We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant and guy !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tasca do Ricky

Tasca do Ricky
Rua do Forno, 21, Faro 8000, Portugal
+351 919111057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 187 Restaurants in Faro
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Nantes, Pays de la Loire, France
1 review
“Very nice restaurant and guy !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Very welcoming place but not only the place, Ricky is a person you will appreciate to discuss with!!
He will give you advices on your trip in Faro or somewhere else in Portugal, about the food as well.
For that matter food is delicious and cheap, try the squids !
And if you're kind with Ricky he could join you for the night out after dinner, as he did with us, he is very funny :)!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    11
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Man and the Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Rick is the Man. and tasca do Ricky is the place to be. If you are looking for advice on life, Ricky has wisdom to offer. The food has been amazing every time I've been there, and the service too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Dont miss this place .Its well woth making the effort to find near to the Bus station. Food excellent authentic and very resonable with very good portion. Ricky the owner has excellent English and will guide you through the menu taking great pride in what food he has to offer. At lunch time also does a special menu terrific value at 6 Euro

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

We visited the restaurant at night for dinner. It took quite a bit of finding, down some cobbled streets with poor lighting! Even google maps found it hard!

We were warmly greeted. Bread , sardine pate and drinks promptly brought.

I chose a fish and bread speciality and my husband mixed grill. Both were huge portions! My fish broth was lovely (although a tad garlicky), Les's mixed grill cooked to perfection. Afterwards we were given a local liqueur - yummy.

I would recommend as food is good, atmosphere ok ( quiet when we were in and music naff!). Staff were friendly and appreciated my little Portuguese.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Tucked away in a narrow old cobbled street near the Faro train station I found this unassuming restaurant. I ate twice there and experienced two authentic traditional Portuguese dishes. The food was great and very inexpensive. The only minus is the drinks menu, which is limited. Overall I think this is a place definitely worth trying if one finds him/herself in Faro and wants to experience some traditional Portuguese food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasca do Ricky also viewed

Faro, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Tasca do Ricky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasca do Ricky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.