We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and well-placed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Sao Filipe

Guest House Sao Filipe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Guest House Sao Filipe to your Saves list
Guest House Sao Filipe
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Rua Infante Dom Henrique 55, Faro 8000-363, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Faro B&B and Inns
Bow, NH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and well-placed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our stay at Hospedaria Sao Filipe was nice and enjoyable. The staff was very smiley and helpful, and relaxed regarding when the bill was to be paid. We were placed in what appeared to be an external room on the roof/upper veranda of the hotel, but the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was the only part of the room that was somewhat disappointing: the shower did not drain well at all (there appeared to be sand or dirt in the bottom) and there was some mold on the wall around the fan. However, the shower consistently had strong water flow, the wifi worked throughout the room, and there were plenty of extra linens. The hotel is also located quite close to the station (about 2 minutes walk) and the center (about 5 minutes). There are several nice cafe's nearby for breakfast (we did not opt for the breakfast option at the hotel).

Room Tip: I imagine the rooms in the hotel itself (as opposed to on the roof) are a bit quieter and more '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    11
    12
    3
See reviews for
4
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Used the bus from Faro airport, from where it was literally a 5 minute walk, slightly up hill to the Sao Felipe. From previews with Google map and steetviews, had been expecting to see a main road; at 9pm, the "hole in the wall" look of Sao Filipe, on what appeared to be a dodgy sidestreet was slightly disconcerting. But the lit up electric signage was definitely welcoming as it appeared to be the only sign on the street. And in truth, there was nothing to worry about as in Faro, all the streets are well lit with daylight quality sodium-mercury vapour lamps.

Once we got there was a well lit steep but broad stairs to the first floor, which takes a right towards the top where there is a door with an intercom. On pressing the intercom, there was an immediate response, and once we made it known that we had a reservation, we were immediately let through into the brightly and colourful hallway.

The reception was efficient though we felt it odd that they wanted cash only, but which could be paid on the 2nd night (we were booked in for 2 nights).

We were given the key to Room 5 which is right next to reception. It was a clean room fitted out as a twin and the actual room was fairly spacious, with the usual high Portuguese ceilings. There was even a wardrobe with hangers. The only gripe we had was that it was very well lit.... and in the day time too as it has only one tiny quarter window off to one side.

The bathroom looked cramped, long and narrow, but clean. In use it was adequate. In fact the shower cubicle was a normal sized one. The toilet bowl was bit trickier as in use, your knees were virtually jammed against the opposite wall. But as I said, adequate. And well equipped with even wipes provided for removing makeup and cloth for shining shoes... the important things in a city.

The free-wifi (password from reception) was good and allowed us to do all our planning and cache maps before going out.

No breakfast here, but plenty of cafes around. This is of course a city hotel so expect sounds of the city and people laughing at 3am as they make their way home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Every time I have travelled to Portugal I always had great experience, and Faro was not an exception. Hospedaria Sao Felipe is very well located, at walking distance from the station and from the centre. There are not a lot of shops and restaurants around, but the area is safe and you can reach them in less than 10mins walking. The rooms are nice, quite small but clean and with all the facilities inside. The breakfast was very basic but you pay what you get! The best part was certainly the staff, as the owner was extremely kind and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts Creek, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We literally were staying in a shed on top of their patio. It was not worth the 30 euros we paid that is for sure. Faro itself is not a city to visit in the first place. It is a neglected city, but not a beautiful neglected city. It is literally falling apart and the area where this guest house is located is in an especially rotting area of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belluno, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a very clean, colorful and nice place to stay in Faro
The staff is helpful and kind
The location is so close to everything (center, bus station, train station, bars)
They provide Wi Fi in all the building
Will come again for sure!!
100% POSITIVE

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed 1 night in the room that slept 3 on the top of the building on outdoor patio. No smoke detectors. Beds were hard. Room was clean & quiet. I don't think the pictures represented our room at all. Shower was adequate. Watch out for the hot water, scalding hot! Staff was very nice & helpful. Good location, lots of narrow stairs to climb (but that's all over Europe). Staff let us store our luggage the next day while we toured the city until around 4pm.

Room Tip: Wear flat shoes long narrow twisted stairs to the desk. & our room had more stairs up & down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights the rooms are small but nice with good wifi signal. Faro is quite small so the location is good there is a fantastic restaurant within 3 minutes walk ' Adega Nova ' found it on our second day and had all our meals here from then. Turn right outside the front door and take first turn on your left you'll find it near the end of this street. The hotel has a simple sun terrace as well it is pleasent to have a beer here at the end of the day

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guest House Sao Filipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Sao Filipe

Address: Rua Infante Dom Henrique 55, Faro 8000-363, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Faro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Faro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guest House Sao Filipe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our establishment consists of eleven bedrooms where we offer you tranquility, with a warm and friendly atmosphere,providing our guests to the ultimate personalized service. This is without a doubt our most important attribute.Each of our rooms have their own bathroom, cable TV, air conditioned and heating. We have alarm connected to the reception in all bathrooms and even the security system and detection of fire in the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Guest House Sao Filipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest House Sao Filipe Faro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Sao Filipe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.