We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steakhouse !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belle Epoque

Belle Epoque
Av. Republica, 88, Faro 8000 - 079, Portugal
+351 917 812 306
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 212 Restaurants in Faro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $22
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue, Argentinean
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The steak was well cooked (to our specified requests), excellent quality, and served by an attentive waiter. Our waiter also recommended a fabulous reasonably priced local red wine to us. This restaurant is a really good find in a great location and is value for money.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As good a rib eye steak as I have had anywhere. My wife is vegetarian and the chef went out of his way with no fuss to make a fantastic meal for her too. Will definitely go back the next time we are in Faro. Price was great too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

As good a steak as we had in Argentina. I had it rare and my husband medium rare, both cooked to perfection. Good atmosphere and very friendly host. Service was excellent and the price was reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lfc in europe
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Better than sex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

One year on and I was hoping to meet Tanya again to enjoy, once again, the best piece of Argentinian steak.
A shock, Tanya had sold up and the restaurant changed hands. I was disappointed, but had set my heart on it. I was expecting to be let down but thought 'what the hell. I'll give it a go'.
I showed the owner a photo of the steak I had a year earlier and told him that's what I wanted. No starters, no fries, just the steak and vegetables, and that's exactly what I got. It was like going back in time. The chef came to ask me what I thought of the steak. It was difficult talking to him, I just wanted to eat, but I managed to utter the words 'it's better than sex'. And it was.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We decided to give this place a go one day for lunch.
OK, we had the fixed price menu, which was only 6.50 euros, but we were expecting food a little better than what we got.
We both had the vegatable soup, followed by pork steak.
The soup, had obviously been microwaved, and to be honest was pretty tasteless.
The pork was fatty, and swimming in oil. So much so that it overpowered any flavour the meat may have once had. The chips looked like the waste potato left over from when the real chips had been cut and were soggy too.
OK, the drinks were reasonably priced, but that was little consolation.
Finally, when it came to paying the bill, we were charged for bread which we distinctly told them we did not want.
Overall, not the best eating experience we had in Faro.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle Epoque also viewed

 

Been to Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle Epoque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.