We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol e Jardim

Sol e Jardim
Praca Ferreira Almeida 22, Faro 8000-172, Portugal
351(289)820030
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 210 Restaurants in Faro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Greenbelt, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Only had the opportunity to eat here once, but both my friend and I had a very good dinner. I think the owner himself waited on us (this was the offseason) and was very helpful.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    17
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Snr. Cavaco's secret recipe...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I was not surprised to see this restaurant has already been mentioned so favourably!!

In my opinion it was 'simply the best' Faro has to offer a visitor from abroad.

Good service, tropical garden atmosphere, very reasonably priced and good Portuguese food (and music!) to suite any palate.

A cool oasis on a hot day, perfect for a leisurely lunch - which prompted a return visit for dinner the following day to sample Snr. Cavaco's own Peri-Peri sauce recipe (sprinkled with caution on our excellent Peri-Peri Chicken Sol E Jardim).

What made the difference for us was the people - warm, friendly and genuine and we got exactly what we asked for. Far exceeded other 'recommended' restaurants we also visited.

Dinner at Sol E Jardim just made the best evening we spent in Faro this visit. I have included photos showing you the restaurant from the outside (as there are so many on that street it can be confusing) and a peek inside.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Went to this restaurant in March while on a short break in Faro, Really helpful,friendly staff, great food at a good price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Ate there out-of-season so it was pretty quiet. The owner was very welcoming and staff were very helpful. The service was excellent, food was excellent and the price wasn't bad too!
Sol e Jardim is a must visit restaurant if you come to Faro.

I will be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Final nite in Faro and wished we had discovered sooner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great meal of seafood and rice -- outstanding service and superior meal - hi value for money. Fresh fish daily and you can select the one you want. They even make their own traditional piri-piri - a few drops is all you need! Highly recommend for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol e Jardim also viewed

Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Sol e Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol e Jardim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.