We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful in February” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Praia da Marinha

Praia da Marinha
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Carvoeiro
Attraction details
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very peaceful in February”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from a visit to the area. We visited the beach in the afternoon and had it to ourselves. Cafe was closed but not a problem. The beach and landforms are stunning. It's well worth exploring the paths nearby - wild freesias smelled lovely. The walk (hike really) back towards Carvoeiro takes a few hours but is one of the best I've ever done in terms of fantastic coastal scenery.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    59
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
161 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“top beach on rugged steep coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

praia marinha is one of the nicest beaches in the algarve area. the scenery is extraordinary and we had a lot of fun there. sometimes the waves are high and it is necessary to take attention because of the currents, which could be very strong. there is no vegetation on the beach which spends shadow and a parasol and sun protection is necessary. it is better to stay away from the steep coast, because big rocks fall down sometimes. the beach and also the ocean was very clean but a little bit cold at the first moment. the nicest time to go there is the morning and the later afternoon, because the sun is not so hot anymore and the majority of the tourists are far from this during daytime high frequentated beach section. we can recomment praia marinha very much.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Best beach we found in Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in Carvoeiro, and tried various beaches but this was the best for sure.
Amazing scenery, plentiful parking, lovely sand.
Highly recommended !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“quiet & sunny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I just passed by but it's very nice, not too small, not too big, nice sand, calm waters, a little spoliled by some nearby "party-boats" with noisy music

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing coast, cliffs and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wonderful spectacular coastline. Amazing coast, cliffs and beach. Sea very powerful, huge waves. Cliffs are dangerous, paths not fenced, so be careful. Caves and erosion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praia da Marinha also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Olhos de Agua, Albufeira
 
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Praia da Marinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia da Marinha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.