We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Marquis Restaurant

Le Marquis Restaurant
Monte da Palhagueira | Santa Barbara de Nexe, Faro 8005/488, Portugal
916076540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 188 Restaurants in Faro
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always a delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our villa is only five minutes away, but were it 45 minutes away Le Marquis would still be one of our favourite restaurants in the Algarve. Helma and her husband Vincent provide a quiet, elegant setting - wonderful to be outside in warm weather in a very sheltered courtyard; friendly and warm inside in the winter. The menu is always interesting and tempting. My husband usually goes for the 'ribs' he says the finest he has had anywhere. Fish always good. Desserts to die for. Wines very reasonably priced. Not necessarily a place for children, but for an elegant evening of fine dining with friends and family - it cannot be beaten. Excellent value too. And I hear from residents that the Sunday lunches in the winter are amazing value too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    16
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of class.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We've been going to this restaurant for years and it never dissappoints, sometimes a little quiet but otherwise "superb". To date this is the best food we have found in the Algarve, but maybe we should look harder. Good selection of wines available, from countries other than Portugal, other restaurants please take note. Also super value for the quality available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This restaurant is a hidden gem...up in the hills near Charneca and Sante Barbara de Nexe, near and old monastry and church is hidden away and lovely restaurant with terrace. It was recommended by our B&B and turned out the be the best meal of our holiday. The food was simply excellent, and the service charming, helpful and friendly. It was superb value for money and I strongly recommend this restaurant to everyone who appreciates fine food. We had the set menu, three courses for two, plus wine and water and the bill was less than 100 Euros. Excellent presentation, perfectly cooked. We would highly recommend you seek out this place... you will be rewarded.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasitgoodornot
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic...a hidden gem. This is a restaurant that cares. The food is amazing and the restaurant so peaceful and calm...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

GO to this restaurant. It is fabulous. Away from the maddening crowd. Excellent food, excellent service. Peaceful, calm and real.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Easily the best restaurant in this area and probably way beyond. Very welcoming, lovely atmosphere, great menu, excellent wines. I can't think of enough superlatives! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Marquis Restaurant also viewed

Faro, Faro District
 
Faro, Faro District
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to Le Marquis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Marquis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.