We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top beach on rugged steep coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Praia da Marinha

Praia da Marinha
Carvoeiro, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 attractions in Carvoeiro
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
150 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“top beach on rugged steep coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

praia marinha is one of the nicest beaches in the algarve area. the scenery is extraordinary and we had a lot of fun there. sometimes the waves are high and it is necessary to take attention because of the currents, which could be very strong. there is no vegetation on the beach which spends shadow and a parasol and sun protection is necessary. it is better to stay away from the steep coast, because big rocks fall down sometimes. the beach and also the ocean was very clean but a little bit cold at the first moment. the nicest time to go there is the morning and the later afternoon, because the sun is not so hot anymore and the majority of the tourists are far from this during daytime high frequentated beach section. we can recomment praia marinha very much.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    27
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best beach we found in Algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in Carvoeiro, and tried various beaches but this was the best for sure.
Amazing scenery, plentiful parking, lovely sand.
Highly recommended !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“quiet & sunny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I just passed by but it's very nice, not too small, not too big, nice sand, calm waters, a little spoliled by some nearby "party-boats" with noisy music

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing coast, cliffs and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Wonderful spectacular coastline. Amazing coast, cliffs and beach. Sea very powerful, huge waves. Cliffs are dangerous, paths not fenced, so be careful. Caves and erosion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

There are a number of steps down so don't leave anything in the car. At the bottom of the steps is a cafe which we tried later. Good for coffee, ice cream, toilets. Then there is the beach which is quite wide here but narrows to the right before expanding again. When we visited in November it was nice and quiet and beautiful. Toddler loved the waves and the sand is silky smooth. Great views. Warning - the waves can come quite far in and we had to rescue our bags before they got soaked a couple of times. There was also some nude sunbathing which didn't bother us but might some other people. At the car park at the top there is a picnic area and a couple of walks along the cliff tops which are nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praia da Marinha also viewed

Lagos, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Lagos, Faro District
Carvoeiro, Faro District
 

Been to Praia da Marinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia da Marinha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Praia da Marinha to your Saves list