We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sao Jose, Estoi, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Faro
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great hotel is made not only by the building & rooms but also the staff. This place is fantastic! From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome.
The hotel is a mixture of an old &beautiful Portuguese palace & gardens with modern rooms & pool area. There was something of a trek to get to room especially with bulky motorcycle luggage, but this task was made easier with the use of a trolley, offered to us upon our arrival at reception. Our room was very large, and cool, thanks to the wonderful air-conditioning & curtains. The bed was massive and very comfortable, & the en-suite bathroom was, again, large, and like the room very clean and tidy with great facilities. There was plenty of storage in the room. On the bed was a chocolate and bottled water & glasses on the side table. The TV was easy to operate and get English sound on many of the channels. The room contained a secure safe and fridge/mini-bar.
Parking was underground in a secure room card controlled opening and led easily to the 1st floor. Reception, dining, pool and verandas were on the 3rd floor. Our room was on level 0 and like the 1st & 2nd floors down a long wide corridor. Free wi-fi was available in the room & around the hotel, & each floor had a public PC for easier web access.
The old palace contained the dining rooms, bar, lounges & chapel and was decorated beautifully, some rooms not unlike one can see in Brighton’s Royal Pavilion. There was also access to the veranda where meals could be eaten out in the open.
The pool, spa facilities were accessed from the 2nd floor and looked out over some of the old gardens, and in the distance Faro and the surrounding area. Drinks & snacks could be obtained at the poolside bar & enjoyed in a relaxed atmosphere. Towels were provided for bathers an dthere were plenty of sun-loungers and umbrellas.
The staff were polite, friendly, helpful & well presented. The breakfasts were buffet style and plentiful, ranging from cooked items such as: scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, baked beans & chips, to cold items such as: fruits, yoghurts, juices, breads, rolls, pastries & cakes, cereals, cheeses and meats. The dinner menu suited all wallets, was well presented, delicious and varied. Wines were pricey as were the drinks generally, but the slugs of spirits were huge.
The location of the hotel was on the north side of the quiet village of Estoi, & though close to the motorway, the sounds did not cause trouble. A short walk into Estoi gave access to the few bars & shops, & further down the main road the roman ruins of Milreu, which are definitely worth a visit.
All in all, we thorough enjoyed our 3 nights at the Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel. We would recommend it and next time we come down to the Faro Motorcycle Rally will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The higher the number the further you have to walk to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    119
    42
    13
    2
See reviews for
46
217
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of Portugal and Spain. So far we had loved Portugal and the really friendly people, however this hotel let it down! The staff were disinterested, unhelpful and miserable. I had emailed the hotel and requested a high floor room and we were given a room in the basement! The only way we could change was to upgrade to a superior room which we did. This was only available for one night so we had to move rooms for the next night. Rooms were nice and I would say the view from the room on the 2nd floor was nicer than the 3rd floor. Pool and terrace was lovely and good covered parking. Breakfast was terrible and dinner not much better, although if the service had been better it would have been passable. Building was beautiful, all bedrooms are in the new part of the building.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

From start to finish we have a lovely experience at the Pousada. Although there could be more signs coming from the bus stop in town. The signs just seemed to vanish but lukcily I had printed out directions via google maps. Sure we got there which was the main thing.

The room was lovely with your private balcony. Large room with everything that you might need. We were a bit early for check in but this meant that we got to sit by the pool and relax whilst the room was bring made up. The views from the pool are amazing looking out over the hills. The architecture and decor of the palace is wonderful. We had dinner at the hotel on the first night, it was lovely to sit out in the warmth and have really nice food.

The next day we just chilled by the pool for the day - a first for us.That night we had dinner in the town itself - watch out for all the salt that is sprinkled on the fish, you may want to request it without. I had not realised this and so got caught.

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the mountains so I doubt there are any bad rooms to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our stay at the posada was a wonderul experience. The room for three was excellent.
The buffet breakfast presentation magnificent and a delicious assortment. We ate our dinners at a little local restaurant up the street. We enjoyed the pool and the sitting rooms.

Room Tip: I recommend a roon on one of the upper floors .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Just back in the UK after 4 very relaxing days at the Palace. Room was excellent - larger than average and towels were changed everyday and bedding when requested. Quiet and peaceful with some great features. Just feel it could be better - not enough staff around, the bar was hardly ever manned and some public areas needed a good clean. Food was average, breakfast ok.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week with a family group. The views, original buildings and gardens and the modern accommodation were excellent. The pool was also very good as was the indoor plunge pool and spa facilities. We stayed on a b&b basis and the buffet breakfast on the terrace was very good. As always in Portugal you need to accept a somewhat slow service but just look at the views! Only down side for me was the cost of the food (although the daily set menu was good value if you wanted 3 courses) and the fitness room was very small with no aircon or windows. The bedrooms are large with very large beds and excellent aircon. All in all a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

For the price the hotel charge they should get better staff.
Nice rooms but they could have been cleaner and they could have change the bed sheets and towels at least once while i was there for 5 days.
Prices are sky high in the bar even for local drinks!
Alot of bird poo around the site which made me wonder how often they sweep up.
Worst part was they done a fire drill at 2 o clock in the morning with out warning which was very annoying.
Overall very let down i was expecting from the pictures to be staying at a top notch hotel but i realised very quickly this wasnt the case after arriving there.
Also wanted to say i was under the impression the staff took bribes on the basis they wouldnt do anything helpful or useful unless you tip them well.
Ive been to alot of hotels good and bad and this goes down as a bad one! I will not return or recommend to anyone!!!
But hey thats just me, you decide for yourself!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Sao Jose, Estoi, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Escapio, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Faro Palace Hotel Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.