We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad guest house and quality swindle.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of O Castelo Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added O Castelo Guest House to your Saves list
O Castelo Guest House
Rua do Casino 59 - 61, Carvoeiro 8400, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Carvoeiro B&B and Inns
Annecy, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad guest house and quality swindle.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have to reserve the room(chamber) n°2, because there was not more than that, this, having witnessed marriage in the North of Portugal, we had the bad idea to reserve a room(chamber) in Guest house of Carvoeiro, upon our arrival, the problem was immediate, room(chamber) looking onto the street and onto the cars in car park, so much that to open shutters(sectors) it was necessary to us to damage ' cars, at this moment of the year, and seen the heat it was necessary to us to open the window, however the intimacy was shared with all crossing(spending) them, in our 8m2, the cupboard was without shelf and by way of door internal coat, there was a rod with curtain still containing the passers-by. Incredible, all the service(performance) was of the same kind(genre), no air conditioning, no place(square), the suitcase on the ground, no chair for lack of place(square), a squat as a matter of fact, when we spoke about it to the boss Eunice, he(it) was of such a bad faith, as when we cancelled the second week, He asked us to leave the guest house while we had paid a complete week, is it at night in a shanty in 350 euro without any other formality. Believe or not there is only little quality room(chamber), comments are posted by them even. It is enough to look at the following photos. Especially let us not speak about the WiFi which does not work.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    6
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

O Castelo is the nicest place to stay in Carvoeiro, fantastic views lovely quirky interior. The Portuguese owners are very friendly and make everyone welcome. Everything is spotless and I have never seen a harder working maid We always have a balcony but there is plenty of room on the communal balcony with a few tables and chairs. From the balconies you have great views of the beach.
There is a mix of nationalities which adds to the charm of this place and I would recommend it to everyone,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The minute you arrive they ask you to pay for the whole stay and the treatment is very formal (though polite) for the place. The breakfast is poor (6 euros/person) and you can eat better in the cafés outside for less. The best here is the beach/sea view: breathtaking. If you have a room with terrace you can enjoy it for hours; otherwise, you have a common terrace area. The rooms are simple, but you can't expect major comforts with this price. We didn't like the room cleaning service, because we ran out of toilet paper twice (they don't put more unless you ask for it) and the cleaning itself was very poor. The guesthouse has a common kitchen per floor which is good to store food or prepare meals if you want.
If you like indian food, there's a great restaurant below the hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We spent two nights here in a lovely room overlooking the beech and bay. It is only a couple of minutes walk from the bars and restaurants, but is quiet at night.(No drunken Brits' noise). Car parking wasn't a problem either.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Would recommend this place to anyone goin to carvoeiro. The location of this place is idyllic with breathtaking sea views. Myself and my girlfriend(both 24) spent 4 nights here in July while attending a wedding in the area. We were so impressed that we stayed an extra night. Best value for money of all the places I have ever stayed. What more can I say!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We had 4 fantastic days at this guest house. We had a room with balcony, and the sea-view was breath-taking. The host was very friendly, and helped us out with our enquiries. The guest house has a very convenient kitchen wich made us able to prepare our own meals and always have access to cold drinks. The location was also great, just a couple of minutes walking away from restaurants, bars, shops, supermercados etc. Still there was no noise from the night-life disturbing us at night. An all-over great place to spend days in the sun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O Castelo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O Castelo Guest House

Address: Rua do Casino 59 - 61, Carvoeiro 8400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Carvoeiro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carvoeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your O Castelo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao o Castelo Hotel Carvoeiro
O Castelo Guest House Carvoeiro, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Castelo Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.