We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Faro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Faro to your Saves list
Hotel Faro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca D Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Faro
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

What a find this place is! It's cheap as chips and yet it's modern, clean and in a beautiful central location on Faro's waterfront. The reception staff were friendly and the breakfasts good.

Of course, it's not the Ritz, so the rooms have a slightly utilitarian feel to them (and the box-like TVs need updating), but room service is thorough and the water pressure in the marble en-suite was excellent.

Bring ear plugs though - it's next to a busy square and other guests' corridor conversations can be easily heard.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the marina have wonderful views, but are a bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    138
    70
    19
    11
See reviews for
37
178
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Right in Faro downtown, you don't need transportation to see most of the touristic attractions. From the restaurant you can see an amazing pair of storks nesting and the staff gives all directions about interestimg place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramstein-miesenbach, germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful little hotel for 7 nights and it was a wonderful experience. The staff is extremely helpful with anything you need from recommending places to see to restaurants in the area. We had a beautiful room that was perfect for 2 people. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and extremely clean. The breakfast each morning was different allowing for a great variety. The fruit was especially beautiful and delicious. There was a wide variety of breads and pastries each morning along with American style breakfasts for those who prefer eggs in the morning. It was one of the best breakfast buffets I have been to in Europe. One morning we even had fruit smoothies which were delicious. We stayed a week and they waived the fee for the WiFi in our room which was a plus. The Wifi was reliable and and shut itself off when not in use which is perfect for those who have to pay for it. I had 24 hours service for free and did not use it in over a week. The staff allowed us check in early which was great. The bus and trains are right down the street and the old city was in walking distance as well as shopping. All in all if I was staying in Faro again (not my favorite city) I would stay at the Faro hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
João L, Gerente geral at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion regarding your stay.
We all find your words very important; it makes us proud of our staff and the service we offer. Our guest’s happiness and satisfaction are our major goals and according to your comments, successfully achieved!
Comparing our breakfast to “one of the best breakfast buffets I have been to in Europe” leaves us with a big smile and the feeling that we really are doing a good job!

Thank you for helping us to grow and continue to improve our service.
We are looking forward to welcome you in this house again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife & I booked based on the general TA reviews. In terms of value, the User "XavierFont" below summaries very well. I had 2 issues: 1) Car Park. Facility advertised but NO mention of 12.50€ charge per day. Over 5 days that dilutes the overall value of the stay. 2) WiFi. Although free in the foyer, an exorbitant fee is payable to use WiFi in the room (something like 12€ an hour). These days WiFi is essential for some and is free in many hotels. No surprise that groups of people congregate in the foyer to use it. If the service is provided free in the foyer, why charge in the rooms?
Other than those 2 issues and a mere average breakfast, I would have rated "5" instead of "4" as there are more plusses then minuses. The rooftop restaurant with view over the marina, clean (basic) rooms, friendly accommodating staff; I got tea & coffee in the restaurant at 22:00 even though there were no diners, perfect location

Room Tip: If a room safe is essential fo you, ask atr reception as not all rooms in the hotel have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
João L, Gerente geral at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion regarding your stay.

Being the Hotel located on the city centre, we wanted to offer our guest an easy and reliable option for parking, so the agreement with the car park company was very appealing. Being equipped with video surveillance, we believe that is a complement for you service. The information regarding the price is available in our website and in our reception, €12.50 for 24 hours.

We do have 3 different options for internet access, free in the foyer, €3.00 for 1 hour in the room and €10.00 for 24 hours also in the room. We think the option of free high speed wi-fi access in the ground floor is a good option, but we are studying the chance of offering free wi-fi in a near future.

We very much appreciate your comments and your help leading us on the right direction.

Thank you
Joao Leitao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile


Me and my wife stayed here and must say it was a very pleasant stay. We had the deluxe superior room which is highly recommended and looked directly out onto the marina. Very clean and modern style rooms although I have read that not all rooms are like this so I probably would try to book early in order to get the superior room.
Breakfast was OK; decent selection of fruit and meats. One thing they did not make obvious or was not written anywhere that fresh omellates could be made of your choice. Unfortunately we found this out on the last morning otherwise we would have requested earlier.
Bathroom was very clean and modern; did not have to think twice about getting in the shower (which is a plus!!)
The room had floor to ceiling windows which was nice when the sun was out ~ which can be opened completely almost creating a balcony.
The hotel is very close and walking distance to shops and restaurants and realistically you do not have to go far.
A large shopping centre containing a cinema is only half hour walk (10min drive)

A bus stop is only a 2min walk away which can take you to the beach and tourist complex which is about a 40min bus ride which is nice too as you go through different villages.

Staff are very helpful and if something (such as your heating) were to stop working a handy man will be on site very quickly.


Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing stay

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
João L, Gerente geral at Hotel Faro, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay.

Is very important to us to know that you felt comfortable and welcome at Hotel Faro, every guest is unique and we try our best to know and understand our guest preferences and needs.

We are indeed in a privileged location, all the “must see” points of Faro are close to the hotel and easy to reach. Our staff is always available to assist you in any situation.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

If you need to catch a train or long distance bus, this is a very good choice. The rooms have no character but are clean and do the job just fine. Breakfast was average, so was the service. The relation quality/price is good, and you will stay here only because it is convenient, not because is a special place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel was spotless,lovely room.with large bathroom. Ideal location. The only thing I could
suggest is a microwave to heat cooked breakfast as was cold. Apart from that was perfect.
Would definately visit Hotel Faro again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro

Address: Praca D Francisco Gomes 2, Faro 8000-168, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the marina and Ria Formosa Natural Park, this modern hotel is located in downtown Faro. It offers a restaurant, a bar and a terrace with panoramic views.Hotel Faro offers spacious rooms filled with natural light and fitted with chic, modern furnishings. Some rooms feature a balcony while many have a seating area.Guests can admire the picturesque view from the rooftop terrace while sampling Portuguese specialities at Hotel Faro’s restaurant, Ria Formosa.Faro Hotel is located in the city centre close to the main attractions of the city. It is just a short drive from Faro International airport (7 Km away), the Faro train station and the bus terminal are 5 minutes walk away.The islands Deserta, Farol and Culatra with its fabulous sandy beaches can be reached in 25 minutes with the regular ferries from the nearby ferry pier, Faro island is just a drive of 10Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Faro Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Faro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.