We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winniehill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Winniehill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Winniehill Bed & Breakfast
155-Z Alcaria Cova | Estoi, Faro, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Faro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
uk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“super accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We recently spent 1 night here, and could easily have stayed longer. The accommodation in a lovely villa was superb, and the hospitality was excellent. Fiona is a first class chef, and her dinner was delicious. Breakfast next morning on the terrace by the pool was a delight, and we were happy to linger in order to take full advantage of the terrific choice of food.Robin was very sociable and happy to chat, and we felt really at home. Do not miss this place if you are in Faro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have been just one night in Winniehill B&B, during my stay in Faro with some friends and I regret to have been stayed there for so short time. Indeed, it has been amazing!
The owners have been really kind and welcomed us in a perfect way, giving all the info we need about the area. The day after they served us a super delicious breakfast.
We were 6 so we occupied the whole B&B. The rooms are large and refined in every minute detail.
A beautiful swinning pool completes the frame. The B&B is in the hills above Faro, a perfect place that gives a sense of infinite peace and tranquillity. I really advise you to visit it :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

An excellent b&b on a hill side about 20 mins from Faro airport, which I would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet place but convenient for a number of picturesque Algarve towns and beaches.

Fiona and Robin make great hosts. Breakfasts were of a very high quality, with fresh home made bread and muffins each day.

The bedrooms were of high standard and the rooms were clean and modern.

The bathrooms had lovely walk-in showers, which are a pleasure to use.

Fiona and Robin will provide dinner on request and these are of a high standard.

One of the nice things at this b&b is that they provide detailed instructions how to get to local attractions, recommended restaurants, and the airport.

Fiona and Robin have 2 dogs and a cat which help make the b&b a really friendly place to stay.

I would highly recommend a stay here if you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Algarve.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have spent five nights (in two shifts) in this wonderful B&B and we did really appreciate our stay. The house has a wonderful location with a beautiful view over Faro and the sea.
Fiona and Robin are very good hosts: interesting and interested but without being intrusive.

Winniehill is 5 kms outside Estoi and a 20 mins drive from the airport. Directions from Fiona got us there faultlessly. During our stay Fiona and Robin had several suggestions for beaches to visit, restaurants to dine in (they even made reservations for us), and immedeately provided us with directions how to go. Very nice.

We stayed in two different rooms, one with a roof terrace, and one on the poolside. Both were very clean en pretty, the poolside room being a little larger.

But the best part is still to come: breakfast. Fiona and Robin conjure up a great breakfast every morning at 9am. Wonderfully fresh bread, freshly baked muffins (our favorite was the banana one), fresh cereals, just to much to mention. Highly recommended to everyone! When we had to leave at 8am the last day to catch an morning plane, it was no problem at all to make us breakfast at 7.15.

We think Winniehill is a very romantic and pretty B&B, with an excellent value-for-money. A definite must-go!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puzzy51, Owner at Winniehill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank for your lovely review , you were so kind .
We really enjoyed having you at Winniehill .

We would like to thank all our customers for their reviews and hope to see you all again at Winniehill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have tried several B and B’s in recent times. Winniehill is up there with the best, worldwide. It is a lovely place to stay - clean, comfy, with super location and views, brilliant breakfasts, good evening meals, if you book the meal in time, and lovely hosts. Robin and Fiona are up there with the best generally but are world champions for their directions to places to visit and dine (very important in the Algarve). When you ask about something, they inevitably come up with a printed set of directions to and from where you want to go which make the puzzle of Portuguese roads fathomable.
We were there for three days, after staying at other parts of the Algarve. We noticed that guests coming to Winniehill while we were there came for between one and three days. Winniehill is good for longer stays. It is good for chilling out, over a period, as well as offering relatively easy access to most of the Algarve.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Winniehill at the end of a three week vacation. The beautiful and immaculate home is high in the hills in a secluded and stunning setting.

Fiona and Robin were wonderful hosts. Fiona's famous breakfasts were by far the best we had in Europe. In good weather breakfast is on the terrace overlooking the pool. Fuschia colored bougainvillea and flowering shrubs frame the view to the sea. Fresh fruit and jams from the garden, hot baked breads, and sumptuous egg dishes and meats, all adorned with flowers and attractive dish ware, made us feel like royalty. We also had one of Fiona's delicious home cooked dinners on the terrace. The broiled sea bass and vegetables were fresh and expertly prepared.

We stayed in the sun-filled Seaview room, which faces the sea. The only challenge was using the small wash basin in the separate bathroom without splashing water on the floor. That being said, I would stay here again. Fiona and Robin also created a comfortable living/tv area for guests that opens to the pool and sea view. It is a perfect place to watch a video, read, talk, play games, or even take a nap. Fig, plum, and orange trees were full of fruit, so we picked sweet juicy plums for snacking.

I had just come from Lisbon where I attended a Rotary convention. Robin happens to be a Rotarian and kindly offered to take me to his Rotary club meeting, but the timing didn't work out. Robin and Fiona's experience in hotels and hospitality is clearly evident. They have done a masterful job of creating a warm and welcoming environment, and made excellent shopping, dining, and sightseeing suggestions. Winniehill is a great choice. You won't want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Robin and Fiona made us feel welcome from our arrival until we left. It is a beautiful villa and lounging round the pool one can fantasise that it is all yours. It is very small in terms of capacity for visitors, but that is part of its charm. Fiona's breakfasts are unbeatable, we even had to ask for less food! And she is amenable to guests keeping their muffins (which are amazing!) back for morning coffee. Snacks and the honesty bar are very reasonably priced. Sadly we did not try an evening meal as we had commitments elsewhere, but on the evidence of our breakfast, we are sure they are excellent - we will let you know when we return, which we certainly will. Part of the joy for us was the presence of Winniehill's much loved dogs, Rupert and Puzzle.

Room Tip: Only two rooms and hard to choose. Juliet balcony over the pool and stunning views in one, and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winniehill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winniehill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 155-Z Alcaria Cova | Estoi, Faro, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winniehill ia a beautiful renovated farmhouse with a stunning panoramic view of the sea with private pool in a charming rural setting in the Eastern Algarve. For total relaxation Winniehill is the perfect place to unwind. And only a 15/20 mins drive from Faro airport. It lies half way between the pretty town of Estoi with its restored palace and the quaint market town of Moncarapacho.Winniehill offers 3 double bedrooms with private bathrooms We are not really suitable for very small children , the pool area has many steps . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Winniehill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winniehill Bed & Breakfast Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winniehill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.