We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! Gran Experiencia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hexagone

Hexagone
Urb. Presa de Moura | Sesmarias, Carvoeiro 800-008, Portugal
282342485
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 100 restaurants in Carvoeiro
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Just up the street from Colina da Lapa, vilas
Madrid Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience! Gran Experiencia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

In our first visit to Algarve we hace found a lot of bulk (really poor) restaurants. Fortunately for the last dinner of this trip we were told about Hexagone. It is a really good experience we will repeat for sure in the future (following what we have seen and tasted, this restaurant is a must in Algarve and really worth the visit). The price is not cheap for Algarve (45-55 euros each), but it is much cheaper than its equivalents in Spain, for example).
______
Después de conocer muchos restaurantes mediocres en nuestro primer viaje al Algarve, hemos tenido la suerte de visitar Hexagone. Se trata de una experiencia culinaria muy buena (atención y servicio, sumiller, comida -variedad y calidad de platos-, comida para niños, etc.). Sinceramente, merece la pena la visita, aunque esta en las afueras de Carvoeiro y parece estar a desmano). Muy recomendable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    40
    8
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just a few minutes stroll from our villa this was a lovely restaurant both for lunch and dinner with very different menus for each. Came here several times and every time the meal was great. From the different daily cocktail to the range of seafood and meat dishes, none disappointed. The owner Gilberto and his merry band of waiters were always attentive and recommended some excellent wines. I had the rack of lamb twice as it was outstandingly delicious, probably the best I have ever had.
Looking forward to hopefully coming back here soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Michelin star standard without the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have dined in alot michelin starred locations and this is every bit as good. Found this place almost by accident and sat down 15 mins before open time. Was pleased to see 5 or 6 chefs around one of the tables planning out the evening prior to open, it was a very good sign!. You can either order al a carte from the menu, have the daily set 3 course menu or a more expensive tasting 5 course menu. Everything we tried over the couse of two visits was outstanding and special mention should be made to how friendly the staff were. Worth going out of your way for trust me!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I took my partner here for her birthday she absolutely loved it. The food was fantastic
and so were the cocktails she had. The staff are really friendly but not overwhelming, fussing just the right amount. It is definitely not cheap but worth every penny we believe. As a special treat it was a lovely choice of restaurant. The A la carte menu was interesting with very different flavours. My partner's Tiger Prawns wrapped in bacon were wonderful as was my Entrecot steak.
For desert she had Mulberry Ice cream with Crème Brulee they added a sparkler and the 4 waiters came out with it singing Happy Birthday...although she turned scarlet...she loved it...Nice touch fellas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal with brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of eating at this restaurant twice whilst on holiday recently. The first time was because of the reviews here so we decided to give it a try, the second time was on our last night as a special end to our holiday. The food here is first class, easily some of the best you will eat on the Algarve. The staff also are worth a mention as they bend over backwards to make sure your every need is met. We cannot recommend this restaurant enough. It's slightly more expensive (approx. €100) for a full three course dinner with wine for two people but is worth every penny. I look forward to coming back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hexagone also viewed

Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Hexagone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hexagone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.