We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've had better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gardy

Gardy
City Center, Faro, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 166 restaurants in Faro
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I've had better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Thought it was expensive and frankly not really worth it , it is on the main shopping road and has lots of tables but the food could be much better.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

43% Recommend
    3
    7
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious pastries and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Amazing pastel de nata and yummy coffee..very cheap and tasty. Also table service so you can just sit and chill in the street seating and people watch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xi'an, China
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“pricey omelette but lovely granite!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

i am a total sucker for their simple granite - watermelon and lemon flavours recommended!
This place is huge - massive selection of cakes, ice-cream and drinks, but also with a pretty full dining menu too. I just wanted some lunch so I got the cheese and ham omelette, it was a bit pricey for 9.25euros, but tasted ok. I am just here to rave about the granite.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Watch the world go by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

A nice traditional spot in the heart of Faro for a coffee and pastry or light meal. Sit outside and watch the world go by. Buy takeaway bread and pastries from their bakery almost opposite.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I just felt like a salad ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

It was one of those days ..... we had eaten out several days in a row and I just felt like a salad, not something well advertised in Faro restaurants. There was nothing on the advertised menu but a good selection on bigger more detailed menu. Not cheap at E9.00, I chose a Gardy salad - which was delicious!!

The restaurant has a lovely shady area down a quiet street right in the middle of Faro and is well worth seeking out. The cakes and desserts looked good, my husband sampled a local sweet and loved it!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gardy also viewed

 

Been to Gardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.