We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Rua General Teofilo da Trindade, Faro 8000 356, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offer 10% Off!
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Faro
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked a double room for the two of us. Upon arrival we were told we actually had a kingsize bed (albeit two singles pushed together - but bonus!).

We got a taxi (10 euros) from Faro airport and arrived around 3 hours too early for check-in but were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel while we explored the city. We were given a map and highlighted points of interest and the best places to eat and drink - excellent service.
We explored for a while and then got back about 20 minutes too early for check-in so we sat in the lobby and watched the television in there to be told that our room was already ready for us!

Room is basic - clean and comfortable, with a television, full length mirror and a dressing table, plenty of hanging space for clothes. Perfect for a city break when you want a hotel just to sleep and shower in. Rooms aren't very soundproof but I only imagine it could be a problem if you are there during the day - didn't bother us at all. Toilet was a bit weird, we had to twist a little tap by the side of it to get it to work; other than that bathroom was functional and spacious with fresh towels and shower gel / shampoo. Again more than I expected from such a low-cost hotel!

Best points: LOCATION IS EXCELLENT - literally about a five-ten minute walk to anywhere you need to be. SERVICE - all staff were friendly and went above and beyond. VALUE.

Negatives: BREAKFAST was a bit disappointing - I booked through LastMinute and paid €5 each per day (I have since read a review where Lisa said that it is a complimentary breakfast so may have to have words with them???) - it consisted of bread, a few slices of cooked meat, brie, some cereal, tea, coffee and some watery juices. The coffee definitely made up for it...!

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    97
    54
    23
    6
See reviews for
36
115
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We didn't pay much for our room as it was just a quick stopover on our way to the Algarve. For what we paid the room was perfect, very central and most of all the staff were so welcoming and helpful pointing out all of the local attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Please trust me and do not stay here unless you want to sleep in a complete dive, 1 star hotel, really disappointed as reviews looked good - things all hanging off walls, really shabby everything, poor terrible place and the breakfast was comically bad, Definitely would gamble on a boutique hotel for the same price (90 Euro's for a night, ouch for that hideous place, never again!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
I must say I was quite surprised at your review. We take great pride in offering outstanding service and all the amenites required for a pleasant stay while in Faro, Portugal. We are a family run, three star hotel located just 10 minutes from the center of town. Perhaps you thought you were booking a five star hotel and not a three star, family run property. We offer complimentary WiFi, a complimentary computer in the lobby, 24 hour reception and bar service and a complimentary buffet continental breakfast. The exact items we advertise on all of our public pages. Our rates are in line with comparitive hotels in the city and our pictures are up to date and exactly what you receive upon arrival. Perhaps a four or five star hotel would better suit your needs. Happy future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fira, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel staff were helpful. Room good size. Disappointing that we had to read the hotel information located in our room to find out that we could have electric jug for tea and coffee making. Also 10.00 euros deposit for the key to be able to use the fridge and 10.00 euros deposit for the safety deposit box. The room was clean, lots of restaurants, cafe's within easy walking distance. Great bakery three doors down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Golding, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel as a venue that anyone would be happy to stay in for whatever reason you find yourself in Portugal. Myself and my partner stayed for three nights although we'd only booked for two. When we turned up a day earlier than expected Lisa made every effort to make sure we had what we wanted and didn't have to swap rooms during our stay. The staff are excellent, really helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and practically sound proof with really comfortable beds and brilliant air con. I had the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel whilst there. The breakfast was varied and served in an appealing way. We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! You guys were a delight to have with us and we really look forward to your return next year!! Have a wonderful year and we hope to see you in July. Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

On arrival to the Dom Bernardo with my family we were checking in and suddenly realised we had left our buggy at Faro Airport. I then realised I would need to make a round trip to the Airport to collect from left luggage. We had just arrived after a stressful flight with 3 kids & most hotels would arrange a taxi, but at the Dom Bernardo they definately go the extra mile.

The owner immediately offered to take me to the airport at my convenience and then wait at the airport, at which time I could collect my buggy, and then I could ring him and he would bring me back. To me this was above & beyond what I expect from any hotel, which does not offer a shuttle as standard. I was driven and collected (along with the buggy) and returned to the hotel without a second thought. BRILLIANT SERVICE!

And so it was during our stay that we could not have asked for a better standard of service from ALL of the staff at the Hotel.

The rooms are clean and basic and have everything you need and are good value for money. It's not the Ritz Carlton but then at these prices I should not be expecting 'The Ritz'. Breakfast was efficient and tasty (continental in style).

Overall we were made to feel very welcome and our every need was catered for. what more can you ask....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We appreciate your kinds and were so happy to help when you arrived! There is nothing worse then forgetting something at the aiport, so to know that we made a difference during your trip is wonderful. Please come back and visit us again, happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

A lovely hotel, the staff were very helpful and cheerful. The room was bright and clean and the air-conditioning was brilliant! Very central in Faro but in a quiet part of town. We climbed up to the top floor to try and see into a stork's nest on the church opposite and discovered a large roof terrace that we had never heard or seen mentioned. It was clearly not used much so we had the place to ourselves for the day and watched the sunset over Faro with a bottle of port in the evening - stunning. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future! Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo

Address: 20 Rua General Teofilo da Trindade, Faro 8000 356, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the heart of the city, Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo is a three star, family run property. We provide you with a very high level of personalized service, our hotel is your home away from home. Our 43 guestrooms have LCD TVs with +30 cable channels, complimentary WiFi, minibars, direct dial telephones, individual air-conditioning units, radio clock, private bathrooms with hair dryers, ample closet space, two pillows per bed and in-room safes. Let us help you experience the best that Faro has to offer with our professionally trained, bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dom Bernardo
Best Western Faro
Faro Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.