We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ilhas Desertas

Ilhas Desertas
Santa Cruz, Faro 8005-554, Portugal
+351 289 822 098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 attractions in Faro
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Trawden,Colne, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Paradise Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent return links from the mainland. Fantastic sandy beach. Interesting circular walk with lots of bird spotting opportunities. A quirky, but rather expensive restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    44
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Despite rather cool and showery weather, the catamaran trip to the island was thoroughly enjoyable and interesting. Good knowledgeable guide, and very nice lunch on the island tourist building. Well worth the money

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Bras de Alportel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unspoilt and a wonderful day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Get the boat from Faro at 1130 and prepare to spend the day on the island. You can walk all round it on the boardwalk and you can have lunch in the restaurant, cheap or expensive, swim, sunbathe (they rent umbrellas and loungers but take a towel) and return on the 4.30 boat all for a very reasonable outlay.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved the boat trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A nice boat trip through the "swamp", looking for rare birds on the way to the island. An English speaking guide told interesting stories about the surroundings, the fauna and flora. Getting there, it was great, walking along the beach, watching the waves and the birds and just feeling the nature all around.
The Food at the restaurant was excellent

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Excellent trip by Catamaran”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was in Faro looking for a boat trip to see the city walls and was offered some dodgy deals from people who increased the price by quite a lot when I said I was alone. The people running the catamaran trips to this island did not do that, so I decided to visit this nature reserve instead. It was one of the better decisions that I have ever made. It is 10 euros return.

It was Feb and I was the only passenger and was a bit worried but the guide and skipper are 2 very nice, trustworthy and friendly men and this was the highlight of my trip to the Algarve. Best not say this, as it may have been against health and safety but they taught me how to steer the catamaran, how to use the channels and left me at the helm for about half an hour. Yay, so I had a brilliant experience and was very lucky. But suspect that they only ever get 1 passenger.

The actual island would be a great place to stay all day and sunbathe and the kids will enjoy it. You can get up close to nature, see loads of fish, birds and collect a few shells. I only stayed about half an hour and returned, there was nobody else there waiting to go back to Faro.There is nothing there apart from a restaurant. There are toilets. dis not check prices or try the food but bought a few drinks which were only a bit dearer than in Faro. I would suggest taking a picnic and staying the day, explore the small island and relax on the beach, if it is a hot day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ilhas Desertas also viewed

 
Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Ilhas Desertas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ilhas Desertas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ilhas Desertas to your Saves list