We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but very good value city centre hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Rua General Teofilo da Trindade, Faro 8000 356, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offer 10% Off!
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Faro
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Basic but very good value city centre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just stayed here for 4 nights. Basic room but central location, about 5 minutes walk from Faro town centre and 10 minutes from the old town and bus station. The staff were extremely helpful with suggestions for things to do in Faro and surrounding area and we were allowed in our room several hours before the check-in time too. They also suggested an excellent and very good value restaurant, Santo Antonio, very nearby to the hotel. There was air conditioning and satellite TV in the room. Very easy to get a bus to the beach and the airport about 5 minutes away from the hotel.

Room Tip: We got the most basic room through booking through Olotels, but if you book directly I think you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    97
    54
    23
    6
See reviews for
36
115
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I'm always a bit wary booking hotels on line that I know nothing about, but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived here. For the price of a camping spot, or a shared room at a hostel, you get a hotel room with all the comforts, and breakfast thrown in as well. If that's not a bargain, I don't know what is. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the marina, and lots of interesting sights. (If you're there, make sure you don't miss the Church of Bones just around the corner). The icing on the cake was there were TV channels that broadcast in English. When you're tired and just want to laze around for a day, this is a big plus. We booked for one night and ended up staying for three.

Something that impressed to us is we were offered a parking spot for our motorcycle right outside the front door where it was in view of he reception desk at all times. If you're a rider, security is important. Oh, and there's a pool table next to the small bar that sells really cheap drinks.

The staff were great, and luckily for us they spoke English. We were given recommendations of places to see and eat and they were real gems we wouldn't have found by ourselves.

It was more like staying with friends or family than staying in a hotel. We'd very happily stay here again.

Thanks guys.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, our goal is to make your holiday easy and comfortable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The journey from the airport went through an area which was all boarded up and covered in graffiti near the hotel. I was despondent thinking I had booked a bad hotel. The hotel is basic but clean and the staff are very helpful. The tiled floors meant when the staff started at 7 we were woken by scraping furniture. The walk to the main town was about 10 mins away. There were barking dogs at the back as they live on a rooftop outside in a kennel but they didn't cause too much of a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the surrounding area, but please be aware that our local council is working hard to clean up the city and make it pretty and quaint for our visitors. We hope to see you again in Faro,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The room was great for what we paid, it could have been cleaner but for £36 a night you cant go wrong, the staff were great and all spoke excellent English.
The hotel was only 5 min walk from town in the 'locals' area, can be noisy at night but I experienced that all over the Algarve (especially when Benfica were playing)
Overall great for the budget, but if you are fussy then pay more for somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind response. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and city and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for one night in January 2013 - got the hotel through a last minute deal at very low price, so low I felt guilty eating the included breakfast.

Good:
- value for the price (included breakfast and parking)
- not far from city center
- friendly staff speaking English

Bad:
- small parking lot, hard to park a larger car

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your response. We are happy that you found our hotel to be a value, but do apologize for the parking. Please note that should you visit again we are happy to direct you to complimentary parking in the nearby area that may be more suitable for your vehicle. As you can imagine, parking is a premium in the city and we are lucky to have the small space that we do! Next time let us know how we can assist you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel has the most fantastic staff. My stay there was not for pleasure and the owners, family and reception staff could not have done more to accomodation and assist me. They even provide a counselling service for fragile minds!!!!! But seriously this hotel goes above and beyond in order to help including translation and faxing services. The rooms are clean and well appointed, with a daily maid service. Distance to the town centre is literally 2 minutes with shops, bars and restaurants although the hotel does have a bar and snack menu.

if you require a shuttle from/to the airport contact the hotel first as they provide this service for cheaper than a taxi and lovely Frank chats to you all the way.

The snack bar next door, is a real gem. It matters not what you order you only ever pay euros7.50 and the guy working there is such a lovely man. Food is basic but delicious.

So for a short break I would definately recommend this hotel, I cant thank Lisa and Frank enough.

Room Tip: Best to take a room at the rear if possible due to busy road but not that much of a problem really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your selecting our property and for your kind review. We truly try to provide you with your home away from home and make things easy for you during your stay! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

From the location to the atmosphere, I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff is so accommodating and friendly. The rooms are very nice and clean!!!! I would absolutely stay here again!!!!!I like that everything is updated and within a short walking distance to downtown Faro! The driving distance to other areas is short also!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms closer to the street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo

Address: 20 Rua General Teofilo da Trindade, Faro 8000 356, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the heart of the city, Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo is a three star, family run property. We provide you with a very high level of personalized service, our hotel is your home away from home. Our 43 guestrooms have LCD TVs with +30 cable channels, complimentary WiFi, minibars, direct dial telephones, individual air-conditioning units, radio clock, private bathrooms with hair dryers, ample closet space, two pillows per bed and in-room safes. Let us help you experience the best that Faro has to offer with our professionally trained, bilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dom Bernardo
Best Western Faro
Faro Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Dom Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.