We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winniehill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Winniehill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Winniehill Bed & Breakfast
155-Z Alcaria Cova | Estoi, Faro, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Faro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at Winniehill, beautiful villa and pool and accommodation.
Perfect location for exploring Eastern Algarve and amazing views towards Faro. Fiona and Robin were perfect hosts making us feel at home, especially having the dogs around. Enjoyed Sunday night 's chicken at the village restaurant with them. Fiona's breakfasts were amazing and the best muffins ever.
If you want to get to know the Algarve then you must stay here, lots of information and guide books to read.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you Fiona and Robin for making our first visit to Portugal so god that we will be back! Winnie Hill is a delightful B&B and our guestroom was very comfortable. Fiona's breakfast were delicious with fruit, home-baked goods and an entree served each morning. One needs a car to find the B&B but that is told to you by the hosts. Have a good year Fiona and Robin and we will be thinking of you once our B&B season starts up in the springtime.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Once again we found this gem using Alistair Sawday. It is close to Faro - about 25 mins by car and has commanding views over the coast and hills nearby. The place is a delight, with 3 rooms and an excellent pool. We stayed in two, the rear with roof terrace and the ground floor fronting the pool and both were superb. The breakfasts are exquisite and different each day, prepared by Fiona and served by Robin, with Abigail the spaniel, Rupert the Lab and sometimes even Winnie, the cat in tow. The evening meals are excellent and when served outside with fellow travellers add to the indulgence. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts who enjoy your company, but withdraw discretely to allow appropriate privacy. Excellent centre for accessing small rural retreats, villages and resorts. The pool room offers free coffee and tea facilities as well as an honesty bar with a newly installed Nespresso machine. We will return!

Room Tip: all three rooms are excellent. The more roomy downstairs front facing room has a bathroom accessed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Spent 3 nights here with the in-laws and girlfriend in mid-September
The b & b is so remote, really, really recommend you hire a car for your stay here. It's around 15-20 minutes from the airport.
We arrived a little early but straight away Fiona and Robin were very welcoming. There knowledge of the surrounding area is second to none and they pretty much planned our 3 days with different places to visit. We spent 1 afternoon around the pool in the 3 days, which is beautiful. They have a well stocked honesty bar. They provide towels for the luxurious sunbeds they have. You can also take the towels with you when discovering the lovely area.
They advised on restaurants in the evening to go to, beaches to go to in the day.
We had the top bedroom and the views were superb, you can see right out to see. At night there isn't a sound. So peaceful.
The whole set up of the b & b is fantastic and as a team Fiona and Robin work it ever so well.
Breakfast is phenomenal, so so much food. Fiona bakes here own breads, muffins, prepares fresh yogurt with different fruit in it, fresh orange juice along with some form of egg.
When arriving back from our evening meal you find the candles are lit around the pool which is lovely so sit in whilst enjoying a port and playing different board games that they have.
I don't really want to tell my friends about Winniehill as i want it to be our secret. We will 100% be returning next year.

Room Tip: Any room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Exceptional Property....Lovely bright airy rooms,beautiful poolside area and gardens.
Exceptional Hosts........Robin is a wealth of local knowledge,best restaurants,best beaches and places of interest.A really nice couple who have the balance between hosts and guests just right.
EXCEPTIONAL FOOD....Fiona produced the best breakfast spread we have ever had in a B@B or Five Star Hotel for that matter!A different egg dish each morning,homemade jams and pancakes,figs from the garden,freshly baked muffins to die for..the list goes on and on.We had dinner on two evenings and both meals were superb!
We have visited B@Bs all over Europe...U.K/France/Italy/Spain/Germany and I can honestly say that Winniehill is up there with the best!Cant recommend highly enough!

Room Tip: Upstairs double room overlooking the pool with great views over the surrounding countryside with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

As soon as we arrived we fell in love. The gardens are beautiful, the uninterrupted views are breath taking. Gorgeous romantic rooms. The pool area with it's comfy sunbeds, shaded wicker furniture and simply just the sound of nature is so relaxing. Robin and Fiona are amazing , taking complete pride in their beautiful villa. Winniehill is clean, looked after and the breakfast and evening meals ( should you choose to have - we would definitely recommend) are first class. We have been to lots of lovely hotels, but the charm, friendliness and atmosphere has made Winniehill a firm favorite .We cant wait to go back next year

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kourou, French Guiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I totally recommend Winniehill to anyone looking for a guenuine experience away from the touristic and crowded places. Fiona and Robin are passionate - the most lovely hosts ever - and will make their best so you feel home. More concretely, Winnihill is about a charming and very well decorated villa, with a stunning view, and also with very clean rooms and bathrooms. And above all, an extraordinary homemade food!! We will remember their breakfast forever! You should definitely not hesitate about going there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Winniehill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winniehill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 155-Z Alcaria Cova | Estoi, Faro, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winniehill ia a beautiful renovated farmhouse with a stunning panoramic view of the sea with private pool in a charming rural setting in the Eastern Algarve. For total relaxation Winniehill is the perfect place to unwind. And only a 15/20 mins drive from Faro airport. It lies half way between the pretty town of Estoi with its restored palace and the quaint market town of Moncarapacho.Winniehill offers 3 double bedrooms with private bathrooms We are not really suitable for very small children , the pool area has many steps . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Winniehill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winniehill Bed & Breakfast Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winniehill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.