We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel with spectacular views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eva to your Saves list
Hotel Eva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida da Republica, no 1, Faro 8000-078, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Faro
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel with spectacular views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

It has by far been the best choice I could make in Faro. For a little extra money, my view on the harbour and the sea was stunning! Food, bedroom, gym an spa were all of excellent quality.

In winter it is very quiet in Faro but I enjoyed my days a lot. I could have done lot's of excursions to other cities but I stayed in Faro and loved the shopping area.

Hotel Eva is a top location is you can spend a little more money on your room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    306
    140
    24
    26
See reviews for
86
354
38
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

First the positives:
Faro is a great location to visit this part of the Algarve, particularly benefitting from the railway station and access to the beautiful Ria Formosa
The hotel has the best location in Faro
The views over the marina were wonderful for watching sunrise/sunset from the balcony with a cocktail
The staff were lovely - they were efficient, charming and very helpful.
The suite we had was huge with a balcony overlooking the marina
The lobby, bar and restaurant areas are beautiful and what you would expect from a 4-star hotel
The cleaning staff do a great job - the rooms are spotlessly clean.

The negatives
The room decor is SO dated and shabby. The sliding wardrobe doors wouldn't close. The sofa was well-worn. The carpetting was aged - about the standard you would find in a Travel Lodge (budget hotel) in London
The TV was a tiny portable circa 1980
The furniture on the balcony was cheap plastic and uncomfortable
But the biggest negative was the beds - despite booking a suite and asking, in advance by email, for a double bed, the hotel standard is 2 twins beds pushed together - however the beds were made-up separately and tended to move apart in the night. Hardly ideal for a married couple on holiday.

It is such a shame - the front-line staff work so hard to make it an enjoyable experience but the lack of investment in the rooms really let's them down.

On that basis I wouldn't recommend it and if we visited Faro we'd stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in a suite between Xmas and New Year. Room and views overlooking the marina were perfect. Service was generally good and a problem with heating/air con was quickly sorted. The location is ideal for bus and train stations and access to central Faro and the Old Town couldn't be easier. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Family suite is huge and comes at little or no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Algarve
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Have known of the Hotel Eva since the 1960's but never stayed there or entered the premises so I had no preconceptions and what a nice surprise it all was.

We decided to book an overnight to celebrate New Years Eve with friends and booked a marina view room. On arrival we thought the reception area was very clean, bright and modern. The receptionist quickly checked us in and we went to our room on the second floor. It was very warm and cosey, the bed was very comfortable and the bedding of good quality. The bathroom was well equipped, plenty of towels, toiletries and the water was hot. The shower was not modern but quite adequate. As it was New Years Eve the management had placed a small bottle of sparkling wine, fruit and raisins in the room. Bottled water was also provided.

The celebration dinner that night was in the rooftop restaurant and we had a table by the window with a great view. The food was imaginative and delicious accompanies by good quality wines. The only slight problem was that there could have been more staff on duty as they were not quite as attentive to the drinks as the might have been because they had so much to do. However their friendliness made up for this. More sparkling wine and a dessert and cheese buffet was provided to see in the New Year.

Breakfast the next day was very good with hot English items, cereals,breads, ham, cheese, pastries, fruit, juices and coffee/tea. The check out was efficient and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

The price including dinner and breakfast was just under Euros.200 a couple which was an absolute bargain compared with what was being charged elsewhere. Well done!

Room Tip: Have a Marina view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

excellent location for short break.pay the exrta for harbour view and all day december sunshine .
airport 20 miin and bus and train nearby. hotel calm ,quietand friendly. take boat trip to the 'ila deserta '[ 25 euro ] andenjoy the boardwalk followed by a leisurely feast of local pork and clams

Room Tip: harbour balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed 1 night in this tired and shabby hotel and we do not recommend that anyone to stay there in the future, The location is convenient, but the actual hotel facilities leave a lot to be desired. The rooms are over priced and the WIFI is very costly, we have not been charged for WIFI anywhere else on our holiday and we were very disappointed to be over-charged here. The room was very basic, with a very uncomfortable bed and with the LOUDEST air-conditioner /heater Ive ever heard. The breakfast was not fresh, offering a very poor selection and terrible coffee. The staff were pleasant, but confused about the price of the rooms, the first reception worker was not aware of the off-season prices and wanted to charge us peak season prices. Do not let the renovated, modern and clean reception area fool you, the rooms are not as well maintained.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay so much, we have already booked to go back!!!
Located right on the marina, this hotel must have some of the best views in Faro.
From check in to check out, our stay was perfect. The staff are very professional, and friendly.
Our room was well presented, clean and had all the ameneties we needed.
We had a room with a street view, and while there was some noise, it did not bother us (we live on a main road)
If you can, book a room with a marina view, they get sun all day and are only a few euros more than their standard rooms.
Breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice made even better by the views from the restaurant.
(its on the top floor and overlooks the marina)
We didn't try out the spa, so cannot comment, but we are planning on giving it a go on our return visit.
The one thing that maybe lets this hotel down a little is their charge for wifi, although this was not a problem for us as there is a free wifi hotspot in the park across the road.
(tip: the closer to the old town you are, the better the signal)

Room Tip: Rooms with a marina view are quieter, get sunshine on the balcony most of the day and are well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eva

Address: Avenida da Republica, no 1, Faro 8000-078, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eva 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down town Faro, by the marina and just a few steps from the historic and commercial centre of the Algarve capital city, Hotel Eva is the ideal choice either in leisure or business.Faro airport is easily reachable in less then 10 minutes drive, as well as all Ria Formosa beaches easily reachable by boat or car.The Hotel has 134 rooms and Suites suitable to families, groups, couples or single travellers, 2 restaurants with great views, meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool (May-Oct), and a modern Health Club with Day Spa, gym, group classes, sauna and steam bath.Please note: Access to the Health Club is only allowed to guest over 16 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva Hotel Faro
Hotel Eva Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.