We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Amarela

Save Saved
You added Casa Amarela to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Amarela
Rua Infante Sagres n04 (office) n0 8 (house), Lagos 8600, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 72 Specialty lodging in Lagos
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have just got back from spending four days at Casa Amarela, and although we go every year, this is the first review we've written. The accommodation is wonderful and laid back - just like the town. The staff are fantastic, friendly and very helpful. This year Meci, the housekeeper, was a real star in really looking after us - we have promised to learn some Portuguese for next year. Many many thanks to everyone at Casa Amarela for making everything so relaxing. See you next year!!
David and Melanie Nicholson.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gyor, Hungary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We arrive in the afternoon,long bus drive..nobody is the recepcion..closed...
One local guy from the street:Aah..you looking for the revepcion(lafhing..)wait im calling for you..ok they comming...20 min later nothing..than exulted lady arrives with crying baby..oh sorry..the landlady is on the way and bring you to the apartment..
(me)..Hey the ap.is not here?
..no heres just the office..
?!?"?"
Anyways..we rented a double bed ap. with kitchen and balcony...
We get a room in a flat with an old lady next door...
After2 days moved to the rented room..and we should pay the 60eur..
So if you want a relaxing holyday..dont choose Casa Amarela..cause its a big fake
Ps: Its not a bed&breakfast..just an apartment..so you wont get anything for your 60eur a day just ANGRYING!!
The city is beautyfull...and never eat the STARTER CAUSE ITS MORE EXPENSIVE THAN THE MAIN!!!
ENJOY HOLIDAY:-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here last week for a couple of days. On arrival the owner of the apartments told us of the best places to eat in the town, things to do and see and was very helpful with any questions we had. His wife was equally as helpful, she went above and beyond what we expected. The location was perfect. Handy for getting home after a night out. The maids were also very friendly and we felt safe a night time. The apartment was clean but everything was quite old inside.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone going to Lagos on a holiday. The Supermarket was just around the corner and facilites for cooking on the rooftop and in the kitchen were perfect.

The owner are great characters who would do anything for you. They even helped us book a boat trip and also printed our boarding passes with no extra charge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setubal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The best accommodation I ever stayed in Lagos.
The owners are very friendly and provided us all the information about the city as such, good restaurants, supermarkets, the best bars, etc...

Although the rooms are in the city centre they are quiet and you can have an excellent night sleep.

I have stayed on the pool house and it's just fantastic as you can stay outside, in the garden, reading a book, taking some sun or simply having fun with the other guests.
If you come to Lagos I would definitely recommend to stay with them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

wow!! Coming from the united states i couldnt ask for better service and location i recommend it to the trvellers that just want a clean safe quiet place to sleep.its like waking up at home.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Fantastic stay in Lagos. This is definitely worth every penny! The location is right in the centre, we were given the best advice when we arrived on the cheap good places to eat (away from the tourists) and where to hire scooters and kayaks (both highly recommended). The only downside of our stay was the noise on Saturday night from the nearby pub so make sure to close the shutters in the bedroom properly! However every morning we enjoyed the music coming from the chocolate shop across the 'rue' which was such a relaxing way to start the day. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backpacker13
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Stayed here for 2 weeks in August as Lagos is a wonderful place to stay! After spending other trips to Lagos in the HI Hostel and also Camp Trinidade, Casa Amarela is a real gem. The staff are such nice people – they really will help you in any way and make sure you feel right at home! We booked a room but upon arrival, found that we got a whole apartment right in the centre of Lagos, close to everything. The apartment got cleaned every day to a ridiculously high standard and the kitchen facilities were excellent...I would highly recommend Casa Amarela to anybody looking for accommodation in Lagos.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Amarela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amarela

Address: Rua Infante Sagres n04 (office) n0 8 (house), Lagos 8600, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Lagos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 72 Specialty lodging in Lagos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Casa Amarela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Amarela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.