We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere/food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mullens Restaurant and Bar

Mullens Restaurant and Bar
Rua Candido dos Reis 86, Lagos 8600, Portugal
00351 918480071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 294 Restaurants in Lagos
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere/food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Only in Lagos for a week...but eat here twice. Comfortable atmosphere...great food and good value. More European then authentic Portuguese...but steak/chicken really good. Definitely worth a visit if you're in town. We were there as a couple...but seemed very family-friendly. Staff laid-back but friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    76
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Can't fault this restaurant at all. The food was great and it was very reasonably priced. You sit on benches in a room that might have been an old bonded warehouse. Try their sangria they put strawberries in it. I had a prawn cocktail which was one of the best I've had and the fillet steak was perfect. My girlfriend had the stone bass which was huge and again cooked to perfection. The only thing that was cheap about Mullens was the bill.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good and a little different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Mullens stands out a little among all the different restaurants. Part because of it's relaxed atmosphere (incl. staff), part because of it's publike appearance.

Food was good, even though I was a little disappointed with so many non-portuguese choices on the quite small menu. I was perfectly happy with my stew, though. Right now I can't remember what my wife had, but I remember her being happy with her food as well.

Service may be a little too relaxed, but it's friendly and they get it right in the end. Staff seems to be mostly students, so that may explain a bit.

My only complaint would be that it is too warm inside the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“THE best food in Lagos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wow! This restaurant is absolutely fab! It has everything you could want from a restaurant; exceptionally tasty food, great atmosphere, friendly service & excellent value for money. We usually like to go to a variety of restaurants on holiday, but after our first visit we were hooked. The food, price and ambience could not be beaten by other eateries we visited on our holiday. We ended up eating dinner there on 3 evenings and sampled some of the best dishes; Mozambique beef (a must have), prawns, fillet steak, piri piri chicken - all were outstanding. It is impossible to be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful service & wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from Lagos with eight friends.
This restaurant was recommended by another bar & we were not disappointed.
Of all the restaurants we tried over our week’s stay this was by far the best.
Good value, good food & a great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mullens Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Lagos, Faro District
 

Been to Mullens Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mullens Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.