We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sao Jose, Estoi, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Faro
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The right atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Staying in this Pousadas was the way we expected it. Quiet location, nice palace, clean and spacious rooms, good privacy in the room and balcony. The staff was very kind and a relaxed and nice feeling brought over. The bed 2m wide and a good matras. The breakfast ok. The restaurant served a fine quality of food. We had dinner twice and it was superb. The service excellent. The wine also. This is a restaurant where we think back of, this team knows what it is about. Good food, good wine, relaxed service, no stress!
The outside swimming pool is ok, too cold in January, but the inside pool is too small, more like a large bathtub.
Location makes the needs of a taxi transport to Faro. There are some busses but not on a regular base.
When we travel to Faro again we will stay again in this Pousada.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    95
    32
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
182
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very nice restorated hotel with very modern rooms in a romantic ambiance of a palace. Nice restaurant in the hotel. Pefectly situated to visit Faro.

If the westher is nice you have very nivce terraces overlooking the gardens. Not far away from the hills either.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A marvelously relaxed Pousada, located on the hills overlooking Faro, in a small nice village called Estoi.
The main part of the hotel with the reception, the restaurant and gardens is located an old palace nicely redecorated in style. The rooms are located in the new wing that is a modern, minimalistic building including pools and spa. The surrounding are pleasant, and from the pool there is a beautiful view looking out over the countryside. The food from the restaurant is good and the breakfast rich and varied. A plus is the outdoor setting in the morning.
My room was big and comfortable although it was almost at the far end of two long corridors. A car is necessary as Estoi does not offer lot of entertainments but some good small local restaurants. Staff were very professional and helpful, smiling and willing. I do strongly recommend the hotel with family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Barrios, Spain
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a beautiful place, elegant and peaceful with the new addition of the sleeping area sympathetically done.
Staff couldn't be more helpful. The room was spacious, comfortable , light and had a balcony overlooking the gardens.( A tea/coffe maker would have been welcome.)
BUT the food was overpriced, even if it had been of top quality which it wasn't. Beakfast was OK but dinner left a lot to be desired.
There was a distinct bad drain smell in the corridor to our room which we mentioned to reception- to be informed'its low tide and comes from outside' why has nothing been done to solve the problem?

Room Tip: Try for low numbers then you don't have to walk so far. The corridors are VERY long
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we visited Faro on a short weekend trip last November to get our minds of our busy daily lives and this hotel turned out to be everything we wished for. Nice and unassuming interior, friendly and relaxed staff and good location made it a great experience for us. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This pousada is located on the hills overlooking Faro, in a nice village called Estoi. The main part of the building, inclusive of the reception, the restaurant, several reading rooms and gardens is located an old palace nicely redecorated in style. The rooms are in the new wing, a modern, minimalistic building which included the pools, the spa and the underground garage.

We visited in November, so it was very quiet but with wonderful weather. We stayed in a spacious and very cleverly structured suite. The design is square and minimalistic, but the wood used for the floor and finishing gives a warm feeling.

We used the indoor pool which is small but built with a large glass wall, so as to offer a great view of the landscape. We really enjoyed the experience. We also had dinner once in the restaurant, which is decorated along the same minimalistic, clean lines. The food was good, especially dessert, and the service very attentive.

In fact, service was definitely the best we ever got in a pousada. Obviously the relaxed feeling was helped by the fact that there were very few customers. I do not know what the atmosphere is like during the summer and with a crowd, but I can only say our experience was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I chose the pousada to have my destinatinon wedding..It was a fairytale wedding..so romantic.. the chapel..cocktail by the fountain and reception ..spacious modern suite, with a beautiful view.
Natalia you made me the happiest bride..thank you for your service it was impeccable..you have a great team!! Looking forward to visit again.

Room Tip: My room was wonderful at the end corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Sao Jose, Estoi, Faro 8005-465, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Faro - Estoi Palace Hotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Pousada de Estoi, the Estoi Palace, born out of the recovery of an old eighteenth century palace, is located in the village of Estoi only 10 km from Faro. This palace once belonged to Jose Francisco da Silva, Viscount of Estoi, and was opened in 1909. In 1987, it was purchased by the Town Hall of Faro, and in 1977, it was considered a property of Public Interest. A project by architect Goncalo Byrne, this hotel in Faro has a Health Club where you can enjoy a Turkish bath, sauna, tropical showers and heated indoor pool with a whirlpool. In a region with great gastronomic traditions you can find the Visconde restaurant, one of the Algarvian establishments which include fish and fresh seafood. The whole menu is inspired by Portuguese cuisine and exhibits a genuine form of art for good eating. Don't miss out on the deserts from Algarve made with figs and almonds grown locally. Experiencing the Pousada de Estoi is a pleasant journey with a combination of the classical, Baroque and contemporary elements that will definitely be a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Faro Palace Hotel Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada de Faro Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.