We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winniehill Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Winniehill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winniehill Bed & Breakfast
155-Z Alcaria Cova | Estoi, Faro, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 21 Faro B&B and Inns
Kourou, French Guiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I totally recommend Winniehill to anyone looking for a guenuine experience away from the touristic and crowded places. Fiona and Robin are passionate - the most lovely hosts ever - and will make their best so you feel home. More concretely, Winnihill is about a charming and very well decorated villa, with a stunning view, and also with very clean rooms and bathrooms. And above all, an extraordinary homemade food!! We will remember their breakfast forever! You should definitely not hesitate about going there!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Merville-Franceville-Plage, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for a week in May in this typical, lovingly restored farmhouse. It is an exceptional B&B, where everything is top quality; an immaculate good-sized bed- and bathroom and a cosy lounge reserved for guests. Fiona and Robin are wonderful hosts. Fiona is a true chef, spoiling her guests with carefully prepared most delicious breakfasts, everything homemade from bread, marmalade, jam, Scottish pancakes and muffins to an amazing variety of egg creations. Fresh fruit from the garden, local cheese and assorted delicatessen, etc. Impossible to enjoy this fabulous treat in less than an hour. Dinners, in a very romantic setting, are again chef creations and not to be missed. My totally-adverse-to-any-golf-lessons husband discovered, when expertly coached by Robin, that the experience is a gripping and fascinating one. Great job Robin! So what more could one ask for? Oh yes, Miss Abigail, a happy-go-lucky Cocker Spaniel, and Mr Rupert, a regal black prince, both very well-behaved dogs, supervised by Winniepooh the cat, a posh panther. There you are, it's simply the best, and we'll be back, that's for sure. Monika & Philippe Drôme, France.

Room Tip: Seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed at Winniehill for two nights and it was simply brilliant. Awesome view, the best breakfast ever!!!!, and very lovely, friendly and helpful hosts. A great clean pool with lots of cozy sunlounger. Attention to details makes Winniehill extra special. At the end of our Portugal roadtrip we wanted to come back, but unfortunately it was fully booked (no wonder, if you want to stay in a great place like this). But still then they helped us to find a place. On the last day of our holiday we forgot our camera at a cafe in Sao Bras. We contacted Robin and Fiona, when we were already at the airport to get our flight and they were super helpful and managed everything, so we could get our camera back. The package arrived one week later in germany. So if you want more than just a place to stay, definitly go there! We will come back, for sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We can thoroughly recommend Winniehill ! Wonderful hospitality ...amazing breakfasts fabulous panoramic views and excellent accommodation . Fiona and Robin are the perfect hosts and welcomed us into their home . Fiona is such an excellent chef and we would highly recommend that you reserve dinner during your stay too. What could be better than enjoying a fabulous dinner on your own private terrace cooked and served especially to order for you! Robin also offers golf coaching which my husband booked for two sessions during our stay . He is enjoying practising the new techniques Robin and no doubt he will be in touch soon to share his experiences of his newly learned concepts and techniques ! Highly recommended to all ....Robin will tailor a golf coaching session to suit each individuals needs ...and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed my quiet time lounging at the super pool enjoying the amazing view to the coast ...with Rupert and Abigail
whilst they were away golfing too ! Thank you both once again for a super break .

Room Tip: We chose the room to the rear of the house with the private roof terrace but all the rooms are super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We recently spent 1 night here, and could easily have stayed longer. The accommodation in a lovely villa was superb, and the hospitality was excellent. Fiona is a first class chef, and her dinner was delicious. Breakfast next morning on the terrace by the pool was a delight, and we were happy to linger in order to take full advantage of the terrific choice of food.Robin was very sociable and happy to chat, and we felt really at home. Do not miss this place if you are in Faro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have been just one night in Winniehill B&B, during my stay in Faro with some friends and I regret to have been stayed there for so short time. Indeed, it has been amazing!
The owners have been really kind and welcomed us in a perfect way, giving all the info we need about the area. The day after they served us a super delicious breakfast.
We were 6 so we occupied the whole B&B. The rooms are large and refined in every minute detail.
A beautiful swinning pool completes the frame. The B&B is in the hills above Faro, a perfect place that gives a sense of infinite peace and tranquillity. I really advise you to visit it :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

An excellent b&b on a hill side about 20 mins from Faro airport, which I would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet place but convenient for a number of picturesque Algarve towns and beaches.

Fiona and Robin make great hosts. Breakfasts were of a very high quality, with fresh home made bread and muffins each day.

The bedrooms were of high standard and the rooms were clean and modern.

The bathrooms had lovely walk-in showers, which are a pleasure to use.

Fiona and Robin will provide dinner on request and these are of a high standard.

One of the nice things at this b&b is that they provide detailed instructions how to get to local attractions, recommended restaurants, and the airport.

Fiona and Robin have 2 dogs and a cat which help make the b&b a really friendly place to stay.

I would highly recommend a stay here if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Algarve.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winniehill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winniehill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 155-Z Alcaria Cova | Estoi, Faro, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winniehill ia a beautiful renovated farmhouse with a stunning panoramic view of the sea with private pool in a charming rural setting in the Eastern Algarve. For total relaxation Winniehill is the perfect place to unwind. And only a 15/20 mins drive from Faro airport. It lies half way between the pretty town of Estoi with its restored palace and the quaint market town of Moncarapacho.Winniehill offers 3 double bedrooms with private bathrooms We are not really suitable for very small children , the pool area has many steps . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Winniehill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winniehill Bed & Breakfast Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winniehill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.