We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pizza

La Pizza
Travessa Jose Coelho 13, Faro, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 210 Restaurants in Faro
Restaurant details
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We visited after reading other reviews and it lived up to the good reputation. We ate there 2 evenings out of the 4 we were in Faro.Excellent food,good value,great atmosphere. For 2 in total - Pizza,salad,bread and olives,jug of Sangria 22 Euros.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good indeed !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We happened across this place by accident strolling around Faro while waiting to head to the airport. It was a great little find, the waitress was really friendly,we only really wanted a snack and ended up sharing a small freshly made pizza, washed down with a small bottle of the house red wine. Very nice too ! The chef was really good fun and very chatty, making everything in front of you exactly how you wanted it, we told him very thin and crispy and he did exactly that ! It was a pity we were heading home. We will defintely return, cheap too !

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“what's the rush?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Maybe it's because we visited on a Saturdaty evening, but we had the distinct feeling that our meal was rushed from start to finsih. While we were eating, people started gathering at the doorstep, awaiting a table to become available and seemingly all envying ours. As to the food itself, we had a salade nicoise for starters (which was prepared in advance and straight out of the fridge) and pizza for mains. Pizza's were ok, albeit smallish.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Value Pizzaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Found this restaurant from previous reviews on Trip Advisor. Mainly pizzas but a few pasta and meat dishes available. Small and welcoming inside. Their red house wine is good value. Service is pleasant and quick. Pizzas are prepared in front of you and are good value.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a very good find in Faro. It's situated on a very quiet cobbled street just a block behind McDonalds. First impression is of a few plastic tables and chairs on the alleyway, but I can assure you it amounts to much more than that.

Sitting out on this quiet Travessa is really quite atmospheric, though it would benefit from a slightly less powerful floodlight over the door. We only went into the restaurant building to use the toilets, but inside looked very pleasant.

We had very good garlic bread followed by excellent pizzas washed down by a bottle of the very good house red wine. The menu included other staple Italian dishes such as Lasagne, Minestrone, Escalope Milanese etc etc, but I think pizza, as the restaurant name suggests, is their speciality. Service was good and the pricing very realistic. Certainly it's a place well worth seeking out. They do take away too if you're staying nearby.

P.S. I think La Pizza Fone mentioned by reviewer Hooten 99 is a totally different place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pizza also viewed

 
Faro, Faro District
 

Been to La Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.