people who work there were really helpful about things to do in Algarve. Slept well. The breakfast was amazing. A very relaxing vacation. Would return to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. The breakfast was excellent, our room was nice but our shower was unfortunately in poor condition. The girl at the reception was very unfriendly but gladly the young man at the reception was very nice to us.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

A little bit out of the town but great for beach and relaxation, Couldn't ask more of Rita and the staff excellent customer service. An ideal spot for an out of season getaway

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Just returned from a one week stay here, and was very impressed, lovely caring staff, very clean & comfortable accom. 5 mins walk to a lovely sandy secluded beach and restaurant. The continental breakfast was wonderful/plentiful, with freash meats, cereals, fruit etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lagos hotels
1.3 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#24 of 49 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carvi Hotel Lagos
Carvi Hotel Lagos
#23 of 49 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
2.3 mi away
Canavial Apartments
Canavial Apartments
#9 of 49 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Costa D'oiro Ambiance Village
1.7 mi away
Marina Club Lagos Resort
0.3 mi away
Solar de Mos Hotel
Solar de Mos Hotel
#2 of 49 in Lagos
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Valmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Valmar

Address: Estrada Monte Carapeto Lot 11 | Meia Praia Lagos, Lagos, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lagos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Valmar 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Valmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Valmar Hotel Lagos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Valmar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.